Jump to content



Photo

AMD or Intel route?


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#16 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 10 November 2013 - 09:12

AMD Here... not regrets at all.




#17 psionicinversion

psionicinversion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-June 05

Posted 10 November 2013 - 09:30

Go for AMD your not doing anything that remotely needs any power, infact you could just go for an AMD APU, just get that cus whats the point in spending $500-700 on a system that will never ever use the power that you want to get. Heavy flash games thats a lol.

 

http://www.overclock...967&subcat=1944

 

Get that 8GB ram and an SSD and your sorted



#18 Master of Earth

Master of Earth

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-March 12

Posted 10 November 2013 - 09:32

the AMD motherboard is not as good as intel if you want FX990 series. In fact, intel is more power efficient in CPU and other manufacture motherboard take advantage of those feature and make the motherboard less chance of overheating if you plan to overclock. 



#19 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 10 November 2013 - 09:45

Intel. Hands down winner. (Y)



#20 psionicinversion

psionicinversion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-June 05

Posted 10 November 2013 - 10:05

the AMD motherboard is not as good as intel if you want FX990 series. In fact, intel is more power efficient in CPU and other manufacture motherboard take advantage of those feature and make the motherboard less chance of overheating if you plan to overclock. 

 why would he overclock hes already stated the most demanding thing he'll be doing is playing facebook games so no point



#21 Master of Earth

Master of Earth

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-March 12

Posted 10 November 2013 - 10:21

 why would he overclock hes already stated the most demanding thing he'll be doing is playing facebook games so no point

those cpu is design to overlock otherwise what is point of buying those CPU. He might somehow want to overclock if those performance isn't up to his expectation so i recommend him if go down the amd route the motherboard is something to consider before making the right choice. 



#22 +Matthew S.

Matthew S.

    Your worst nightmare

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-December 05
  • Location: Georgetown, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / Mac OS X 10.10.x iOS 8.x
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus 64GB

Posted 10 November 2013 - 11:03

Coming from an AMD build previously I regret ever going that route, Intel is where it's at hands down.

 

So my suggestion is to wait it out and save a little more up and go Intel.



#23 T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 10 November 2013 - 11:04

Someone mentioned overclocking as a solution for someone who does not know hardware basics, and another person actually said, "if you live in a cold climate get AMD" ?  Really ?



#24 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 2012R2, 7, BSD Unix, Arch Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Work) Lumia 1020 (Home)

Posted 10 November 2013 - 11:23

This system I'm currently sitting at is using an FX-6300 6 core Vishera, overclocks very nicely.   I usually pick Intel with my builds, but with this particular system it was meant to be a balance of price vs performance, so went with AMD.. fast processor and saved a good bit of money.   My "screw the price, we need more power" system uses an Intel processor, but in this case I don't regret the Vishera in the least, it's plenty fast.  It does run a bit on the toasty side though, but it's overclocked by 1.5GHz too.  (Not using the stock cooler obviously.)



#25 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 10 November 2013 - 21:55

Someone mentioned overclocking as a solution for someone who does not know hardware basics, and another person actually said, "if you live in a cold climate get AMD" ?  Really ?

 

Welcome to Neowin ;)

 

I would recommend Intel, you'll save yourself $800 p/m on the electic bill.



#26 OP ACTIONpack

ACTIONpack

    Graphic Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Lawrenceville, GA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925 (T-Mobile)

Posted 10 November 2013 - 22:04

Yea, I'm going to get an Intel i7 4770K with ASRock Z87 Pro4. $358



#27 bikeman25

bikeman25

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-April 05
  • Location: US-Michigan
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64 with Media Center
  • Phone: Windows 8 Phone--Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 10 November 2013 - 22:36

AMD A6-3620 Quad Core APU, Run circles around my old Single Core AMD System,  Handles all I throw at it, Eventually may get an SSD, but with only space for 1 internal drive inside, not too sure on that part yet.   



#28 MindTrickz

MindTrickz

    That's no way to treat a lady!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 03
  • Location: Europe:

Posted 11 November 2013 - 06:49

DDR4 is coming around at the end of this year, isn't it?

 

 

No, you can not. The first chipsets to support DDR4 will come out next year.

 

"Intel Corp. last week showcased the world’s first demo system running code-named Haswell-E microprocessor as well as DDR4 memory modules.."

"Intel plans to release its next-generation high-end desktop platform featuring Haswell-E microprocessor, Wellsburg (X99) core-logic and DDR4 memory sometimes in Q3/Q4 2014, according to unofficial information."

http://www.xbitlabs....DR4_Memory.html

 



#29 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 12 November 2013 - 15:46

OP: while i'd side w/ Intel, it sounds like your workload is easy enough for AMD. i'd say just save the money.



#30 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 12 November 2013 - 15:47

Yea, I'm going to get an Intel i7 4770K with ASRock Z87 Pro4. $358

i would highly recommend you dont buy Asrock.