Jump to content



Photo

Alternatives to SyncBack?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 21 October 2013 - 09:34

Hello,

 

I used to use SyncBack but there are features that I perfer in the paid version. The trial is up so now Im looking for alternatives.

 

This would be for Windows and I perfer the program not to be written in Java.

 

Thank you




#2 gedstar

gedstar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-October 13

Posted 21 October 2013 - 09:39

I use this, not sure this would suit your needs

 

http://sourceforge.n...s/freefilesync/



#3 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 21 October 2013 - 09:40

I've recently begun using a program called GoodSync. Might be worth looking at?



#4 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 21 October 2013 - 09:45

Hello,

I've recently begun using a program called GoodSync. Might be worth looking at?

Actually, I saw this and it looked the most intresting....Yup, might give it a try.



#5 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 21 October 2013 - 09:46

Hello,
 

I use this, not sure this would suit your needs
 
http://sourceforge.n...s/freefilesync/


Does it have scheduled syncs or is it all real time?

#6 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 23 October 2013 - 11:26

Hello,

Hello,
 

Does it have scheduled syncs or is it all real time?

Answering my own question, no it doesnt seem to have it :(

Uninstalling...

Why did MS discontinue SyncToy?

#7 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 23 October 2013 - 13:20

What are you looking to do exactly?  If you gave us some actual requirements of what you want to accomplish.  It might be easier for us to point you to something that meets those needs.

 

For example from your last post it seems timed sync is something it must have?

 

As to synctoy being discontinued?  http://www.microsoft...s.aspx?id=15155



#8 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 23 October 2013 - 14:28

Hello,

What are you looking to do exactly?  If you gave us some actual requirements of what you want to accomplish.  It might be easier for us to point you to something that meets those needs.
 
For example from your last post it seems timed sync is something it must have?
 
As to synctoy being discontinued?  http://www.microsoft...s.aspx?id=15155

In a quick nutshell, sync from C:\ to G:\ at (say) 12AM on Mondays. Im pretty sure Windows Backup can do something like this but SyncBack Pro I believe gave me a few more features that I used.

SyncToy got updated last in 2009. One of its latest bug fixes was "a serious issue where data on NAS would be corrupted". Data corruption over a network transfer does not sound nice. I dont know what other bugs are still there from 2009...

#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 23 October 2013 - 14:52

Well they fixed the data corruption bug - so why don't you test it and see?  There is a bit of difference between discontinued and lack of new releases..

 

"believe gave me a few more features that I used."

 

Like what?  Was the point of my question.. From your requirements listed all that is needed is a scheduled task with a copy or robocopy command.

 

Seems to me you just want to copy some files - why should you need some tool to do that?  Your built in commands can clearly do what you have asked so far.



#10 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 23 October 2013 - 15:00

Hello,

Well they fixed the data corruption bug - so why don't you test it and see?  There is a bit of difference between discontinued and lack of new releases..

 

"believe gave me a few more features that I used."

 

Like what?  Was the point of my question.. From your requirements listed all that is needed is a scheduled task with a copy or robocopy command.

 

Seems to me you just want to copy some files - why should you need some tool to do that?  Your built in commands can clearly do what you have asked so far.

Yes, like I mentioned Windows Backup can problably do this setting a scheduled task. I simply do not want to use Windows Backup and/or robocopy.

 

I want a GUI tool that can do this like SyncBack Pro did (yes, I know there is a also a free version but it is missing a option I need which doesnt come to mind right now)



#11 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 23 October 2013 - 16:38

"it is missing a option I need which doesnt come to mind right now"

 

must be something really important ;) hehehehe

 

I fail to understand the need for gui's and distractions on the desktop - if what you want is a copy of your files from one directory to another directory..  A simple task is all that needs to be required, and setup notification if it fails..  Why would you need to look at something for something as routine as this?

 

I just don't get it.

 

So I take it synctoy does all you want?  Or was your comment to that if they would of kept development of it going that maybe they would have this feature you can not remember but is really important to you that is in syncback pro -- but not so important that you would be willing to pay for the software ;)

 

have you looked at http://sourceforge.n...s/freefilesync/ http://freefilesync.sourceforge.net/

 

Maybe this has what your after, and is free It has a gui ;)

 

Features

  • Detect moved and renamed files and folders
  • Copy locked files (Volume Shadow Copy Service)
  • Detect conflicts and propagate deletions
  • Binary file comparison
  • Full support for Symbolic Links
  • Automate sync as a batch job
  • Process multiple folder pairs
  • Comprehensive and detailed error reporting
  • Copy NTFS extended attributes (compressed, encrypted, sparse)
  • Copy NTFS security permissions
  • Support long file paths > 260 characters
  • Fail-safe file copy
  • Cross-platform: Windows/Linux
  • Expand environment variables like %USERPROFILE%
  • Access variable drive letters by volume name (USB sticks)
  • Native 64-bit support
  • Keep versions of deleted/updated files
  • Prevent disc space bottlenecks via optimal sync sequence
  • Full Unicode support
  • Highly optimized performance
  • Include/exclude files via filter
  • FreeFileSync portable and local installation
  • Handle daylight saving time changes on FAT/FAT32
  • Use macros %time%, %date%, et al. for recurring backups
  • Case sensitive synchronization
  • Built-in locking: serialize multiple jobs running against the same network share

edit: Oh my bad already linked too - what about this one instead http://www.duplicati.com/ its more a BACKUP -- but as you have not actual articulated your required features, its possible this meets your needs? Or http://synchronicity.sourceforge.net/



#12 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 24 October 2013 - 07:29

Hello,

I fail to understand the need for gui's and distractions on the desktop

That is a personal choice and preference. Im sorry but what I CHOOSE is a GUI. Like I mentioned, what I want could problably be done with a CLI but I CHOOSE to use a GUI. I dont want to be forced to be used something I dont want.

Robocopy would PROBLABLY do all I want. The option that I want I cannot seem to remember, sorry :( If I see it in the GUI, its one of those moments I say "OH Thats IT!" but I cant :( Free as far I recall doesnt seem to have it (installed it to check but it doesnt pop in my mind, strange)
 

So I take it synctoy does all you want?  Or was your comment to that if they would of kept development of it going that maybe they would have this feature you can not remember but is really important to you that is in syncback pro -- but not so important that you would be willing to pay for the software ;)

I mentioned SyncToy as a easy and simple tool but it doesnt have things like popup dialogs I believe if there is a conflict (for example). I USED to use it a long time ago but then stopped because of a couple of issues.

Also I simply do not like software that have seen 0 development movement in over 3 years. Yes, it works. XP works too. But no.

have you looked at http://sourceforge.n...s/freefilesync/ http://freefilesync.sourceforge.net/

Yup, looked at it but sadly I cant set up a calander for it :(
 

edit: Oh my bad already linked too - what about this one instead http://www.duplicati.com/ its more a BACKUP -- but as you have not actual articulated your required features, its possible this meets your needs? Or http://synchronicity.sourceforge.net/

These two look nice :) Thank you. Ill check them out....

BudMan, on a personal note, no offense intended, but please concentrate on the topic. I understand CLI is cleaner, less "clunky", faster, takes up less, and is problably built in (like Robocopy) but I just perfer to use another program with a GUI. Maybe even that GUI is just a setup for a big Robocopy line with parameters but I just perfer a GUI :) Thank you BudMan.

#13 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 24 October 2013 - 12:46

Well robocopy has a gui ;)

 

http://technet.micro...yspotlight.aspx

 

As this "Yup, looked at it but sadly I cant set up a calander for it"

 

Nonsense clearly it has batch job functionality -- its clearly right there in the help..  Create your job and then schedule via the again built in functionality of your OS to schedule stuff to run.



#14 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 24 October 2013 - 14:10

Hello,

Well robocopy has a gui ;)
 
http://technet.micro...yspotlight.aspx
 
As this "Yup, looked at it but sadly I cant set up a calander for it"
 
Nonsense clearly it has batch job functionality -- its clearly right there in the help..  Create your job and then schedule via the again built in functionality of your OS to schedule stuff to run.

It does NOT have a batch job functionally. It makes a script that is prepared for Windows' Task Scheduler and for you to setup in Windows.

This IS a scheduler...

hxbh.png

It is directly part of the program. You only have to set it up in the program.

This problably even sets up a task in Windows' Task Scheduler Checked: No it doesnt.

And YES I know it says it has to register as a startup program. I know this.