Jump to content



Photo

Crossover/Wine - Counter Strike problem

counter strike 1.6 crossover elementary os

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 TDT

TDT

    Hey yo!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 17-March 10
  • Location: Bucharest, Romania

Posted 25 October 2013 - 17:01

Hi guys. I have an issue with CS 1.6 running on Crossover 12 (or Wine, it's the same issue) in Elementary OS. The game starts ok, everything works (except for the menu fonts, they're a bit broken, don't know why), but I can't, for the love of God, get any resolution beyond 1024 x 768... The Display Mode dropdown box is "greyed" out, so no Widescreen mode (my desktop is 1360x768). I tried absolutely everything, from launcher parameters (-w 1360 -h 768, etc.) to emulating a virtual desktop in Wine configuration, nothing works. Even the guys at the Crossover site couldn't help with this.

 

I don't know if this matters, but I have an nvidia video card and driver version 319.32 (x64). 

 

Anyone with the same problem, or with a solution to this? :(

 

Thank you.

 

P.S. Please, no "why don't you run the Linux version of Steam/CS" replies, there's no challenge in this. :)




#2 chrisj1968

chrisj1968

    copyrighted!! ©

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-June 08
  • Location: United States

Posted 25 October 2013 - 17:11

I think it would be a driver issue. I'll assume you have the latest driver???? AMD is getting much better at linux support and perhaps contacting AMD about this might be fruitful to fix this issue.

 

I sure love seeing a guy who loves a challenge these days.



#3 +Yorak

Yorak

    Insubordinate

  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 25 October 2013 - 17:16

Try it with XVidMode on.

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\X11 Driver]
"UseXVidMode"="Y"
"UseXRandR"="N"


#4 chavo

chavo

    2 Minutes to Doom

  • Joined: 08-June 02
  • Location: WPB Florida

Posted 25 October 2013 - 17:33


 

P.S. Please, no "why don't you run the Linux version of Steam/CS" replies, there's no challenge in this. :)

 

 

So you prefer the challenge of getting someone on the internet to fix it.

 

Interesting.



#5 OP TDT

TDT

    Hey yo!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 17-March 10
  • Location: Bucharest, Romania

Posted 25 October 2013 - 19:07

So you prefer the challenge of getting someone on the internet to fix it.

 

Interesting.

 

Like I said, I tried everything I could think of. Asking for more opinions doesn't mean I give up. Anyway...

 

@chrisj AMD?! I have an nvidia card  :)

 

@Yorak: Hmm, interesting. That key wasn't in the registry, so I added it manually. Now the dropdown is enabled, and I can select widescreen and the desired resolution, but clicking Apply or OK just reverts back to the 1024x768 res. But there's definitely something here :)



#6 +Yorak

Yorak

    Insubordinate

  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 25 October 2013 - 20:36

 

Like I said, I tried everything I could think of. Asking for more opinions doesn't mean I give up. Anyway...

 

@chrisj AMD?! I have an nvidia card  :)

 

@Yorak: Hmm, interesting. That key wasn't in the registry, so I added it manually. Now the dropdown is enabled, and I can select widescreen and the desired resolution, but clicking Apply or OK just reverts back to the 1024x768 res. But there's definitely something here :)

 

What version of Wine is it? Maybe try PlayOnLinux. It makes it easier to grab the packages you need.



#7 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 26 October 2013 - 01:33

What graphics API are you using? All of Valve's older goldsrc based games both work far better in OpenGL mode, and are far more likely to work well in Linux if you use OpenGL



#8 OP TDT

TDT

    Hey yo!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 17-March 10
  • Location: Bucharest, Romania

Posted 26 October 2013 - 16:13

It's on OpenGL, switching to D3D looks horrible and the performance is very poor. I'm not using Wine, I'm using Crossover 12 (latest version from their website). 

 

Also, it seems that Yorak's solution works after all. I started CS a few times and at one point the widescreen options were enabled, so I could switch to 1366x768. Looks very good, but unfortunately the games seems a bit slow, not laggy, but slow, like moving under water or something, don't know how to describe it. Anyway, at least it works (for now), I'll see what (and if) I can do something about that performance.

 

Thanks! :)



#9 OP TDT

TDT

    Hey yo!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 17-March 10
  • Location: Bucharest, Romania

Posted 15 November 2013 - 19:59

Well, I've given up trying to get a fully working CS 1.6 installation via Wine or Crossover. So I downloaded the game via Steam for Linux. To my surprise, it's WAY worse than what I got with the emulators... The graphic is nice and all, no errors, no problems, but the mouse movement is horrible. I don't know how to describe it, it just doesn't feel natural like it does on Windows. No matter how I adjust the sensitivity (in EOS system settings or in game), it's almost impossible to target accurately... :( Damn, they really have to work more on this Linux version... Or maybe the problem is on my end, I don't know, but I'm really disappointed... 



#10 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 15 November 2013 - 20:33

Well, I've given up trying to get a fully working CS 1.6 installation via Wine or Crossover. So I downloaded the game via Steam for Linux. To my surprise, it's WAY worse than what I got with the emulators... The graphic is nice and all, no errors, no problems, but the mouse movement is horrible. I don't know how to describe it, it just doesn't feel natural like it does on Windows. No matter how I adjust the sensitivity (in EOS system settings or in game), it's almost impossible to target accurately... :( Damn, they really have to work more on this Linux version... Or maybe the problem is on my end, I don't know, but I'm really disappointed... 

 

I don't play Counter Strike, but I haven't had any problems with mouse movement in any of Valve's other games I have played on Linux. I played all the way through Half-Life 2 again when Valve released it on Steam for Linux, and I had no problems whatsoever. I also play Team Fortress 2 on Linux with some frequency, and I have never had any mouse-related issues (although the game did freeze on me once while it was in beta when I tried to join a server). Counter Strike is Source-based, right? It seems odd that you would have those problems in one Source-based game while I have not had them in others. I suspect there is something wrong with your setup.



#11 OP TDT

TDT

    Hey yo!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 17-March 10
  • Location: Bucharest, Romania

Posted 15 November 2013 - 21:07

Well, it's not really a mouse movement problem, because the mouse works. But it moves either too slow, or too fast...I really don't know how to explain, it just doesn't feel right. I tried everything I could think of, sensitivity, lower resolution, mouse filter, etc. There's no way I can compare it to the Windows version. It just sucks on Linux... :(