Jump to content



Photo

What is the best VGA for a web developer? Nvidia 610, 620, 630 or 640?

vga evga nvidia graphics

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Pubudu Kodikara

Pubudu Kodikara

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-April 12

Posted 27 October 2013 - 01:57

Im a web developer. Currently, I have no separate VGA. Im using the i3's Intel HD 2000 Graphics. Its not good. I don't think its getting the colors right for me. I have troubles with unclear text and all. Its not a problem with my monitor (One is HDMI and the other is normal (analogue)). When I plug it into my laptop, things become very clear (It have Intel 4000 HD (i7 3rd gen) and Nvidia 610m).
 
So, I need a VGA for my desktop and its very hard to choose. There are 4 choices in the local market :
 
EVGA Nvidia GT 610
EVGA Nvidia GT 620
EVGA Nvidia GT 630
EVGA Nvidia GT 640
 
I also don't want to spend much. But what will be the best choice for a web developer who occasionally use photoshop and need clear images with better colors? Do I have to go all the way upto 640 or can I do with 610 or 620? One important
 thing... Im not playing games :)



#2 OP Pubudu Kodikara

Pubudu Kodikara

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-April 12

Posted 27 October 2013 - 04:57

Sorry... its GPU :)



#3 vetSkyyPunk

SkyyPunk

    -- Violated on 1st Post --

  • Joined: 28-April 04
  • Location: Southeast Michigan

Posted 27 October 2013 - 05:19

I doubt it is the GPU. It is more likely just the monitor calibration and what settings each machine happens to have as default. I would suggest getting a DataColor Spyder. Once you have that you can calibrate all of your monitors & laptop screens to have correct colors regardless of the GPU



#4 OP Pubudu Kodikara

Pubudu Kodikara

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-April 12

Posted 27 October 2013 - 06:25

I doubt it is the GPU. It is more likely just the monitor calibration and what settings each machine happens to have as default. I would suggest getting a DataColor Spyder. Once you have that you can calibrate all of your monitors & laptop screens to have correct colors regardless of the GPU

 

Actually it work when I plug it to my laptop! This is my primary monitor : http://www.samsung.c...pe=series-3-led

 

My second monitor is a 19 inch monitor and use VGA. Does using multiple monitors reduce the quality? The primary monitor is on HDMI. 



#5 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 27 October 2013 - 07:35

Multiple monitors don't reduce the quality, but using an analog connection (VGA) does, use DVI/DisplayPort/HDMI if you can.

#6 Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 27 October 2013 - 08:03

Multiple monitors don't reduce the quality, but using an analog connection (VGA) does, use DVI/DisplayPort/HDMI if you can.

 

I'm using an LG E2742 with HDMI. The first time I've ever used it with VGA, the quality was hell-a-degrading.



#7 OP Pubudu Kodikara

Pubudu Kodikara

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-April 12

Posted 27 October 2013 - 08:42

Multiple monitors don't reduce the quality, but using an analog connection (VGA) does, use DVI/DisplayPort/HDMI if you can.

 

Its ok if the quality of that second monitor is down. But if I connect it to the VGA port and connect the primary monitor to the HDMI port, will the second VGA monitor effect the quality of the HDMI monitor? And what will be the good GPU for my work :) (No gaming)



#8 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 27 October 2013 - 08:47

It won't degrade the quality of the image on another connector, it'll only degrade the image sent to that monitor.

If you aren't doing gaming then what you have is fine, anything else would provide the same output, just better gaming performance.

#9 tomasse

tomasse

    Kryptonian®

  • Joined: 30-October 12
  • Location: Hellenic Democratic Republic
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64 DesktopPC
  • Phone: All Nokias

Posted 27 October 2013 - 09:06

I would go for a "GTX 650Ti", a much more powerfull and solid choice, plus with a much better futureproof mark than the ones you mentioned.

The difference in price, is not really that much, considering the much better product you get that will benefit you from avoiding more frequent future udates.

The 2GB 192bit model starts from $150, which i don't consider it as a high price for such a solid card.



#10 nub

nub

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-November 06
  • Location: Amerika

Posted 27 October 2013 - 09:11

Buying a video card would be an absolute waste of money for you. A new video card will not change the colors shown on your monitor. It just doesn't work that way.

 

Video cards are digital devices. DVI/HDMI is a digital protocol. There are no degrees of color here. Its going to be the same color value being sent to the monitor no matter what video card you plop in there.

 

A) Check you're running at your monitor's native resolution.

B) Calibrate your monitor's colors

C) You're running correct drivers (if you aren't it could limit your resolution and color depth)



#11 ashpowell

ashpowell

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-November 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 27 October 2013 - 09:29

Yup.. Monitor causing the colour issue or monitor/colour settings. I don't think a dedicated gpu would change that. Make sure all settings are correct and then adjust colour settings. 



#12 riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 27 October 2013 - 09:45

Hello,

I would go for a "GTX 650Ti", a much more powerfull and solid choice, plus with a much better futureproof mark than the ones you mentioned.
The difference in price, is not really that much, considering the much better product you get that will benefit you from avoiding more frequent future udates.
The 2GB 192bit model starts from $150, which i don't consider it as a high price for such a solid card.

Did you read the thread?

Can a mod change the title? Very confusing and I entered thinging this was about the best resolution or something.

Like most have said, nowadays, this has nothing to do with the video card. Calibrate your monitor with some software tool.

#13 OP Pubudu Kodikara

Pubudu Kodikara

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-April 12

Posted 27 October 2013 - 09:57

I would go for a "GTX 650Ti", a much more powerfull and solid choice, plus with a much better futureproof mark than the ones you mentioned.

The difference in price, is not really that much, considering the much better product you get that will benefit you from avoiding more frequent future udates.

The 2GB 192bit model starts from $150, which i don't consider it as a high price for such a solid card.

 

$150 is ok with me but in the local market even the 640 is nearly $190!



#14 psionicinversion

psionicinversion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-June 05

Posted 27 October 2013 - 10:39

$150 is ok with me but in the local market even the 640 is nearly $190!

 

Its pointless to spend any money on a gfx card like that cus whether its hd 2000 or 650ti, you wont get any more colour ranges. probably a driver problem or maybe the chip is damaged or the motherboard is damaged affecting its video output so in that case your only option is to buy a cheap video card. Just buy a 610 and that enough for you.



#15 floopydoodle

floopydoodle

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-November 10

Posted 27 October 2013 - 10:53

Your biggest problem is you're using a pretty crappy consumer monitor with a TN panel. Get a proper monitor with an IPS panel. Eizo is a good choice. Also, calibration is important as others have said.