Jump to content



Photo

GeForce ShadowPlay

geforce shadowplay

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 +zhiVago

zhiVago

    Pax Orbis

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 01
  • Location: The Heartland
  • OS: Windows Seven

Posted 28 October 2013 - 16:50

This is just to give the heads-up on the new feature that's been included in the latest Nvidia Drivers package. I've thought it's nice of Nvidia to offer it and I'm sure someone will find a good use for it :)

 

GeForce® ShadowPlay™ (Beta)
 
Fast, easy, and free game recording
Shadow Mode records up to the last 20 minutes of your game play 
Manual Mode records unlimited footage 
High-quality, hardware-accelerated H.264 recording at 1080p
GeForce GTX™ 650 or higher GPU required



#2 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 28 October 2013 - 16:51

Yep noticed this in the latest beta drivers. Haven't had much time to play with it yet though.



#3 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.10.14203.306

Posted 28 October 2013 - 17:04

i will have to check this out when i get home i hope that the Mobile Version of the GPU is supported :p



#4 Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 28 October 2013 - 18:47

At last! Was waiting for this since the 7xx announcement / June! :woot:



#5 vetthe evn show

the evn show

    Removed

  • Joined: 10-June 02

Posted 28 October 2013 - 21:07

Removed

#6 MillionVoltss

MillionVoltss

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 04

Posted 28 October 2013 - 22:26

Someone should benchmark with and without it running, sadly i cant 560ti.



#7 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 28 October 2013 - 22:36

Doesn't work with mine, desktop 600 series and above. :<



#8 vetthe evn show

the evn show

    Removed

  • Joined: 10-June 02

Posted 28 October 2013 - 23:46

Removed

#9 villiansv

villiansv

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 29 October 2013 - 00:24

Mobile users can get this too, with a commandline parameter:

 

"C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA GeForce Experience\GFExperience.exe" -shadowplay


Tested on 770M with SC2, D3, seems to work just fine.



#10 vetthe evn show

the evn show

    Removed

  • Joined: 10-June 02

Posted 29 October 2013 - 06:15

Removed

#11 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 30 October 2013 - 21:16

Action! and Bandicam also support NVCUVID encoding, plus they support Intel QuickSync, and in Bandicam's case, AMD's hardware-accelerated encoder. It's nice that this is free for NVIDIA users though.



#12 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 30 October 2013 - 21:26

I have been benchmarking but analysis and comparison between alternatives takes some time to get right. Why would anybody switch from dxtory (that looks dramatically better) if performance is only 5% better?

dxtory only supports software encoding. This is fine if you want to record in lossless quality, but for lossy capture using x264 is prohibitive at any kind of decent resolution. I'm not a big fan of lossy capture but I can see the use if you just want to upload a gameplay moment to Youtube without commentary or further editing. If the perf penalty is sufficiently low, one might just leave ShadowPlay on at all times which isn't really an option for software encoders (either you run out of disk space quickly or you murder your CPU).



#13 vetthe evn show

the evn show

    Removed

  • Joined: 10-June 02

Posted 31 October 2013 - 04:23

Removed

#14 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 31 October 2013 - 16:44

Fraps codec is lossless, by default it's 4:2:0 YUV but it can also do RGB24. Capturing totally uncompressed isn't really feasible unless you're using multiple drives in raid or SSDs - 1080p@30fps would be about 180MB/s - and there's no point since lossless codecs are fast and very effective. I guess we agree on this point but there seemed to be contradicting statements about that in your post.

 

Also, not sure what you're referring to when talking about workflow with Lagarith - in my experience it's as straightforward as Fraps, Action's FCIV or any similar lossless codec. Using a lossy format like H264, now that's a pain to work with - stepping backwards in an editor is extremely slow for instance. That's why my stance on capturing directly to H264 is that it's appropriate for streaming or if you don't intend to edit anything before uploading; otherwise you want to be using a lossless codec. 



#15 vetthe evn show

the evn show

    Removed

  • Joined: 10-June 02

Posted 31 October 2013 - 20:28

Removed