Jump to content



Photo

Target ships Xbox One 14 days early

xbox xbox one

  • Please log in to reply
151 replies to this topic

#31 PhilTheThrill

PhilTheThrill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:02

lol at broken metering. probably broken speed caps too


I was about to say, even in the burbs you can get teksavvy with unlimited plans.

In the summer it was going at 40-50Mbit...but they "fixed" that. (I pay for 25Mbit)

 

Gotta love Teksavvy.




#32 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:02

Thanks for explaining but still I don't understand why you need to download an update for your console to work, sounds fishy


because the initial firmware required games to auth with a server every 24hrs to download the rights to play the game. since they completely stripped out the drm, these servers no longer communicate this way, therefore its impossible to launch a game.
 

In the summer it was going at 40-50Mbit...but they "fixed" that. (I pay for 25Mbit)

Gotta love Teksavvy.


yeah I have a family member with teksavvy, apparently its just as good as rogers, and its unlimited. I actually have a special unlimited plan with rogers, and 250mbit speed ( special corp plan from my previous employement). And I also have a 250mbit 1TB with shaw out in van.

#33 xWhiplash

xWhiplash

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-March 08

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:09

500 MB is a bit much.  How hard will that hit the servers on launch day?  Will it take you a few days to get a fully functional Xbox?



#34 Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:16

I can plug my Nintendo NES in and play a game and also my PlayStation 2, PS3, and Wii (although the wii and PS3 need updates occasionally). It is crazy how complex consoles are becoming. The longevity of consoles has gone down a lot too, there are 35 year old Magnavox Odysseys out there that still work today and a whole lot of other old consoles too like Ataris, Sega consoles etc. I think consoles makers are losing touch with the fun factor by implementing all these fancy and complex features.



#35 PhilTheThrill

PhilTheThrill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:18

because the initial firmware required games to auth with a server every 24hrs to download the rights to play the game. since they completely stripped out the drm, these servers no longer communicate this way, therefore its impossible to launch a game.
 

yeah I have a family member with teksavvy, apparently its just as good as rogers, and its unlimited. I actually have a special unlimited plan with rogers, and 250mbit speed ( special corp plan from my previous employement). And I also have a 250mbit 1TB with shaw out in van.

Pretty much is Rogers...sans the price tag.

 

I'm straight into Rogers network by the 3rd hop in a tracert



#36 +Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:22

I can plug my Nintendo NES in and play a game and also my PlayStation 2, PS3, and Wii (although the wii and PS3 need updates occasionally). It is crazy how complex consoles are becoming. The longevity of consoles has gone down a lot too, there are 35 year old Magnavox Odysseys out there that still work today and a whole lot of other old consoles too like Ataris, Sega consoles etc. I think consoles makers are losing touch with the fun factor by implementing all these fancy and complex features.

I still play the Sega Genesis. :D



#37 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:23

I can plug my Nintendo NES in and play a game and also my PlayStation 2, PS3, and Wii (although the wii and PS3 need updates occasionally). It is crazy how complex consoles are becoming. The longevity of consoles has gone down a lot too, there are 35 year old Magnavox Odysseys out there that still work today and a whole lot of other old consoles too like Ataris, Sega consoles etc. I think consoles makers are losing touch with the fun factor by implementing all these fancy and complex features.

 

 

Consoles are on a collision course for pcs.

 

Its very possible this is the last generation for closed console hardware.  The next gen may see gaming move completely to the pc in the form of services that can be accessed on a regular pc or via small, cheap boxes streamed from a pc or the web.

 

Or maybe there is room for one more traditional console generation.



#38 Excelsis

Excelsis

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 04
  • Location: QC, Canada

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:27

Ahh, where I live you get your pick of: Bell, Rogers, or Execulink.   It wasn't bad when I lived in St. Catharines and could get cogeco.. got basically double what I have with Rogers (40d/3u 120gb bw)  for the same price (75$ /mo)  The other two here are DSL meaning no more than 6d/1u

 

Look up Teksavvy, you'll thank me. Wish more people would know about the smaller ISPs, maybe then the big ones wouldn't screw over everyone.

 

Edit: I just noticed someone mentionned Teksavvy already, In any case, my suggestion still stands. Robers and Bhell are terrible and should be a last resort in all cases.



#39 notchinese

notchinese

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-October 12

Posted 09 November 2013 - 04:56

500 MB is not very big. What is this, 2001?



#40 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 09 November 2013 - 05:07

500 MB is not very big. What is this, 2001?

 

Yep, games will be 720p@30fps also.



#41 incendy

incendy

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-October 05

Posted 09 November 2013 - 05:11

500mb is good news! Should take 5 minutes or less, not bad at all



#42 Blackhearted

Blackhearted

    .....

  • Joined: 26-February 04
  • Location: Ohio
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S2 (VM)

Posted 09 November 2013 - 05:15

Hopefully Microsoft doesn't ban his console because Target made a mistake. That would suck.

 

Microsoft has done enough to make themselves look bad earlier this year(think back before the big 180). I don't think they'd be stupid enough to make themselves look even worse right now.

 

I could be wrong though.



#43 Osiris

Osiris

    Neowinian God!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-October 01
  • Location: Australia
  • OS: WIndows 8.2
  • Phone: Nokia 930

Posted 09 November 2013 - 05:44

Reading the twitter feed feel like im reading spoilers :p



#44 Doli

Doli

    Goo ball

  • Joined: 28-October 04
  • Location: Tower of Goo Memorial Park and Recreation Center

Posted 09 November 2013 - 06:13

Video taken down because copyright claim by Microsoft.... how sad. He should fight that, he bought the console.



#45 Blackhearted

Blackhearted

    .....

  • Joined: 26-February 04
  • Location: Ohio
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S2 (VM)

Posted 09 November 2013 - 08:27

Looks like i was wrong. According to that guys twitter, microsoft was indeed stupid enough to make themselves look bad again, and so close to launch, by banning the console. Cause, ya know, it's totally the consumers fault and all that target handed them out early.