Jump to content



Photo

New Build - Need help selecting components

new pc gtx760 64gb 4930

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 darkz

darkz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-January 05
  • Location: Heaven

Posted 04 November 2013 - 15:46

Hello,

 

I need to help build a PC for a Friend, it needs to have at least 64GB of RAM, 160GB SSD and i7-4930k CPU 

Here's what he selected so far: 

  • MSI GeForce GTX760 2GB
  • Intel Core i7-4930k 3.4GHz
  • Be Quiet Pure Power L8, 700W
  • Intel SSD 335 180GB
  • Corsair Vengeance Black 64GB 1866MHz CL9 Kit of 8
  • Seagate Barracuda 2TB
  • Asus P9X79 PRO

It's going to be used for 3D work mostly.

I built my last pc around 2010, so could you please help me select components with better price/performance ratio, if possible 

 

Thank You 

 




#2 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Tannhäuser Gate
  • OS: ZAX 6.1.7601 x64

Posted 04 November 2013 - 18:48

Three things:

 

* For LGA2011 you must buy CPU cooling solution separately, as none comes bundled. Additionally, Intel's own aftermarket solution, while very cheap, is rather loud and may appear inadequate for continous 100% load. Be sure to check if your computer case allows for appropriate aftermarket cooler or has enough mounting space for closed-loop watercooler.

 

* Be sure to check with the retailer if the board supports Ivy Bridge-E out of the box. While most do, there might be leftovers in stock that will require an update (using i7-3820/39xx) beforehand.

 

* I'd recommend against getting kit of 8. While arguably convenient, if one stick appears to be defective, retailers usually require sending the whole package and you'll be left with none during the exchange. Check warranty policies of your retailer to be sure. Or just to be safe, take 4 "kit of 2" packages.

 

Oh, and a less important note is that if no upgrades (additional GPUs mostly) will ever take place, that power supply might appear to be a little on the expensive side and also not very efficient. I suggest looking at something less powerful (500 to 600), but more efficient (80+ Gold). Might be the same price now, but you'll save some in the long run.



#3 OP darkz

darkz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-January 05
  • Location: Heaven

Posted 04 November 2013 - 19:38

 

yeah, I already got advised to choose X79-Deluxe instead, maybe there's something cheaper that works with that cpu out of the box?



#4 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Tannhäuser Gate
  • OS: ZAX 6.1.7601 x64

Posted 04 November 2013 - 20:27

yeah, I already got advised to choose X79-Deluxe instead, maybe there's something cheaper that works with that cpu out of the box?

 

Not from Asus (or Asrock or MSI, for that matter). Many Gigabyte boards do, even the older 1.0 revisions. However, Baltic distributors don't seem to have any in stock at the moment.

 

Although you can always try and ask the retailer to update the board for you. If they refuse, it shows certain probems with good customer service.



#5 OP darkz

darkz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-January 05
  • Location: Heaven

Posted 04 November 2013 - 21:46

Not from Asus (or Asrock or MSI, for that matter). Many Gigabyte boards do, even the older 1.0 revisions. However, Baltic distributors don't seem to have any in stock at the moment.

 

Although you can always try and ask the retailer to update the board for you. If they refuse, it shows certain probems with good customer service.

 

Thanks Man! 

I bet they would refuse, guess I will still try. Anyway as far as I understand you can flash the bios only by hooking it up to a PSU, I mean without a working CPU 



#6 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Tannhäuser Gate
  • OS: ZAX 6.1.7601 x64

Posted 04 November 2013 - 22:56

Thanks Man! 

I bet they would refuse, guess I will still try. Anyway as far as I understand you can flash the bios only by hooking it up to a PSU, I mean without a working CPU 

 

Newer ASUS boards (including most X79) do have that interesting feature, USB Flashback. No RAM or CPU necessary.

All BIOS updates are still a bit scary, but if you feel up to the task, why not (Y)



#7 OP darkz

darkz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-January 05
  • Location: Heaven

Posted 04 November 2013 - 23:06

Newer ASUS boards (including most X79) do have that interesting feature, USB Flashback. No RAM or CPU necessary.

All BIOS updates are still a bit scary, but if you feel up to the task, why not (Y)

Yeah, I can't really choose to get (and wait for) GigaByte and slower memory or to buy that P9X79 Pro in hopes it'll work 

Besides that definitely need to decide on PSU, GPU and Memory 





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!