Jump to content



Photo

Weird hard drives problem.


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 R1pper

R1pper

    In Search Of The (Difficult) Truth.

  • Joined: 03-May 07
  • Location: Facing World, MHL.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 11:57

since i installed SSD, everytime i restart my pc, i get this annoying problem:

 

1 i choose restart, the system goes into restart

2 my 3 HDD turned off.

3 my 3 HDD turned on.

4 my 3 HDD turned off.

5 restart.

 

 

i never had this before, and i dont know what to do, anyone has an idea on how to fix it?




#2 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 90
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 13:40

What does

my 3 HDD turned off

mean?? At a loss here, love to help but not understanding what your issue is.

#3 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 22 November 2013 - 13:42

Hello,

What does

my 3 HDD turned off

mean?? At a loss here, love to help but not understanding what your issue is.

I felt stupid for a second but since you dont understand either, now I feel great :D

#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 90
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 13:46

Best I can make out is it sounds like he has to restart his machine twice.. But not sure why ;) His boot order is not right maybe? Just guessing?

"my 3 HDD turned off"

Google translate fail maybe? ;) This is not twitter, you can use as many words as needed to accurately describe your issue so that we can help you..

#5 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 22 November 2013 - 13:49

What does

my 3 HDD turned off

mean?? At a loss here, love to help but not understanding what your issue is.

 

He has three hard drives, they go off, then on, then off, then the computer restarts.... I think  :laugh:

 

Not sure why a new SSD would cause such behavior though. Is the SSD firmware updated?



#6 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 22 November 2013 - 13:50

Hello,

Best I can make out is it sounds like he has to restart his machine twice.. But not sure why ;)

"my 3 HDD turned off"

Google translate fail maybe? ;) This is not twitter, you can use as many words as needed to accurately describe your issue so that we can help you..

Id bet on this :p Lets see whos right...

Id say he tried to restart his computer, (somehow or way) he knows his third hard drive turned off, it turned back on, then it turned back off again, and restarted (automatically) his PC again and now it is stuck in a loop.

BudMan 1$ TIE 3$ riahc3 7$

Place your bets everyone.

#7 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 22 November 2013 - 13:51

Hello,

He has three hard drives, they go off, then on, then off, then the computer restarts.... I think  :laugh:
 
Not sure why a new SSD would cause such behavior though. Is the SSD firmware updated?


My odds at winning the bet increase :shifty:



#8 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 22 November 2013 - 16:38

Yeah, pretty sure he is saying they spin down, spin up, spin down



#9 Decebalvs Rex

Decebalvs Rex

    Transylvanian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-March 12
  • Location: Romania

Posted 22 November 2013 - 16:46

Be careful around data loss , back everything up and update your drivers. Check your bios settings related to your HDD's and their order in the boot list. Run SFC/SCANNOW in CMD and check for any programs wich could keep your hard disks busy . Good luck !



#10 OP R1pper

R1pper

    In Search Of The (Difficult) Truth.

  • Joined: 03-May 07
  • Location: Facing World, MHL.

Posted 23 November 2013 - 15:56

He has three hard drives, they go off, then on, then off, then the computer restarts.... I think  :laugh:

 

Not sure why a new SSD would cause such behavior though. Is the SSD firmware updated?

 

guys, we found him! bring the reward in!

:D

 

 

for those who didn't understand, sorry if i wasn't clear enough.

 

il try to make it right, here goes:

 

since i migrated to SSD, the other HDD's, spin off, on, off, everytime i restart the computer.

to be clearer: HDD's = 7200 WD, not the SSD.

 

how can i solve it?

 

and yes, firmware updated.

 

i really think its OS related, i just dont know how to fix it.



#11 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 90
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 23 November 2013 - 16:01

I am not understanding your issue - no **** if you reboot your machine your HDD should cycle?

What are you expecting should happen?

Unless your using the drive, why shouldn't it spin down? So if you boot up OS off of X, and you have other drives in the system Y and Z.. Why do you think Y and Z should not spin down if your booting off X??

#12 OP R1pper

R1pper

    In Search Of The (Difficult) Truth.

  • Joined: 03-May 07
  • Location: Facing World, MHL.

Posted 23 November 2013 - 16:37

bud thank u for replying, but i need a solution.

 

for the last time il explain, everytime i restart.( start -> restart)

3 HDD turn off, then on then off, then my pc restart.

 

never had this situation, never saw it, its begun since i moved to SSD.

 

i wish icould solve it.

 

if anyone here think its normal, then your wrong.



#13 +cyoung1616

cyoung1616

    12 Year Veteran. 2001-2013

  • Joined: 06-October 01
  • Location: Texarkana,Arkansas
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro

Posted 23 November 2013 - 16:47

Yeah, I'm lost too...

 

Cody



#14 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 23 November 2013 - 19:20

Check the HD settings in your BIOS, it's possible that adding the SSD caused it to automatically change other settings. 



#15 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 23 November 2013 - 20:56

Try Linux (or more seriously you could attempt to verify whether it is an OS issue by seeing if a LiveCD of Linux has the issue just to see if you can pin down the location of the issue a bit).