Jump to content



Photo

Help a non-gamer build a gaming rig...?

Answered Go to the full post game rig new build

  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 TrickyDickie

TrickyDickie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-December 10
  • Location: Somerset, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 24 November 2013 - 23:10

I have decided to build a "gaming rig", but thre problem is that I'm no gamer, so I would greatly appreciate any advice you could give me.

Also, I will probably not ever want to overclock - I just really want to play GTA IV and GTA V when (/if!) it comes to PC, and just use the PC for PC-like things.

 

I have compiled a list of stuff that I think I want (OK, I copied it from some gaming rig specs I found, but it looks good enough) - Could you give me your opinions as to whether it is good enough, or over-kill, and whether all of the parts 'match' nicely?

 

 

I will recycle (as in re-use!) the following (unless advised otherwise):

 

2x Samsung SSD, which are in RAID-0 (Or striped, whichever that one is) - That's 2x128GB that I use for the system drive.
My 800-watt "WinPower Plus" PSU
My LG DVD reader / writer (Are games still on DVDs...?!)
My InWin DragonSlayer gaming case.
16 GB of Corsair Vengance RAM (4x4)

 

I will get the following (again, unless advised otherwise)

Asus MAXIMUS VI GENE Intel Z87 Socket 1150 Motherboard
Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Socket 1150 Quad Core Haswell
NH-U9B-SE2 - Noctua NH-U9B SE2 Dual Fan Quiet CPU Cooler
EVGA GeForce GTX 770 Superclocked ACX Nvidia Graphics Card

 

(This might be a good time to mention that that InWin case is mATX...)

 

As for budget - well, because I really only want these games, I want to spend the least possible to get something that will play 'em with good settings. In my current rig, I had an ATI Radeon HD5450 1GB card, and had to lower all of the in-game settings alot to make it playable. (Also, the current PC is AMD

based)

 

I was also thingking of getting 3 "Seagate 3TB Performance" SATA 3 Hard Drives so I could use this Storage Spaces thing in Windows 8 with mirroring / parity, but the PSU only has 3 sata and 4 four-pin Molex power connecters, and there are 3 case fans that have molex power plugs, so I was thinking about

getting a converterer to allow me to power 2 or 3 case fans from a single plug.

 

I don't think this will be a problem for air flow - the case has a fan in front of the 3-bay hdd space, and a 12-cm fan above that with nothing in the way.

 

Anyone use Storage Spaces? Good / bad?

 

Also, the PSU has 2 six-pin pcie plugs, and the new card wants 1 six-pin and 1 eight-pin - It looks like it comes with some converters, so I can use the existing 2 six-pin plugs in a converter to the eight-pin, and 2 molex for the other.

This means that I may have to double-up power on some other stuff (like the case fans, as mentioned above) - will I have any problems with this? 

I think that is all there is to say for now, though no doubt I've missed out loads of stuff!

Thanks for at least reading this!

 

 



Best Answer +Majesticmerc , 25 November 2013 - 21:38

Ok, I think I've got it sussed now...
 
Getting the following
- EVGA GeForce GTX 770 Superclocked ACX Nvidia Graphics Card
- Gigabyte GA-Z87MX-D3H Intel Z87 Socket 1150 Motherboard - I like the look
of it lol
- Intel Core i5-4670K - Who knows, I may get brave and try overclocking in
the future, and it is only £10 difference.
- That mounting kit so I can re-use my existing cooler. (That chip package
is without cooler)
- The EVGA 120-PG-0650-GR SuperNova NEX 650W Power Supply - More than
enough connecters already, so I won't have to worry about splitters!
- Maybe three 3-TB HDD for this Storage Spaces idea of mine. Still unsure there!
 
And will reuse the case, SSDs (though I might remove one so I don't need
to do any RAID), RAM and cooler (with the above-mentioned mounting kit).
 
Seem OK?
 
Thanks a lot for all of your input on this. 


Seems good to me! The only thing I'll comment on is that I don't think you need to RAID 0 your SSDs. You won't see any significant difference in speed (SSDs are already crazy quick) and 256GB of very fast storage will be much more useful to you than 128GB of extremely fast storage.

If you're unsure about your 3TB "storage spaces" thing you want to try, how about sticking with one 3TB drive for now, and then add additional drives as you need them. You'll save a good £160, and you can still spend that money if you need it later :) Go to the full post



#2 bnelsonjax

bnelsonjax

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-August 13

Posted 24 November 2013 - 23:15

Storage spaces are fine, but what are you using for Raid 0 (you mentioned doing mirroring/stripping) I don't recommend software raid if you plan to use it for gaming. 



#3 OP TrickyDickie

TrickyDickie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-December 10
  • Location: Somerset, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 24 November 2013 - 23:19

The 2 SSDs are (currently) set up striped, and is the system drive.

I was thinking of just keeping it like that. With a good backup, of course!

I would use the 3TB drives for Storage Spaces.

Any games would be on the system (SSD) drives, of course.

 

Storage spaces are fine, but what are you using for Raid 0 (you mentioned doing mirroring/stripping) I don't recommend software raid if you plan to use it for gaming. 



#4 bnelsonjax

bnelsonjax

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-August 13

Posted 24 November 2013 - 23:31

The 2 SSDs are (currently) set up striped, and is the system drive.

 

Setup by what? Windows or a raid controller card? Using windows to perform raid functionality can/will cause reduced drive performance because you are allowing the OS to perform the raid operations itself. You want to offload those operations by utilizing a raid controller card.



#5 OP TrickyDickie

TrickyDickie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-December 10
  • Location: Somerset, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 24 November 2013 - 23:36

Yeah, sorry - it's hardware raid, set up in the BIOS.

 

Setup by what? Windows or a raid controller card? Using windows to perform raid functionality can/will cause reduced drive performance because you are allowing the OS to perform the raid operations itself. You want to offload those operations by utilizing a raid controller card.



#6 bnelsonjax

bnelsonjax

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-August 13

Posted 24 November 2013 - 23:40

sounds good then, i really like your choice in the mobo. And I have that same video card and it works well for casual/hardcore gaming. For your budget, i think you will come out with a nice system, you can always replace some of the used parts as you come into more money down the road.



#7 +PeterUK

PeterUK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 26-March 07

Posted 25 November 2013 - 01:37

You may(best that you should) have to redo your RAID and reinstall your OS for this new setup.

 

I'm not overly sure about your PSU or if its 80% Efficiency on power output.

 

The Motherboard does not have to be too high end to do everything you could possibly need a GIGABYTE GA-Z87MX-D3H or ASUS GRYPHON.

 

If your not going to overclock get the Intel Core i5-4670

 

Is the RAM you have now DDR3?



#8 Snake89

Snake89

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-July 04

Posted 25 November 2013 - 01:53

To save yourself a few more dollars, you could just get a GTX760 instead of the GTX770.

you will also still get 2 free games "Splinter cell: Black list, and Assassin's Creed IV".



#9 Juguard

Juguard

    ...

  • Joined: 11-August 02
  • Location: Tustin CA

Posted 25 November 2013 - 02:06

You should go with an i7.  And your building yourself a gaming rig but you're not a gamer?  What are you going to do with it?  Also, unless you are using programs that take advantage of a Raid system, i dont think its worth it just for games.  Game FPS does not improve with RAID, you'll only notice a slight faster loading times.



#10 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 25 November 2013 - 02:08

Stick with the stock cooler, there is no point in buying after market coolers unless you plan to overclock your CPU for some reason (please don't do this).



#11 Juguard

Juguard

    ...

  • Joined: 11-August 02
  • Location: Tustin CA

Posted 25 November 2013 - 02:10

Stick with the stock cooler, there is no point in buying after market coolers unless you plan to overclock your CPU for some reason (please don't do this).

he seems to want to get the unlocked CPU, so why shouldn't he overclock?  He doesn't have to achive a record, but he can definitely overclock it a bit without any harm



#12 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 25 November 2013 - 02:14

You should go with an i7.  And your building yourself a gaming rig but you're not a gamer?  What are you going to do with it?  Also, unless you are using programs that take advantage of a Raid system, i dont think its worth it just for games.  Game FPS does not improve with RAID, you'll only notice a slight faster loading times.

 

Game FPS don't really improve with i7s either. IDK why this myth is circulating that they do. There are almost no games that will peg a cpu and the HT in the i7 ain't getting you much even if you do manage to find something that does. If you were going to do anything, it would be better to purchase a higher-clocked i5 than to go to an i7 because that stands more chance to give you better single-core performance if you do manage to peg some cores.

 

EDIT: scratch that, that's bad advice. If you were going to do anything, you should keep the i5 you have and shell out more cash on the GPU. That's going to give you more FPS for the money.



#13 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 25 November 2013 - 02:16

he seems to want to get the unlocked CPU, so why shouldn't he overclock?  He doesn't have to achive a record, but he can definitely overclock it a bit without any harm

 

Because he is buying a system for gaming and over-clocking the CPU is going to be basically useless in terms of FPS for such a scenario. It is also worth noting that he is unlikely to be doing CPU intensive loads regardless (just as most people are unlikely to be doing CPU intensive loads)...



#14 Juguard

Juguard

    ...

  • Joined: 11-August 02
  • Location: Tustin CA

Posted 25 November 2013 - 02:22

Because he is buying a system for gaming and over-clocking the CPU is going to be basically useless in terms of FPS for such a scenario. It is also worth noting that he is unlikely to be doing CPU intensive loads regardless (just as most people are)...

Really depends on the application.  Try playing Flight Simulator X on an i5 with everything maxed out. i7 will achieve better FPS results in AAA games that take advantage of it, but is it really worth 5 to 10 etc frames?  It depends how you feel about it.



#15 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 25 November 2013 - 02:34

Really depends on the application.  Try playing Flight Simulator X on an i5 with everything maxed out. i7 will achieve better FPS results in AAA games that take advantage of it, but is it really worth 5 to 10 etc frames?  It depends how you feel about it.

 

Yup, that's my point- you have to pick out a contrived handful of games to see a benefit. There are some RTS games where you can have battles with thousands of units that will also see benefits -- but at the end of the day The majority of modern games won't see any difference in FPS. For example, if you throw any modern shooter at it, you aren't going to see any benefit from throwing an i7 into the mix. This is one reason why the XBone and PS4 both opted to have what amount to netbook AMD cores (read as: low-end cores).

 

And as I said before, you might as well find a higher clocked i5 at that rate because the HT on the i7 isn't going to be giving you much of anything; especially since games are unlikely to over-subscribe threads.

 

EDIT: For example, I run a 2600k and get worse performance than my brother's i5 in the various tests we have done because the only thing that really matter once you have a sufficiently decent CPU and system memory bandwidth is the GPU. That is where the bottleneck is at.