Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8.1 Support Thread

win8.1

100 replies to this topic

#91 Emily McFarlan

Emily McFarlan

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-September 12

Posted 10 April 2014 - 14:49

I did download the update this morning and installed with no issues.  Am I missing  something in how to add live tiles to the (classic) Start Menu? as shown in the below link:

 

http://techreport.co...-menu-in-action




#92 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 10 April 2014 - 14:53

I did download the update this morning and installed with no issues.  Am I missing  something in how to add live tiles to the (classic) Start Menu? as shown in the below link:

 

http://techreport.co...-menu-in-action

 

You likely have the wrong thread here. This is for the Windows 8.0 to Windows 8.1 update. Not for the Windows 8.1 to "Windows 8.1 Update 1" which was released Tuesday.



#93 +primortal

primortal

    Why Does It Hurt!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 18-October 01
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia Icon (929)

Posted 10 April 2014 - 14:59

I did download the update this morning and installed with no issues.  Am I missing  something in how to add live tiles to the (classic) Start Menu? as shown in the below link:

 

http://techreport.co...-menu-in-action

It's a work in progress, http://www.neowin.ne...-new-start-menu



#94 Emily McFarlan

Emily McFarlan

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-September 12

Posted 10 April 2014 - 15:23

It's a work in progress, http://www.neowin.ne...-new-start-menu

 

awwww that stinks, was looking forward to checking this feature out more.



#95 ValaXx

ValaXx

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-January 10
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • OS: Android
  • Phone: Motorola Droid RAZR MAXX

Posted 05 May 2014 - 06:07

No one with a surface pro 2 has experienced start button lock up when using mouse from time to time? it's so weird that no one complains about this.



#96 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 05 May 2014 - 06:19

No one with a surface pro 2 has experienced start button lock up when using mouse from time to time? it's so weird that no one complains about this.

I just had this bug happen for the first time today (on my desktop pc not on a surface 2). I also saw a few other people complaining about this, definitely seems to be some kind of bug with the update. When it happened I just restarted explorer.exe and that fixed it.



#97 ValaXx

ValaXx

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-January 10
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • OS: Android
  • Phone: Motorola Droid RAZR MAXX

Posted 05 May 2014 - 06:23

I just had this bug happen for the first time today (on my desktop pc not on a surface 2). I also saw a few other people complaining about this, definitely seems to be some kind of bug with the update. When it happened I just restarted explorer.exe and that fixed it.

I'm happy that I'm not alone :D

I have no idea why MS doesn't fix this annoying bug.



#98 ValaXx

ValaXx

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-January 10
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • OS: Android
  • Phone: Motorola Droid RAZR MAXX

Posted 06 May 2014 - 02:40

heres another connectivity bug that has remained since 8.1:

 

https://onedrive.liv...hint=video,.mp4



#99 minoskid

minoskid

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-February 11
  • Location: Macedonia
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: QUART QT450

Posted 22 May 2014 - 12:16

After Patch Tuesday updates of May, I have issue - I can't properly shutdown my pc.

 

Anyone with this problem? Any fix?



#100 V9s

V9s

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-May 05
  • Location: Karachi

Posted 12 August 2014 - 16:38

I got a dell venue 8 pro recently, and while it's a great tablet (a game changer really), windows 8.1's quirkiness bugs me out at times. I've connected a bluetooth mouse to it and for some reason today, the cursor f'ing disappeared!

 

I've rebooted it and it still doesn't appear, though it seems to be working when i click the buttons. Any fix for this?



#101 nyolc8

nyolc8

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-May 07
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • OS: OSX Mavericks 10.9.3, Windows 8.1 Pro WMC
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 520

Posted 24 November 2014 - 10:13

I have a strange problem with 8.1 on my laptop, it's not going into sleep modeafter configured time if I have the power cord plugged in. If it runs from battery, then it goes sleep as it should after the configured time. Also if the power cord plugged in and I manually (closing the lid or pressing sleep button) put it into sleep mode, then it works fine.

 

Here's what I already tried:

- powercfg /request command shows nothing

- powercfg /energy command and the created html file shows nothing which would be related to this

- turned off media sharing in wmp

- turned off media sharing in homegroup for all users on all computers

- configured plugged-in state "allow to sleep" when media sharing (in power saving options via control panel)

 

Any other idea why it refuses to go sleep with power cord? :s