Jump to content



Photo

Sign in pop up

Answered Go to the full post request

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 +Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • Location: Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 7 X64 Ultimate Edition
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 Compact

Posted 19 November 2013 - 03:31

Just this moment, 3.30 am UK time while trying to log in I found this advert blocking the log it pop up

some sort of always on top thing

 

pls find included the pic and text

 

Regards :)

 

Image1.jpg

 

Attached File  Neowin - Where unprofessional journalism looks better.txt   235.93KB   4 downloads

 

God, something Nick once said, made me add this, luckily I remembered to use the 'g' in Regards, but what if when signing this I accidentally used the 't'?

lol



Best Answer Steven P. , 19 November 2013 - 10:43

Not all ads cause this and you can also scroll down past it. non issue.

Go to the full post



#2 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 56
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 19 November 2013 - 10:43   Best Answer

Not all ads cause this and you can also scroll down past it. non issue.



#3 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 19 November 2013 - 10:46

Maybe not an issue as such but still looks crap to a new user to the site



#4 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 56
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 19 November 2013 - 10:47

It's because Flash gets priority, this happens on tons of other sites too.



#5 OP +Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • Location: Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 7 X64 Ultimate Edition
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 Compact

Posted 19 November 2013 - 12:21

Now Steven can't ninja another best answer mwuhahaha :p

#6 +LimeMaster92

LimeMaster92

    LippyZillaD Council ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • Location: On a laptop
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro RTM with Media Center x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 19 November 2013 - 12:34

Aheer, I've got two questions for you, why aren't you logged in and why do you still use flash? :huh: Also, Steven could still easily change the best answer. :p



#7 MikeChipshop

MikeChipshop

    Miniman

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 02-October 06
  • OS: Win 8, Win 7, Vista, OSX, iOS, Android, WP8 and various Linux distro's
  • Phone: HTC 8X

Posted 19 November 2013 - 12:43

It's because Flash gets priority, this happens on tons of other sites too.

 
Depending on who runs your ads, Set the wmode on the flash object to transparent and the pop over will get priority

why aren't you logged in


My guess by the whole point of this thread, is he was going to log in :p

#8 Shaun N.

Shaun N.

    Perfidious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 04
  • Location: Northants, England
  • OS: Work: Windows 8/Ubuntu Home: Ubuntu

Posted 19 November 2013 - 12:57

I don't think a casual "non issue" is professional as Neowin portrays itself. I think it should be looked into - but you know, my opinion doesn't matter right



#9 OP +Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • Location: Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 7 X64 Ultimate Edition
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 Compact

Posted 19 November 2013 - 13:44

I don't think a casual "non issue" is professional as Neowin portrays itself. I think it should be looked into - but you know, my opinion doesn't matter right

it does to me, anyone who takes a minute to answer any of my questions in a non discriminating way due to my little knowledge deserves my respect :)

#10 OP +Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • Location: Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 7 X64 Ultimate Edition
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 Compact

Posted 19 November 2013 - 13:44

Aheer, I've got two questions for you, why aren't you logged in and why do you still use flash? :huh: Also, Steven could still easily change the best answer. :p

lol he did

Dammit :p

#11 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 19 November 2013 - 13:49

Depending on who runs your ads, Set the wmode on the flash object to transparent and the pop over will get priority

 
 

I think it should be looked into...


I agree with you that the issue should be looked in to, especially if MikeChipshop's suggestion would resolve the problem. But I would consider it a low priority, seeing as obviously we are still able to log in one way or another. ;)

#12 +LimeMaster92

LimeMaster92

    LippyZillaD Council ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • Location: On a laptop
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro RTM with Media Center x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 19 November 2013 - 14:09

lol he did

Dammit :p

I knew this was going to happen. :laugh:

 

On a related note: This issue should only occur if you activate the flash content for each ad as the latest version of Firefox along with other browsers block plugins by default.



#13 MikeChipshop

MikeChipshop

    Miniman

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 02-October 06
  • OS: Win 8, Win 7, Vista, OSX, iOS, Android, WP8 and various Linux distro's
  • Phone: HTC 8X

Posted 19 November 2013 - 14:15

I agree with you that the issue should be looked in to, especially if MikeChipshop's suggestion would resolve the problem. But I would consider it a low priority, seeing as obviously we are still able to log in one way or another. ;)


Should do it. Most decent ad solutions will now allow you to set the wmode on a flash object, for this exact reason. In the past they didn't, Google was one of the worst offenders.

Might also need to add a bit of z-index magic to the model pop up too, just incase. Can't tell for certain without looking at the theme files.

#14 Shaun N.

Shaun N.

    Perfidious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 04
  • Location: Northants, England
  • OS: Work: Windows 8/Ubuntu Home: Ubuntu

Posted 20 November 2013 - 10:35

 
 

I agree with you that the issue should be looked in to, especially if MikeChipshop's suggestion would resolve the problem. But I would consider it a low priority, seeing as obviously we are still able to log in one way or another. ;)

 

Marking is as a low priority issue and we will "get round to looking into it at some point" is better than disregarding it as a non issue. I've been through enough ITIL training sessions to know that letting the user think the issue is going to be looked at eventually is better than telling waving your Jedi hand and telling them there is no issue.



#15 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 56
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 20 November 2013 - 10:44

we will "get round to looking into it at some point" 

^





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!