Jump to content



Photo

Weird video pixellation issue

Answered Go to the full post video pixellation nvidia artifacting

  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#16 OP D!ABOL!C

D!ABOL!C

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-April 03
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Windows 8.1 and OSX 10.9.5
  • Phone: HTC One (M8) Android 4.4.3

Posted 30 October 2013 - 13:07

I will try the driver tonight and see what happens.

 

In the meantime, any recommendations on a replacement for gtx560 ti? The main game I play is TF2 and perhaps Borderlands 2 and Mass Effect 3.  My previous card was an 8800GTS (G92) and it was not powerful enough. I open to Nvidia or ATI, but I'd like to put a cap at $150. I'll probably purchase from Newegg or Amazon if the price is cheaper.

 

My mobo model is up top and the CPU is a Core2Duo E6750 and my monitor resolution is 1680x1050, so I won't need anything beefy. Thanks again for the assistance.




#17 Starbuck84

Starbuck84

    Would You Kindly?

  • Joined: 26-June 07
  • Location: Breda, Netherlands

Posted 30 October 2013 - 14:48

This is either a heat issue or a video memory failure. I've seen this way to many times during my "i-couldn't-care-less-and-overclock" -times. My guess would be bad video memory, you see these dots almost creating a pattern accross the screen, typical for corrupt video memory.

 

No-cost solution: try cleaing out your case / removing all the dust and check your heat spreader on your videocard to see if everything is seated properly, nothing may be loose.

 

No-cost solution 2: try another videocard if possible and do the same tasks and see if your system will lock up again like it does now. I bet it won't.

 

No-cost solution 3: try running a temperature meter all the time, something like hwinfo64 or something, so you can check the temps of your videocard up until the point it freezes.

 

Hope this helps?



#18 Luc2k

Luc2k

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-May 09

Posted 30 October 2013 - 15:55

I will try the driver tonight and see what happens.

 

In the meantime, any recommendations on a replacement for gtx560 ti? The main game I play is TF2 and perhaps Borderlands 2 and Mass Effect 3.  My previous card was an 8800GTS (G92) and it was not powerful enough. I open to Nvidia or ATI, but I'd like to put a cap at $150. I'll probably purchase from Newegg or Amazon if the price is cheaper.

 

My mobo model is up top and the CPU is a Core2Duo E6750 and my monitor resolution is 1680x1050, so I won't need anything beefy. Thanks again for the assistance.

Isn't it still under warranty? Try that if the various solutions in the thread don't help.



#19 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 30 October 2013 - 20:40

I will try the driver tonight and see what happens.

 

In the meantime, any recommendations on a replacement for gtx560 ti? The main game I play is TF2 and perhaps Borderlands 2 and Mass Effect 3.  My previous card was an 8800GTS (G92) and it was not powerful enough. I open to Nvidia or ATI, but I'd like to put a cap at $150. I'll probably purchase from Newegg or Amazon if the price is cheaper.

Either a GTX 650 Ti or R7 260X would be good choices in that price range. Neither are vastly more powerful than your current card (actually they're slower in some cases), so it's kinda wasted money. Make sure you try the various solutions proposed to you in this thread, this could simply be some dust preventing airflow or shorting the card.



#20 OP D!ABOL!C

D!ABOL!C

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-April 03
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Windows 8.1 and OSX 10.9.5
  • Phone: HTC One (M8) Android 4.4.3

Posted 30 October 2013 - 21:33

Try 314.22 WHQL driver which is only works stable for me and tell me later back.

 

Downloading and installing this driver now. I'll give it a go and see what's up.

 

I may try the RMA route as well, just have to dig up the receipt.



#21 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware)

Posted 30 October 2013 - 22:19

Downloading and installing this driver now. I'll give it a go and see what's up.

 

I may try the RMA route as well, just have to dig up the receipt.

 

I suggest before going for RMA, give this driver a try.



#22 OP D!ABOL!C

D!ABOL!C

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-April 03
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Windows 8.1 and OSX 10.9.5
  • Phone: HTC One (M8) Android 4.4.3

Posted 30 October 2013 - 23:06

I suggest before going for RMA, give this driver a try.

 

I went ahead and processed the RMA, I have 30 days to send it in. I'm just going to run my computer 24/7 until it crashes. I may still send it in, I mean using an older driver is fine as a temporary fix, but it kind of sucks having to gimp my system.



#23 OP D!ABOL!C

D!ABOL!C

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-April 03
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Windows 8.1 and OSX 10.9.5
  • Phone: HTC One (M8) Android 4.4.3

Posted 30 October 2013 - 23:31

This is video memory corruption. Check your gpu temperatures (GPU-Z), try the card in a different slot, of course make sure you're running the latest drivers. Usually though this means hardware failure and you need a new one. 

 

To address the heat issue, I ran GPU-Z and right now, idling it's at 34C which seems pretty cool, although this is idling. I'm currently downloading Borderlands 2 from Steam and will test it out. When I played Borderlands, it would do similar to the screenshot in the OP when playing the game. We'll see how it goes with the older drivers.



#24 OP D!ABOL!C

D!ABOL!C

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-April 03
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Windows 8.1 and OSX 10.9.5
  • Phone: HTC One (M8) Android 4.4.3

Posted 31 October 2013 - 19:35

So I installed the old driver 314.22 and I have not had a lock up issue or any pixellation. I played about 1/2 an hour of Borderlands 2 with no issues where I did have issues previously. I also played about 1 hour of Team Fortress 2 and did not get the lockup that usually happens when I have played.

 

I will continue testing but the old driver seems to be doing it.

 

My question now is, do I send the card in anyway, or is this just crappy drivers by Nvidia? It sucks that I have to use an old driver, but fortunately the games I play perform fine.



#25 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 31 October 2013 - 19:41

The GTX560Ti is fully supported by the latest drivers. If you're forced to run an old one then something's wrong with the card. Have you attempted to take the card out, dust it and reseat it? Try it in a different PCI-E slot as well.



#26 OP D!ABOL!C

D!ABOL!C

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-April 03
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Windows 8.1 and OSX 10.9.5
  • Phone: HTC One (M8) Android 4.4.3

Posted 31 October 2013 - 19:44

The GTX560Ti is fully supported by the latest drivers. If you're forced to run an old one then something's wrong with the card. Have you attempted to take the card out, dust it and reseat it? Try it in a different PCI-E slot as well.

 

I did do that a few months ago. I did it to find the serial number printed on the back. I may go back in there and re-seat it. My motherboard only has 1 PCI Express 16x slot so I can't try another one.

 

I double checked the model of the card it's not a TI just a straight GTX 560 1GB. Here is a link to it: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814133397

 

EDIT: Linked to Wrong Card



#27 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 31 October 2013 - 20:17

The GTX560 is also supported (all GTX500 series and several older series than that are). 

 

That said if the older driver works well, you could stick with that; there likely aren't many important updates for your graphics card in the newer drivers, which mainly target newer cards and SLI setups.



#28 OP D!ABOL!C

D!ABOL!C

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-April 03
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Windows 8.1 and OSX 10.9.5
  • Phone: HTC One (M8) Android 4.4.3

Posted 31 October 2013 - 21:15

Well, that was short lived. I just turned on my computer after getting home from work and the video went all psycho again. This time though I could actually read the message on the screen and I got a Windows 8 message that said the nvlddmkm.sys caused a problem and it did a memory dump.

 

I guess the card is kaput, gonna send it off I guess, unless anyone else disagrees.



#29 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware)

Posted 31 October 2013 - 21:23   Best Answer

Well, that was short lived. I just turned on my computer after getting home from work and the video went all psycho again. This time though I could actually read the message on the screen and I got a Windows 8 message that said the nvlddmkm.sys caused a problem and it did a memory dump.

 

I guess the card is kaput, gonna send it off I guess, unless anyone else disagrees.

 

Before sending back card, I suggest send your memory dump to ManuelG guy at nvidia forum or mail it describing your issue, linking this thread link at following email address:

 

 

driverfeedback@nvidia.com

 

You are not the only one facing this issue.

Only two things worked for me:

1) Using Windows 7 64-bit stick with 314.22 WHQL driver

2) Using Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit stick with latest WHQL. It does happen on Windows 8.1 as well but Microsoft has remarkably improved timeout device recovery functionality, I just get single white flash and then all OK and tooltip show that driver got error while sometime my mouse start lagging but I get enough time to restart and it all works.

 

All who thinks that it is specific to you, I have to say sorry you are not alone in this boat:

Figure out yourself: 

 

 

https://forums.gefor...3-see-page-17-/

 

 

Nvidia also provided test driver for people facing this issue yesterday:

 

https://forums.gefor...991422/#3991422

 

You can test them as other one reply comes from nvidia forum, they say with new WHQL driver 330.5 situation is not that much bad (at least for OS with better Timeout device recovery functionality). As I mentioned in point 2 I made with Windows 8.1 scenario.



#30 OP D!ABOL!C

D!ABOL!C

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-April 03
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Windows 8.1 and OSX 10.9.5
  • Phone: HTC One (M8) Android 4.4.3

Posted 31 October 2013 - 21:56

Thanks for info Zlip. I'll try that beta driver and see what happens.