Jump to content



Photo

WiFi signal so weeak, any suggestions?

wifi signal repeater

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 08 November 2013 - 02:12

I live in 3 floors home. My flat is 2nd floor.

 

My Belkin N-300 ADSL router is attached to ADSL line in the 3rd floor most west room.

 

My HP laptop (in signature) and my TP link TL-WA801ND Access point lies in the 2nd floor(center of it).I am using the access point as a WiFi repeater.

I have a laptop and a tablet in the center of the 1st floor, but getting no signal, unless I go extreme west, even in my garden just outside the house.

 

Router:

  Firmware Version

1.00.41(Jan 21 2011 11:10:33)    Boot Version V1.06               DHCP Enabled    Features   Firewall Enabled     security WPA/WPA2-Personal (PSK) UPnP Enabled Remote management Disabled WPS Disabled  

 

HPLaptop WLAN:  Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1030 BGN 1x2 HMC
 

Dell Laptop : Dell inspiron mini 1018. Tablet: BGN wifi chip

 

 

A) I don't think this signal is usual....right?
B) This repeater I bought,I think it is not helping.How can I use it well?

 




#2 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 08 November 2013 - 02:21

Get a repeater or extender from Amped Wireless which you get more coverage in the house.

 

Or replace the belkin router with a new router from Amped Wireless.

 

If you get a product from Amped Wireless, then you will be able to use anywhere in the house and outside.



#3 OP medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 08 November 2013 - 02:43

can't buy it in Egypt.Any other solution?



#4 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 08 November 2013 - 02:48

can't buy it in Egypt.Any other solution?

 

Yes you can...  Place it order then fill your info and choose Egypt from the pull down list, then fill your payment method.

 

Edit: Check the screenshot:

samplefororder.jpg



#5 morebaker

morebaker

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-August 04
  • Location: west coast
  • Phone: nexus 5

Posted 08 November 2013 - 04:55

simple fix try another Chanel or you might be on busy one

um i live in a condo and the amount of wifi is ridicules but i work around it

lots of wifi analyzers out there.



#6 illegaloperation

illegaloperation

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-October 09

Posted 08 November 2013 - 05:30

Maybe your channel have some interference. Use inSSIDer to find the best channel.



#7 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 28
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 08 November 2013 - 11:37

Wireless signal travels up better than down. I live in a bi-level house and when I put my wireless on the second floor the signal on the first is very weak to non existent, but when I put the wireless on the first floor just about all of the second floor is covered.

When you use a repeater, you want to put the repeater where you get strong signal from the wap, you don't want it in an area where the signal is weak or at 50% . I would rather see a hard wire run from your router to another wap but you are the only one to be able to tell if it is feasible.

As far as extending your signal to the outside, if your wireless supports the use of swapping antennas install a larger antenna to increase coverage area.

#8 OP medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 08 November 2013 - 13:53

Yes you can...  Place it order then fill your info and choose Egypt from the pull down list, then fill your payment method.

 

Edit: Check the screenshot:

attachicon.gifsamplefororder.jpg

I have just paid to buy the Belkin N300 router and Access point.So, I have no available budget right now for a switch

 

simple fix try another Chanel or you might be on busy one

um i live in a condo and the amount of wifi is ridicules but i work around it

lots of wifi analyzers out there.

 

I don't have too much networks, actually one or 2 max.

Maybe your channel have some interference. Use inSSIDer to find the best channel.

I tried it and changes channel, but in vain

 

Wireless signal travels up better than down. I live in a bi-level house and when I put my wireless on the second floor the signal on the first is very weak to non existent, but when I put the wireless on the first floor just about all of the second floor is covered.

When you use a repeater, you want to put the repeater where you get strong signal from the wap, you don't want it in an area where the signal is weak or at 50% . I would rather see a hard wire run from your router to another wap but you are the only one to be able to tell if it is feasible.

As far as extending your signal to the outside, if your wireless supports the use of swapping antennas install a larger antenna to increase coverage area.

 

ADSL router is hoocked to line in the 3rd floor.Ican't change that.I direct the two antenna downward.

 

 

When you use a repeater, you want to put the repeater where you get strong signal from the wap, you don't want it in an area where the signal is weak or at 50% . I would rather see a hard wire run from your router to another wap but you are the only one to be able to tell if it is feasible.

 

I put the repeater where signal is at least 70%. I don't understand the hard wire thing!!!!!

 

 

As far as extending your signal to the outside, if your wireless supports the use of swapping antennas install a larger antenna to increase coverage area.

That, I can do.I have two detachable antennae.I will swap one with a stronger antenna.



#9 OP medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 08 November 2013 - 13:54

I think that there can be a solution with the available resources....I can use some more help



#10 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 28
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 08 November 2013 - 14:33

move the devices around.  That is the best that you are going to be able to do with the resources available without purchasing new items.  This is what is known as being stuck between a rock and a hard place.  When you have exhausted location and frequency of the devices the only other option would be to purchase something.  I can tell you that with antennas you can increase range significantly, I can tell you putting in more waps would increase range as well.  Your goal is to increase range.  There isn't any more that you are going to be able to do without purchasing other than moving the devices around to get the coverage in the areas you want.



#11 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 08 November 2013 - 17:11

I have just paid to buy the Belkin N300 router and Access point.So, I have no available budget right now for a switch

 

If you just bought it like a week ago or two.. which you have up to 30 days before return...depends the return policy in your area. you can take it back and get a new one.. 

 

Belkin products suck.   You can try swap the antenna but I doubt they will help.

 

Ask Santa that you get Amped Wireless router for Christmas.... never hurt to try.



#12 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 28
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 08 November 2013 - 17:19

You do realize swapping with the right antenna apparatus could increase the range to miles vs feet, right? They have done this with crappy b routers and g routers you would buy at a store...spanning up to 50 miles, granted that is a directional beam vs omni directional, but it still impressive with a Soho router.

#13 OP medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 08 November 2013 - 22:18

If you just bought it like a week ago or two.. which you have up to 30 days before return...depends the return policy in your area. you can take it back and get a new one.. 

 

Belkin products suck.   You can try swap the antenna but I doubt they will help.

 

Ask Santa that you get Amped Wireless router for Christmas.... never hurt to try.

 

Unfortunately, I am past the return time, so I am stuck with both of them

You do realize swapping with the right antenna apparatus could increase the range to miles vs feet, right? They have done this with crappy b routers and g routers you would buy at a store...spanning up to 50 miles, granted that is a directional beam vs omni directional, but it still impressive with a Soho router.

 

This is news to me, I will try to get a new stronger antenna.But which parameter should be bigger/stronger?



#14 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 28
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 08 November 2013 - 22:34

Time to start reading. I will post more later
http://www.radiolabs...fi-antenna.html

#15 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 28
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 09 November 2013 - 14:55

here is another

http://www.seattlewi...et/AntennaHowTo

 

A outdoor -14db antenna can transmit/receive up to 1 mile.