Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 jaffar

jaffar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-August 04
  • Location: Bahrain

Posted 28 October 2013 - 17:22

My second computer is 12 years old!!!

 

PIII 744MHZ with 192 MB RAM

 

and believable it or not, running the latest version of chrome is faster than running internet explorer 8!!!!

 

i don't know what the secret behind this latest version, because in the past chrome was very slow on this computer!!!

 

Did you know any changes that they made to it to make it work like that???




#2 riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 28 October 2013 - 17:30

Hello,

My second computer is 12 years old!!!
 
PIII 744MHZ with 192 MB RAM
 
and believable it or not, running the latest version of chrome is faster than running internet explorer 8!!!!
 
i don't know what the secret behind this latest version, because in the past chrome was very slow on this computer!!!
 
Did you know any changes that they made to it to make it work like that???

Technically by Windows system requirements, you cannot run Chrome on that computer.....

https://support.goog...me/answer/95411

#3 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 2012R2, 7, BSD Unix
  • Phone: HTC One (Work) Lumia 1020 (Home)

Posted 28 October 2013 - 17:30

192MB?  Ouch.  Even with every extension disabled, just sitting at a blank page, the latest Chrome is using 124MB on this system.  Open up just one web page and it shoots to over 300MB.  Throw on the OS resource usage on top of that.. swap file thrash city.



#4 McKay

McKay

    Worth the weight

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 6

Posted 28 October 2013 - 17:33

192MB?  Ouch.  Even with every extension disabled, just sitting at a blank page, the latest Chrome is using 124MB on this system.  Open up just one web page and it shoots to over 300MB.  Swap file thrash city.

 

How odd computers are, I have 4 tabs open, Google Music playing my library, Neowin and 2 other tech sites open and chrome is using 93MB without any extensions.



#5 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 28 October 2013 - 17:39

^ I have two tabs open and it is using 185 MB.



#6 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 2012R2, 7, BSD Unix
  • Phone: HTC One (Work) Lumia 1020 (Home)

Posted 28 October 2013 - 17:39

How odd computers are, I have 4 tabs open, Google Music playing my library, Neowin and 2 other tech sites open and chrome is using 93MB without any extensions.


Are you looking at the task manager? The main process for me is only using ~75MB or so, but there's more processes with it. chrome//memory gives the full usage. Again, this is just an empty browser, no pages loaded, no extensions.

(Neowin bug? Typing the full chrome : // memory together completely zaps that entire paragraph.)

oqj0.png

Soon as I load a site it'll double, easily. Open a few tabs and that goes wayyyyy up fast, I can easily break a gigabyte with just a few tabs going. (That Firefox has about 25 extensions and 8 tabs open at the moment.)

#7 McKay

McKay

    Worth the weight

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 6

Posted 28 October 2013 - 17:42

  
Soon as I load a site it'll double, easily.  Open a few tabs and that goes wayyyyy up fast, I can easily break a gigabyte with just a few tabs going.  (That Firefox has about 25 extensions and 8 tabs open at the moment.)

 

I was going by Task Manager, conveniently is lists all the extensions at the bottom, separate from Chrome.

 

Untitled.png



#8 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 2012R2, 7, BSD Unix
  • Phone: HTC One (Work) Lumia 1020 (Home)

Posted 28 October 2013 - 17:44

I was going by Task Manager, conveniently is lists all the extensions at the bottom, separate from Chrome.

Well there you go, it's not the whole thing, just the main process. Chrome's using a lot more than just the one. (Really wish the Chrome guys would do something about the fonts already too..)

Edit --

Here's the same browser with aprox the same addons more or less as to my Firefox install, 8 tabs open, ~28 processes in the task manager.  For me, with 16GB memory, I couldn't care less.  With 192MB though.. that system would probably have some issues just opening a text editor.

 

3z9s.png



#9 OP jaffar

jaffar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-August 04
  • Location: Bahrain

Posted 28 October 2013 - 17:54

With FIVE TABS opened!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

see the attachement

Attached Images

  • untitled.JPG


#10 Jason Stillion

Jason Stillion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-April 12
  • Location: United States

Posted 28 October 2013 - 18:00

My observation about firefox vs chrome on an older / limited resource machine (been a while since I've messed around with it).

Chrome used more memory than firefox, yet was more responsive, ran smoother.

 

(edit) remembered more of the specs.

 

Compaq Presario X1000

800mhz on battery / 1ghz plugged in (early intel's idea of power management)

Did beef it up to 2gb ram.

 

Running Starter edition of Windows 7 was actually a decent if not multi-tasking between too many open programs.

 

There's a glitch with the onboard driver of the video card so anything newer than a certain point would always get the frequency / timings up and make the display unreadable. So the driver is 1-2 years away from the last version it supported.



#11 OP jaffar

jaffar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-August 04
  • Location: Bahrain

Posted 28 October 2013 - 18:02

Maybe in the latest version  they changed the way it manage memory



#12 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 28 October 2013 - 18:04

I was going by Task Manager, conveniently is lists all the extensions at the bottom, separate from Chrome.

 

attachicon.gifUntitled.png

The windows 8 task manager's "apps" view, doesn't show accurate memory usage of multi-process apps like chrome. Its only showing the memory usage of the "main" chrome process. You need to go to the details tab of the task manager to get a more accurate idea of how much memory chrome is using (or use chrome's own task manager as suggested in another post).



#13 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 28 October 2013 - 18:11

Here's the same browser with aprox the same addons more or less as to my Firefox install, 8 tabs open, ~28 processes in the task manager.  

 

 

I keep most of my extensions turned off until I need them and that really helps Chrome run much smoother. If I had 16GB of RAM I probably wouldn't care either. 



#14 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 2012R2, 7, BSD Unix
  • Phone: HTC One (Work) Lumia 1020 (Home)

Posted 28 October 2013 - 18:19

Don't laugh, used to run this on a really old system (think it only had 128MB) just to keep it super lightweight.. only 3MB.  (Extra bonus, no adblocker needed.)

 

kman.png



#15 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 28 October 2013 - 23:55

^ I'm trying not to laugh but it's hard. :D