Jump to content



Photo

PSU Recommendation for GPU upgrade (R9 270x)

gpu graphic card video card psu power supply gpus graphic cards video cards power supplies

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 DWk

DWk

    w00t!

  • Joined: 26-December 03
  • Location: Guatemala

Posted 02 November 2013 - 02:45

Hi guys,

I'm thinking of upgrading my video card to an AMD R9 270x in the next couple of months. I don't believe I have enough power for it, so probably also need to consider a PSU upgrade - naturally, I come to you for suggestions and recommendations to this. 

Future scenario: I don't overclock and don't expect to do any SLI in the future (although might be good to have the option for multi-GPU). I could also consider an additional hard drive, but very likely I would only replace one of the older ones. I do however, might like to have a PSU in case I do decide to do a computer upgrade in 2-3 years (hoping my current setup can get me so far! tongue.gif )

From the calculations I've done with the different online PSU calculators (on some, using the HD 7870 as the R9 270x isn't yet available, which I believe is the closest), the answer varies: it goes from as low as 379W to a recommendation of a 700W PSU.

I also have a BFG Tech 550-Watt LS-550 PSU lying around that I bought a few years ago (unused, still boxed), so if that would be enough let me know.

Overall, I'd prefer not to go over $100 for one.

Here is the list of my current components:

Thanks for your help guys!




#2 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 02 November 2013 - 03:02

The R9 270X is not a power hungry card as you can see here: http://www.tomshardw...0x,3635-18.html - it probably consumes less power than your current video card, so you should be fine even with your current PSU.



#3 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 02 November 2013 - 03:16

Pretty sure 550 watt is enough for a 270x.

#4 OP DWk

DWk

    w00t!

  • Joined: 26-December 03
  • Location: Guatemala

Posted 02 November 2013 - 12:36

Thanks for the replies.

 

I don't think it consumes less than my current one though (http://www.tomshardw...,1957-20.html)? It does seem to consume less than nVidia's though...

 

If I do want to upgrade the PSU (for the computer upgrade in the future), any recommendations? What setup are you guys running?



#5 psionicinversion

psionicinversion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-June 05

Posted 02 November 2013 - 14:25

Thanks for the replies.

 

I don't think it consumes less than my current one though (http://www.tomshardw...,1957-20.html)? It does seem to consume less than nVidia's though...

 

If I do want to upgrade the PSU (for the computer upgrade in the future), any recommendations? What setup are you guys running?

 

Depends if you may want to do sli/crossfire in the future, if you do and want to cover yourself upto high end cards then probably get a 1000w PSU. but im running an i7 950 12GB ram and overclocked 280x (uses upto 360watt under load) on a 650watt but maybe get a 750 watt cus the lower the percentage of the PSU's max power is used the longer itll last



#6 yowanvista

yowanvista

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-February 10
  • Location: Mauritius
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit
  • Phone: i9001-CM11-KitKat 4.4.4 - Kernel 3.4.102

Posted 02 November 2013 - 14:32

It wouldn't be a good idea to upgrade the GPU considering that your old Q6600 will bottleneck performance. 



#7 MindTrickz

MindTrickz

    That's no way to treat a lady!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 03
  • Location: Europe:

Posted 02 November 2013 - 20:21

Your CPU is definitely going to bottleneck your performance. You should look to upgrade that first. But that would require a new motherboard along with new ram.



#8 OP DWk

DWk

    w00t!

  • Joined: 26-December 03
  • Location: Guatemala

Posted 02 November 2013 - 21:09

Yes, I agree it will be a bottleneck considering the components available nowadays. However, I'm not expecting to do that upgrade just yet (because that would be another $400-$500 that I don't want to spend just yet.

 

I simply want to stay current, not really expecting the max out of the components.



#9 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 04 November 2013 - 14:38

Thanks for the replies.

 

I don't think it consumes less than my current one though (http://www.tomshardw...,1957-20.html)?

Make sure your PSU has 2x6pin PCI-E connectors: http://www.amd.com/u...9-series.aspx#5



#10 +WildWayz

WildWayz

    The Moose God

  • Joined: 28-September 11
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 November 2013 - 15:19

Make sure your PSU has 2x6pin PCI-E connectors: http://www.amd.com/u...9-series.aspx#5

 

1 x 6pin and 1 x 8 pin :p

 

Do they have to be on different rails? My PSU had a 2 x 8 pins (well, 2 pins + 4 pins x 2) on a single rail, but had a cable to provide another pair (for 2 x GPUs).