Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8/8.1 painfully slow to Boot .Take 10-15 min


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 sasha007

sasha007

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 28 October 2013 - 19:15

Hi ,


I've had certain problem with my Windows 8 installation .
Let me summarize the entire scenario but before that below are my System Details .


System :- Dell Inspiron 17R SE 7720 Laptop .
O/S :- Windows 8.1 .


I formatted my system yesterday and installed Windows 8.1 via MSDN ISO . Installed Dell Drivers and a few programs like Norton 360 etc , after which i shutdown my system yesterday .


When i opened my system today , i was shocked to see Preparing automatic repair message on the Dell boot screen . It tried Automatic repair because it said that Windows was unable to boot properly . However , Automatic repair was unable to do anything . 


After that i shutdown my system again and then again powered it on. This time it booted to Windows but took about 5 min to get to the password screen . After booting to Desktop mode , i tried to open chrome , task manager etc , but nothing opened , and the system was painfully slow up until 10 min . After which everything was normal .


Tried to open Event log and it also crashed .


I again restarted my system and this time it was lightening fast . Tried to shutdown and restart 2-3 times more , and it was fast all these times . 


Can someone please help me understand what is causing this issue ? 

Event Viewer log :


https://mega.co.nz/#fmtRdjyIxK
No Bad sectors on drive . Its clean !

But Ran SeaTools For Windows and it says :-

Short DST FAIL

Its log file :-

--------------- SeaTools for Windows v1.2.0.8 ---------------
27-10-2013 20:03:09
Model: ST1000LM024
Serial Number: S2WZJ90C
Firmware Revision: A22R
Short DST - Started 27-10-2013 20:03:09
Short DST - FAIL 27-10-2013 20:03:12
Sense Key: 0x05 Sense Code: 0x20 Sense Qual: 0x00 FRU: 0x00
SeaTools Test Code: D662B0E1
Short DST - Started 27-10-2013 20:03:39
Short DST - FAIL 27-10-2013 20:03:42
Sense Key: 0x05 Sense Code: 0x20 Sense Qual: 0x00 FRU: 0x00
SeaTools Test Code: D662B0E1
Short DST - Started 27-10-2013 20:17:41
Short DST - FAIL 27-10-2013 20:17:43
Sense Key: 0x05 Sense Code: 0x20 Sense Qual: 0x00 FRU: 0x00
SeaTools Test Code: D662B0E1
Inquiry - Started 27-10-2013 20:19:04
Short Generic - Started 27-10-2013 20:19:11
Short Generic - Pass 27-10-2013 20:28:34
Short DST - Started 27-10-2013 20:28:45
Short DST - FAIL 27-10-2013 20:28:47
Sense Key: 0x05 Sense Code: 0x20 Sense Qual: 0x00 FRU: 0x00
SeaTools Test Code: D662B0E1
Short DST - Started 27-10-2013 20:39:19
Short DST - FAIL 27-10-2013 20:39:22
Sense Key: 0x05 Sense Code: 0x20 Sense Qual: 0x00 FRU: 0x00
SeaTools Test Code: D662B0E1

 

Please help ..

 
Completed the Long generic test and it passed .

Screenshot :-
http://imgur.com/7hvB19T

What do you suggest should be the problem now ?



#2 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 28 October 2013 - 19:21

Hmm well I see it passed your segate tools, but hmm. Did you do a memtest on your ram?

Personally i'd still run spinrite on that drive at level 2 just to make sure.



#3 #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 28 October 2013 - 19:31

Based on what you described...where it is very slow for the first 10 minutes or so it could be an issue with N360.  Looking through nortons forums N360 isn't fully compatible with 8.1.  But there is a newer version available through www.nortonaccount.com that should work.  It is a newer V.21 that should be compatible with 8.1



#4 OP sasha007

sasha007

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 29 October 2013 - 09:28

My Norton Version is 21.1.0.18 . Is that compatible with 8.1 ?

 

@warwagon :- spinrite  is not free to download ? 



#5 Riva

Riva

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-February 07

Posted 29 October 2013 - 09:38

Stop using Norton altogether its bloatware.



#6 francescob

francescob

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-November 08

Posted 29 October 2013 - 09:41

Ssssssssllllllllloooooooooowwwwwwwww bbbbbbbbbbooooooooooooooooooooooottttttttttttt? Iiiiiiiiiiitttttttttttt sssssssssseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeemmmmmmmmmmsssssssssss pppppppppppppeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrfffffffffffeeeeeeeeeeeccccccccccctttttttttlllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyyy fffffffffiiiiiiiiiinnnnnneeeeeeeee tooooooooo mmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeee.



#7 +dsbig

dsbig

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-April 09

Posted 29 October 2013 - 09:47

Ssssssssllllllllloooooooooowwwwwwwww bbbbbbbbbbooooooooooooooooooooooottttttttttttt? Iiiiiiiiiiitttttttttttt sssssssssseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeemmmmmmmmmmsssssssssss pppppppppppppeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrfffffffffffeeeeeeeeeeeccccccccccctttttttttlllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyyy fffffffffiiiiiiiiiinnnnnneeeeeeeee tooooooooo mmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeee.

processed as

 

"slow boot? it seems perfectly fine to me"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I dont have slow boot with mine.



#8 jimmy_jazz

jimmy_jazz

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-May 04

Posted 29 October 2013 - 09:58

Agree you should test you ram but if your hard disk is failing, windows may have reverted to a slower and safer transfer speed resulting in slow boot time.

#9 +zhiVago

zhiVago

    Pax Orbis

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 01
  • Location: The Heartland
  • OS: Windows Seven

Posted 29 October 2013 - 15:45

Let me guess, you have a regular HDD (non-SSD), haven't you?

 

The thing is, these guys are much slower than their desktop counterparts because laptop versions tend to have a slower RPM.

 

A conventional HDD is usually a system's slowest component.

 

 it said that Windows was unable to boot properly 

 

Did it specifically say it couldn't boot the system up or did it say that the OS had been shutdown improperly and needs to run a repair?

 

Another possibility is that a fresh Windows installtion runs lots of bulky updates and these take time to install.



#10 cropcircles

cropcircles

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-October 04

Posted 29 October 2013 - 15:57

@Resident Elite

Through personal experience Norton use to be bloatware but it's not anymore. a few years ago it was very sluggish on the system and even worse to get off your system. The last couple years it has been the best on the market. Very fast with little imprint. I would have waited until you got everything up and running and installed drivers, etc, before installing Norton.  



#11 OP sasha007

sasha007

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 29 October 2013 - 17:09

@Resident Elite

Through personal experience Norton use to be bloatware but it's not anymore. a few years ago it was very sluggish on the system and even worse to get off your system. The last couple years it has been the best on the market. Very fast with little imprint. I would have waited until you got everything up and running and installed drivers, etc, before installing Norton.  

 

Okay so should i try to reinstall Windows again ?



#12 Luc2k

Luc2k

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-May 09

Posted 29 October 2013 - 17:11

@Resident Elite

Through personal experience Norton use to be bloatware but it's not anymore. a few years ago it was very sluggish on the system and even worse to get off your system. The last couple years it has been the best on the market. Very fast with little imprint. I would have waited until you got everything up and running and installed drivers, etc, before installing Norton.  

I use NAV and it is bloated. It's good and fast, but still bloated. It spreads it's files all over the place and last time I checked it used over 600MB on the HDD. However, that shouldn't cause a performance issue.

 

@OP: Does Event Viewer still crash? If not, look up the date you had the problem.



#13 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 29 October 2013 - 17:21

The Short DST failure would be somethign to look at. That's a sign of a hard drive problem and can a cause of the slowness.

The long can pass while the short fails.



#14 Gotenks98

Gotenks98

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-December 01

Posted 29 October 2013 - 17:31

Stop using Norton altogether its bloatware.

This is the best advice. Norton does not do anything that something else free could not do better. To me it sounds like the OP has a hardware issue more so than a bad install. I would start by finding an app to analyze the HD.



#15 flynempire

flynempire

    It's called the bat and yes Mr. Wayne it comes in black :)

  • Joined: 19-January 10
  • Location: Sunny - Miami, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro SP-1, Windows 8.1 (RT) Android 4.1.2 Windows 8.1 Up1
  • Phone: Samsung Exhibit (Latest Model)

Posted 29 October 2013 - 17:50

I never install any AV on new system until everything else has been done. That said I use Norton NIS 2014 and it is not bloated in my opinion. It leaves me alone and does not consume much in resources or memory.

It seems like a disc issue though. What you could try and do is uninstall Norton and see if that changes anything. If it does not then Norton is not the cause. I recently got for a customer Webroot Secure Anywhere and it is damn fast and little resources and memory under 6Megs. It scans fast and just does it thing while leaving you alone.

You can get copies that can install for 3 PC's for 15 bucks online.