Jump to content



Photo

No task bar or start screen windows 8.1

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Angelic Marge

Angelic Marge

    Heavenly

  • Joined: 16-September 02
  • Location: Teesside, Smoggy Land

Posted 29 October 2013 - 21:20

HELP, I was closing things in task manager and accidentally closed something but don't know what it was, I think it was explorer.exe, now I have a blank screen, no start screen, I can't right click the desktop. I can get folders open through task manager but I seem to have disabled the start screen etc.

Help

Best Answer +Brando212 , 29 October 2013 - 21:21

just open a run box from task manager and run explorer.exe again or reboot

Go to the full post



#2 +Brando212

Brando212

    Causer of disasters

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: right behind you
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Posted 29 October 2013 - 21:21   Best Answer

just open a run box from task manager and run explorer.exe again or reboot



#3 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 29 October 2013 - 21:21

Restart?



#4 OP Angelic Marge

Angelic Marge

    Heavenly

  • Joined: 16-September 02
  • Location: Teesside, Smoggy Land

Posted 29 October 2013 - 21:32

just open a run box from task manager and run explorer.exe again or reboot

Ah thanks that did it, I was panicking cause I had no idea what to do. Thanks

Restart?

Did that twice but it just restarted in the same state but thankfully Brando helped

#5 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 29 October 2013 - 21:36

Ah thanks that did it, I was panicking cause I had no idea what to do. Thanks
Did that twice but it just restarted in the same state but thankfully Brando helped

 

But if his worked, that means that explorer isn't starting up as the shell by default. Which means next time you reboot it won't come up again.



#6 OP Angelic Marge

Angelic Marge

    Heavenly

  • Joined: 16-September 02
  • Location: Teesside, Smoggy Land

Posted 29 October 2013 - 21:52

But if his worked, that means that explorer isn't starting up as the shell by default. Which means next time you reboot it won't come up again.

I'll find out next time I restart I suppose and if it doesn't start I'll have to throw it out the window eek
Ending that task wasn't one of my best blonde moments LOL

#7 +Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States

Posted 30 October 2013 - 21:12

An easier way to do this is press the Windows key + R to bring up the Run dialog, then type in explorer and you're set. :)



#8 Joe User

Joe User

    Lazy Joe's

  • Joined: 29-May 07
  • Location: Somewhere in the US
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 30 October 2013 - 21:16

Ah thanks that did it, I was panicking cause I had no idea what to do. Thanks
Did that twice but it just restarted in the same state but thankfully Brando helped

 

Were you selecting 'restart' or 'shut down' and then pressing the power button?



#9 OP Angelic Marge

Angelic Marge

    Heavenly

  • Joined: 16-September 02
  • Location: Teesside, Smoggy Land

Posted 31 October 2013 - 20:23

Were you selecting 'restart' or 'shut down' and then pressing the power button?

I just pressed the Off button on my laptop to shut down, anyhoo as I said before Brando212's reply worked and it was still fine after restarting.



#10 Joe User

Joe User

    Lazy Joe's

  • Joined: 29-May 07
  • Location: Somewhere in the US
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 01 November 2013 - 00:07

I just pressed the Off button on my laptop to shut down, anyhoo as I said before Brando212's reply worked and it was still fine after restarting.

 

In the future, use the restart option on the computer. If you shut down Windows 8/8.1 using the power button it does not clear out memory and instead saves it to disk and restores it when you power back on.

 

Only if you use restart does it completely clear out memory. (I know it's strange).



#11 OP Angelic Marge

Angelic Marge

    Heavenly

  • Joined: 16-September 02
  • Location: Teesside, Smoggy Land

Posted 05 November 2013 - 16:05

In the future, use the restart option on the computer. If you shut down Windows 8/8.1 using the power button it does not clear out memory and instead saves it to disk and restores it when you power back on.

 

Only if you use restart does it completely clear out memory. (I know it's strange).

Oh I never knew that, though I have noticed various apps are still open in the background when I turn my laptop back on and now I know why, thanks  :D





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!