Jump to content



Photo

Question about Pentium 4

pentium4 windows8

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 M_Lyons10

M_Lyons10

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-October 08
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted 18 November 2013 - 20:57

Hi everyone.  I am looking for a pretty basic computer for my mother to replace her aging Dell (Windows XP)...

 

I'm not looking to spend a lot, somewhere in the $ 300 range, as she will largely use it for e-mail and basic computing.

 

But in looking at laptops, I found this one here:

 

http://www.bestbuy.c...02000&cp=1&lp=2

 

So my question for everyone is, does anyone have any experience with Windows 8 running on Pentium 4?  I haven't had a machine with a Pentium 4 in ages, and I realize it's outdated at this point, but I'm not sure how Windows 8 runs on it and if this would be good.  With a 64 Bit OS and 6 GB of RAM, I figured it should be fairly decent.

 

And I've had great luck with Toshiba products from a reliability standpoint, so am leaning towards that brand.

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks Again,




#2 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 18 November 2013 - 20:59

the current gen pentium series is basically the same as the i3s without the threading

so all in all they're just fine for basic tasks like you have planned



#3 streetw0lf

streetw0lf

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-January 04
  • Location: USA

Posted 18 November 2013 - 21:02

Spec:

ARK | Intel® Pentium® Processor 2020M (2M Cache, 2.40 GHz)

 



#4 srbeen

srbeen

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-November 11

Posted 18 November 2013 - 21:09

Isn't a Pentium 4, its just a pentium.

 

I have gateway with 'intel inside'/pentium 1000 processor. It has 2GB less ram and no USB3 for an idea (does have gigabit ethernet port however, even though spec says it shouldn't). Its the cheapest of the lot ($40 off at walmart for a total of $288), and works beautifully playing 1080p BluRay video over HDMI with 5.1 surround. I have a feeling though, if windows ever bit the dust the drivers would be a challenge to locate/reinstall. Make a backup.



#5 BigCheese

BigCheese

    Neowinian King

  • Joined: 25-August 04
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 18 November 2013 - 21:12

Yeah that's not a Pentium 4 at all. Intel stopped making those in 2005/6. It's a cut down Ivy bridge Core i3, branded as Pentium. Good enough for email and web browsing and other light usage.



#6 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 19 November 2013 - 00:43

It is basically the same as the Toshiba model I bought last week for $230 -- C55-A5300. See: http://cpuboss.com/c...l-Celeron-1037U

 

Win8 will run perfectly fine on it. The biggest issue with that laptop and most laptops is that they come with a 5600rpm drive. Those are pretty much crap. Toshiba did have some sort of disk caching to memory thing built in on the vanilla copy of Windows that came on the laptop to help with that though. I never tested it out because I dropped an SSD in the day I got it. It has been fantastic ever sense.

 

To be perfectly fair, Windows 8 runs great even on really old Core 2 laptops if you put an SSD in them. Your bottleneck is rarely the CPU or memory, it it is almost always disk access times under normal workloads. It is worth noting that browsers do cache a crapton of things to disks so you'll bottleneck with web browsing also.

 

I'm a firm believer that buying high-end cores tends to be an exercise in futility these days. Subjectively speaking, my horribly under-powered Celeron runs as a good as my desktop i7 2600k which is in the top 10 of the common desktop CPUS (excluding Xeons and such). And that is really the most important thing to consider -- if you can't tell the difference than you are better spent spending your money elsewhere and are not really doing CPU intensive workloads in the first place. I work in high performance computing which is about pushing the last ounce of performance out of a machine. I've worked with all types of architectures with cores ranging in the thousands, and I can tell you, it is not trivial to utilize your cores effectively even on n<16 core machines. In 99% of workloads you are bottle-necked on memory or disk accesses because those are slow pipes and you have a limited amount of bandwidth. In most cases cpu(s) tend to not be the bottleneck for performance (sure there are some cases like transcoding but these aren't really all that common).

 

Another way to look at it is like this -- throwing 4 cores at a situation that isn't effectively utilizing 2 cores isn't going to improve performance if all of the cores are idling waiting on data in memory or on disk. Moreover, throwing high clock speeds at a situation where you are waiting on data from memory means that you simply spending more time idling and gain little performance benefits.



#7 chrisj1968

chrisj1968

    copyrighted!! ©

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-June 08
  • Location: United States

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:07

Hi everyone.  I am looking for a pretty basic computer for my mother to replace her aging Dell (Windows XP)...

 

I'm not looking to spend a lot, somewhere in the $ 300 range, as she will largely use it for e-mail and basic computing.

 

But in looking at laptops, I found this one here:

 

http://www.bestbuy.c...02000&cp=1&lp=2

 

So my question for everyone is, does anyone have any experience with Windows 8 running on Pentium 4?  I haven't had a machine with a Pentium 4 in ages, and I realize it's outdated at this point, but I'm not sure how Windows 8 runs on it and if this would be good.  With a 64 Bit OS and 6 GB of RAM, I figured it should be fairly decent.

 

And I've had great luck with Toshiba products from a reliability standpoint, so am leaning towards that brand.

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks Again,

 

I'd stay away from pentium 4. you can get current gen systems on the cheap. even a chromebook would suffice for mom at about $249. less then your budget

 

oops less..https://www.google.c...e-promo-ac-c720



#8 Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:12

Windows 8 doesn't support some older processors. I found a Intel Celeron and Athlon XP processors incompatible. During the setup of Windows 8 it will give a error message.



#9 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:16

i don't think Windows 8 runs on Pentium 4, at least not the Willamette as it lacks NX; only latter Prescott and even then the experience you will get won't be a good one because of performance issues. Also slow disks and memories (and high memory latency and few pipelines) won't get you nowhere.

 

edit: just saw that laptop. the processor ain't that bad as it performs closely like an i3 (in synthetic tests, don't forget this) but the bottleneck is going to be that very slow disk: change it asap for much better results.



#10 chrisj1968

chrisj1968

    copyrighted!! ©

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-June 08
  • Location: United States

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:22

i don't think Windows 8 runs on Pentium 4, at least not the Willamette as it lacks NX; only latter Prescott and even then the experience you will get won't be a good one because of performance issues. Also slow disks and memories (and high memory latency and few pipelines) won't get you nowhere.

 

edit: just saw that laptop. the processor ain't that bad as it performs closely like an i3 (in synthetic tests, don't forget this) but the bottleneck is going to be that very slow disk: change it asap for much better results.

 

I heard Pentium 4's had heat issues too.. many moons ago



#11 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:25

I heard Pentium 4's had heat issues too.. many moons ago

 

heh for some reason it was called Presc(h)ott.



#12 Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:35

I was using Windows 8 on a Dell E310 with a Pentium 4 HT for a month or two, a year or so ago and it was pretty peppy running on it. 



#13 statm1

statm1

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-September 04
  • Location: North Carolina, US
  • OS: Windows 8.1 MCE

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:38

A Pentium 4 HT 650 64bit is compatible with Win8 but its not compatible with Win8.1. They added additional requirements in 8.1. So if you want to stick with WIn8 then there are still 650s for sale around the internet.. And pretty much any aftermarket cooler will keep it cool enough.



#14 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:42

I was using Windows 8 on a Dell E310 with a Pentium 4 HT for a month or two, a year or so ago and it was pretty peppy running on it. 

 

that's because that Dell had a late gen P4 (HT) and i doubt it wasn't upgraded (the original Dell E310 just had 80GB of HDD and 512MB of RAM).



#15 Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 19 November 2013 - 01:45

that's because that Dell had a late gen P4 (HT) and i doubt it wasn't upgraded (the original Dell E310 just had 80GB of HDD and 512MB of RAM).

My now sold Dell E310 was upgraded to 2 GBs of ram, GeForce 8400gs PCI  It wasn't too bad of a PC.