Jump to content



Photo

Battlefield 4 - which GPU


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 xplatinum

xplatinum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-July 02

Posted 17 October 2013 - 22:59

Hello!

 

I currently have the following rig:

  • i7-3770 (not o/c'd)
  • GTX 660 Ti 2GB
  • 32GB ram
  • The game will be running off an SSD

I am wondering if I should get myself a GTX 770 before the game comes out. The 660Ti is a very capable GPU but I like playing my games at max settings @ 1920x1080 and I am not sure the 660Ti will deliver a reasonable FPS. During the open beta I had lows of around 35 and an average of 40-45 I think.

 

Is it a worthy upgrade for ~400$ ? Maybe I could sell the 660Ti...




#2 Slammers

Slammers

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-April 08

Posted 17 October 2013 - 23:06

Not worth the money IMO, I would wait a generation. 

 

You would get more performance and it would be cheaper to SLI another 660ti. 

But honestly I wouldn't recommend that either. At least wait until final is out with some decent drivers so you can see how the 600 performs then. 



#3 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 17 October 2013 - 23:09

I say go AMD, Mantle is coming specifically for this game and in AMD translates into more performance.



#4 OP xplatinum

xplatinum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-July 02

Posted 17 October 2013 - 23:15

Am I missing something because in mostly all reviews, the 770 outperforms the 280x from AMD.



#5 Slammers

Slammers

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-April 08

Posted 17 October 2013 - 23:26

Yeh once again I would wait for some benchmarks so we can see if mantle really is that much fast in BF4. 



#6 Luc2k

Luc2k

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-May 09

Posted 18 October 2013 - 01:16

Am I missing something because in mostly all reviews, the 770 outperforms the 280x from AMD.

Yes, the 280X is 300$ and Mantle is not implemented yet (will be in December). You could also wait for the 290. It will probably be 400-450 and kick the 770 in the teeth.



#7 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 18 October 2013 - 07:54

660Ti is still a very good GPU. Chances are it'll be more than up to the task in BF4. Try it out and if you really are not satisfied with it then at that point you'll be able to make a better informed choice (as others said no one yet knows how R9 290X/Mantle will turn out), but for now keep it.



#8 goodbytes

goodbytes

    Just below average Joe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-May 04
  • Location: England

Posted 18 October 2013 - 08:00

How would a HD 7950 Boost 3GB handle BF4?

 

When i downloaded the beta it was closed so i didn't get a chance to test it.



#9 psionicinversion

psionicinversion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-June 05

Posted 18 October 2013 - 08:08

7950 will still be good for it i'd say



#10 OP xplatinum

xplatinum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-July 02

Posted 18 October 2013 - 14:47

660Ti is still a very good GPU. Chances are it'll be more than up to the task in BF4. Try it out and if you really are not satisfied with it then at that point you'll be able to make a better informed choice (as others said no one yet knows how R9 290X/Mantle will turn out), but for now keep it.

Yea. Also need to account in the fact that the game was unoptimized at that point and that no optimized driver were available for it either. I agree that waiting it out is the best move. I was just so tempted to have something very good waiting for the game to be released.



#11 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 18 October 2013 - 14:55

660Ti is still a very good GPU. Chances are it'll be more than up to the task in BF4. Try it out and if you really are not satisfied with it then at that point you'll be able to make a better informed choice (as others said no one yet knows how R9 290X/Mantle will turn out), but for now keep it.

Yeah, it should be fine. I have a amd 6950 which is roughly the AMD equivalent of the 660ti performance wise, it played the BF4 beta just fine, not all maxed but at mostly high settings. I got a steady 40-60 fps on mostly high with some medium settings at 1080p after they patched the beta a few times, and the game looked great at those settings even though they weren't maxed. Not all games look poor when they aren't maxed :)



#12 Titoist

Titoist

    The Socialistician

  • Joined: 15-October 06
  • Location: Banff, Alberta
  • OS: OSX, iOS 7.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5S (32GB) Space Grey

Posted 18 October 2013 - 14:57

MSI ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB TwinFrozr III. Ran the beta smoothly at ultra even though the game wanted "high" settings.



#13 OP xplatinum

xplatinum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-July 02

Posted 18 October 2013 - 15:00

Did you guys enable the FPS overlay ? If so, how many FPS were you getting ? I was getting between 35-45 I think on ultra settings @ 1080p. 30ish isn't what I call smooth. More aiming at upper 50's and reducing resolution/settings is not a viable option for me  :shiftyninja:



#14 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 18 October 2013 - 15:03

Did you guys enable the FPS overlay ?

not me.  left it on Auto and it was smooth as silk towards the end of the beta on my 660.



#15 Pupik

Pupik

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 09-December 05

Posted 18 October 2013 - 15:04

Did you guys enable the FPS overlay ? If so, how many FPS were you getting ? I was getting between 35-45 I think on ultra settings @ 1080p. 30ish isn't what I call smooth. More aiming at upper 50's and reducing resolution/settings is not a viable option for me  :shiftyninja:

http://www.neowin.ne...#entry595987559

 

It was before the patches and beta amd drivers that improved the performance even more.