Jump to content



Photo
Answered Go to the full post win8.1

  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#31 OP riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 01 November 2013 - 07:46

Hello,

This thread can be closed. Like I mentioned, I found a fix for it on that page:

You might have encountered with this strange and annoying error. This app can’t open for Built-in Administrator account please sign in with a different account and try again. or while User Account Control is turned off. You need to turn on UAC There is an easy solution for the error.

This app can't open for Built-in Administrator account

Solution for Windows 8 App Error:

◾Hold the Windows key + R and in run dialog box type: secpol.msc

◾Go to Local Policies –> Security Options –> Scroll down and find “User Access Control: Admin Approval Mode For built in…..”

◾Double click on it and select enabled and the press ok

◾Again press windows key and R and type regedit

◾Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System\UIPI

◾And on the right hand side double click on default and change the value to 0×00000001(1) and click ok

◾Restart your computer and all the apps should work.




#32 +Brandon Live

Brandon Live

    Seattle geek

  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 02 November 2013 - 00:02

Hello,

This thread can be closed. Like I mentioned, I found a fix for it on that page:
 

 

You realize that's just changing the Administrator account so that it functions like any other account... right? And doing it in a totally unsupported and probably somehow broken way? Wouldn't it be far easier (and safer + supported) to just make a regular admin account? (and name it Admin if you want?)



#33 +Brandon Live

Brandon Live

    Seattle geek

  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 02 November 2013 - 00:05

How is it deprecated and not maintained? Windows server 2012 boots into the built-in admin account, no?

 

I don't think so, but then I haven't used Server in a while. I was talking about client, though I'd be very surprised if that were the case.



#34 Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-April 12

Posted 02 November 2013 - 03:44

I don't think so, but then I haven't used Server in a while. I was talking about client, though I'd be very surprised if that were the case.


I own and use Windows Server 2012. By default, it boots to a built-in admin account. (I don't know if it is THAT admin account.) But I DO notice one thing. On the default Windows server account, I CANNOT launch metro apps. I have to create a new account and log in to that to run metro apps. Most people don't notice it because no metro apps are enabled by default. You have to manually install Windows store and enable PC settings app. But when you do, they won't open on the default account.

I will also mention one more thing. When you first install WS2012, you are first asked to change you password. You never create an account. It is labeled as "Administrator" and you are forced to "Change" you password. This implies that the account already exists, meaning it must be a built in account call Administrator (spelled exactly).

Here's a picture of the WS2012 logon screen: http://www.networked...ogon-Screen.png