Jump to content



Photo

Problems with Office 2013

Answered Go to the full post win8.1

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 28 October 2013 - 18:40

I installed office 2013 and everything seems fine, however today after trying to open anything in office i get the error shown in this screenshot, and then the program closes, I've tried repairing and re-installing office, neither of which worked. 

 

error.png



Best Answer farmeunit , 29 October 2013 - 03:42

Thing is this is just after doing a full clean install....

I've had similar happen, but can't remember the error.  After a fresh install, I couldn't use any Office apps, though.  I ran a Fixit from Microsoft each time and that fixed it.  I've had it happen 3 or 4 times, but I can't seem to find the Fixit.

 

You could try:

http://office.micros...A010357402.aspx

 

or

 

http://support.micro....com/kb/2739501

 

And then reinstall.

Go to the full post



#2 Jason Stillion

Jason Stillion

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-April 12
  • Location: United States

Posted 28 October 2013 - 18:47

Maybe try running this Office 2013 removal tool then reinstalling?

http://support.micro....com/kb/2739501



#3 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows, BSD & Arch, Occasionally OSX
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 28 October 2013 - 18:49

I've only ran into that one once from a friend of mine with an older version of Office, apparently something got mangled during an upgrade.   Repair didn't work, but uninstall, manually removing all traces (both system and user registry, appdata, progdata, etc) then reinstall did clear it up for him. Can't say it'll help for you but /shrug, never know.



#4 OP Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 29 October 2013 - 02:55

Thing is this is just after doing a full clean install....



#5 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 29 October 2013 - 03:42   Best Answer

Thing is this is just after doing a full clean install....

I've had similar happen, but can't remember the error.  After a fresh install, I couldn't use any Office apps, though.  I ran a Fixit from Microsoft each time and that fixed it.  I've had it happen 3 or 4 times, but I can't seem to find the Fixit.

 

You could try:

http://office.micros...A010357402.aspx

 

or

 

http://support.micro....com/kb/2739501

 

And then reinstall.



#6 OP Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 29 October 2013 - 22:14

thanks everyone muchly for thier help