Jump to content



Photo

AVG 2014 Vs Avast 2014 : Memory Usage.


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 22 November 2013 - 00:07

Tonight I was repairing a customers XP machine and I saw he Had AVG 2014 so I snapped a photo of the memory usage. I then uninstalled AVG Free and installed Avast and snapped another photo of the memory usage of Avast.

 

AVG Free 2014

 

nlj1.jpg

 

Total : 142 Megs

Total Processes 7

 

Avast Free 2014

 

qopz.jpg

 

Total: 7.4 Megs????

Total Processes 2




#2 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.10.14203.306

Posted 22 November 2013 - 00:15

system resource usage has been one of the defining factors for my usage of  avast for years.



#3 HoochieMamma

HoochieMamma

    Professional Hoochie™

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Melbourne, AU
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 22 November 2013 - 00:21

I always use Avast for when I do work on peoples computers. Always had issues with AVG/MSSE, 2 of the worst programs you can install on your computer.

 

Just 2 days ago I had to fix a computer that kept getting BSOD errors, thought it was RAM or the HDD, ending up being AVG! Had to use a removal tool and it booted up fine.



#4 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 22 November 2013 - 00:23

I always use Avast for when I do work on peoples computers. Always had issues with AVG/MSSE, 2 of the worst programs you can install on your computer.

 

Just 2 days ago I had to fix a computer that kept getting BSOD errors, thought it was RAM or the HDD, ending up being AVG! Had to use a removal tool and it booted up fine.

 

Most of the repair people I know SWEAR by AVG. That's all they put on their computers. In fact my competitor always had (maybe still does) XP machines in his window for sale with 512 megs of ram and AVG 2013 (then). I mean my god, does he not look at mem usage? If the AVG he is giving them is using up 142 megs out of the 512 gives the user 372 to use.



#5 helpifIcan

helpifIcan

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-September 10
  • Location: Northern Illinois

Posted 22 November 2013 - 19:44

Strange just checked my AVG and it showed one process and using 7204K.



#6 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 22 November 2013 - 19:54

 

Strange just checked my AVG and it showed one process and using 7204K.

 
tell it to show all processes.

#7 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 35
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 22 November 2013 - 20:16

I never liked our recommended avg ever.

#8 helpifIcan

helpifIcan

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-September 10
  • Location: Northern Illinois

Posted 23 November 2013 - 15:50

Yep missed that show all processes but some of those processes can be stopped they extra protection that is optional. I've been using AVG like forever, and only had issues when about 4 years ago they came out with a version that just ate the CPU & memory.

 

But each to their own.

 

Thanks for the tip I knew that but us old guye forget stuff like if I did it 2 days ago it's gone.



#9 alwaysonacoffebreak

alwaysonacoffebreak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-January 12
  • OS: Windows 10 Preview
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Posted 23 November 2013 - 16:05

Most of the repair people I know SWEAR by AVG. That's all they put on their computers. In fact my competitor always had (maybe still does) XP machines in his window for sale with 512 megs of ram and AVG 2013 (then). I mean my god, does he not look at mem usage? If the AVG he is giving them is using up 142 megs out of the 512 gives the user 372 to use.

 

Most of the "repair people" who use AVG should quit their job. No buts, not questions. The so called "repair people" should never use nor recommend free AV's in the first place, end of story. 



#10 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 23 November 2013 - 16:08

Most of the "repair people" who use AVG should quit their job. No buts, not questions. The so called "repair people" should never use nor recommend free AV's in the first place, end of story. 

 

What's wrong with Free AV's? Avast is great.



#11 alwaysonacoffebreak

alwaysonacoffebreak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-January 12
  • OS: Windows 10 Preview
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Posted 23 November 2013 - 16:16

Sure it is but as you can see Avast is not in the business to make free anti-virus as well. The free version is missing components of the paid one, as always and the "repair people" should still but their "customers" under maximum protection, free av's never offer maximum protection unless you install 2-3 other programs for the same thing one paid AV can do.



#12 badb0y

badb0y

    I'm Bad!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 10-April 09
  • Location: NY

Posted 23 November 2013 - 16:20

system resource usage has been one of the defining factors for my usage of  avast for years.

 

That factor also contribute to let a few Viruses & Trojans slip in



#13 Walid W.

Walid W.

    I love Orcinus Orca

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP
  • Phone: iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4s & HTC One

Posted 24 November 2013 - 08:38

I never liked our recommended avg ever.

+1..

IMO Microsoft is much better.. And if you are buying ESET is the best. :)



#14 John.D

John.D

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 10-November 09

Posted 24 November 2013 - 09:19

Had MSE on these the latest version. It doubled the time it took to get into windows. With it installed it took a min 5 for it to get to the desktop. Without it 32 secs. Byebye MSE.

 

At first, i thought the prob was with the netbook, since its not that fast (1.6 ghz). But, it was just as slow on a 2.4 / 2.8 system.



#15 +Jack Unterweger

Jack Unterweger

    in linux i trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 03
  • OS: Snapshot-Linux x64 1149 0.5
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 November 2013 - 09:22

:rofl:  microsoft... first mainstreaming an os which is unsafe per default and open to all trojans and viruses and then offering an anti virus software for it :D  do they still want money for their suite? :rofl: