Jump to content



Photo

[Win7] Copy a CD?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 18 November 2013 - 19:22

Basically i want to copy a CD for playback in the car rather than having the original CD in the car. Is there something inbuilt with Win7 that'll let me do a clone, or do i need some 3rd party software? I used to have Nero but lost it.




#2 Riggers

Riggers

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-March 08

Posted 18 November 2013 - 19:31

Depends if it`s got any copy protection on it (if it has you may need to get rid of that and this forum isn`t really the place to discuss that).

If it hasn`t just open windows media player and select burn, drag the contens of the cd to the burn list and hit "start burn".



#3 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 18 November 2013 - 19:40

Burnaware Free



#4 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 18 November 2013 - 19:41

I would just rip the MP3s and then burn them back to a playable CD.  Most new cars these days, and CD plays, can play MP3s anyway.



#5 rr_dRock

rr_dRock

    Resident Magical Lion v1.2

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-June 06
  • Location: Time Warp, Canadian Arctic
  • OS: Windows 7 x64, Windows 8 x64, Windows Server 2012
  • Phone: Galaxy SIV (CM11), iPhone 4S

Posted 19 November 2013 - 17:48

Windows Media player has options to rip the songs from the cd. Then as +techbeck said, just drag and drop into a new CD.

If you want to just straight copy, use the trial version of PowerISO and hit "copy" and select make image. then open it and burn it to a fresh disc.

Alternatively if you have two CD/DVD drives in the machine in question you can burn directly to another disc from the original using the same copy procedure in PowerISO

 

PowerISO



#6 Riggers

Riggers

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-March 08

Posted 19 November 2013 - 18:46

Why can`t i edit my post :angry:  Forgot you`ll need to rip first, maybe choose Audio Quality as Best from Rip Settings. Good tutorial here ->

 

http://www.wikihow.c...ws-Media-Player



#7 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 21 November 2013 - 17:59

ImgBurn should be able to do this and it's free. Just pay attention during the install process and turn off the sponsored install options.



#8 leesmithg

leesmithg

    The Major!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 11-August 04
  • Location: Kings Hill, West Malling, Kent, England.

Posted 21 November 2013 - 18:07

FairStars CD Ripper v1.6