Jump to content



Photo

(UK) BT HomeHub 5 - Home Network problem

bt homehub 5 home network problem uk

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 +mulligan2k

mulligan2k

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-February 04

Posted 26 November 2013 - 17:30

as the title says since upgrading to bt infinity i received the new bt homehub 5 which works fine for the internet, but now i cant see other pc's on my home network

ive only got two i'm interested in sharing with, my downstairs win7 pc and win7 laptop.

as far as i know both are set up correctly - both network connections are set to 'home', drive sharing allowed, all the check boxes for sharing. ive tried with and without a homegroup setup

 

interestingly, i plugged my old home hub 3 router, connected both my pc and laptop wirelessly to it - and i can see and access each other fine

switch back to the new router and they disappear!

 

i cant seem to find any related options on the router setup page - ive tried disabling the firewall - and a google search is coming up blank

 

 

any ideas out there? or experience with a home hub 5?

 

 

thanks in advance

 

phil

 




#2 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Times a Ticking

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 26 November 2013 - 18:32

I was going to say post on the BT forum but I just had a look and they dont support file sharing questions.......

Id double check your settings,are you getting a request for the file sharing password from windows or is it they are not showing under network sharing?



#3 manroweb

manroweb

    Lover of all things tech

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-April 02
  • Location: Swindon UK

Posted 26 November 2013 - 19:13

Can you tell us more on how your devices are connected to the network? Maybe a network map?

 

Which devices are wired? Which are wireless?

 

Is there a setting to turn off wireless isolation?

Are you using 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz? I think some of the older homehubs had an option to sync the 2 SSID's?

 

Are you sure you are connected to your SSID(s) and not the BT open SSID?



#4 OP +mulligan2k

mulligan2k

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-February 04

Posted 26 November 2013 - 19:17

I was going to say post on the BT forum but I just had a look and they dont support file sharing questions.......

Id double check your settings,are you getting a request for the file sharing password from windows or is it they are not showing under network sharing?

 

i found this thread on the bt support site - same issues as me

 

http://community.bt....rk/td-p/1088180

 

not showing at all

 

 

Can you tell us more on how your devices are connected to the network? Maybe a network map?

 

Which devices are wired? Which are wireless?

 

Is there a setting to turn off wireless isolation?

Are you using 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz? I think some of the older homehubs had an option to sync the 2 SSID's?

 

Are you sure you are connected to your SSID(s) and not the BT open SSID?

 

just my laptop and pc both wireless connections to the router, just trying to see each other

 

no wireless isolation option i can see

both connected through 2.4, tried with 2.4 and 5ghz sync'd and with the 5ghz on a diff ssid to make sure im not connected to it

 

both connected through the hub ssid not bt open wifi



#5 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Times a Ticking

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 26 November 2013 - 20:13

Are you showing the Home Hub media gateway in Network [as per image]?

 

84ba411372d389cb3c95604a60c2e0bc.png



#6 manroweb

manroweb

    Lover of all things tech

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-April 02
  • Location: Swindon UK

Posted 26 November 2013 - 20:17

i found this thread on the bt support site - same issues as me

 

http://community.bt....rk/td-p/1088180

 

not showing at all

 

 

 

just my laptop and pc both wireless connections to the router, just trying to see each other

 

no wireless isolation option i can see

both connected through 2.4, tried with 2.4 and 5ghz sync'd and with the 5ghz on a diff ssid to make sure im not connected to it

 

both connected through the hub ssid not bt open wifi

 

 

Looks like a similar problem.

 

Are you able to ping your devices on the network?

 

Can laptop ping router?

Can PC ping router?

Can laptop ping PC?

Can PC ping laptop?



#7 OP +mulligan2k

mulligan2k

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-February 04

Posted 26 November 2013 - 22:01

Are you showing the Home Hub media gateway in Network [as per image]?

 

84ba411372d389cb3c95604a60c2e0bc.png

 

 

yep, comes up as home hub 5.0A

 

(notice they've dropped the 'media gateway' which also comes up on my old home hub 3.0)

 

Looks like a similar problem.

 

Are you able to ping your devices on the network?

 

Can laptop ping router?

Can PC ping router?

Can laptop ping PC?

Can PC ping laptop?

 

laptop and pc can both ping themselves and router, however neither can ping each other - gets a 'destination host unreachable'



#8 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 26 November 2013 - 22:05

Sounds like a firewall issue. Disable your firewall on you computer and try again.

#9 OP +mulligan2k

mulligan2k

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-February 04

Posted 26 November 2013 - 22:10

Sounds like a firewall issue. Disable your firewall on you computer and try again.

 

tried on both (at the same time), no change

 

only windows firewall running, nothing extra

 

also the firewall on the router is off



#10 OP +mulligan2k

mulligan2k

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-February 04

Posted 26 November 2013 - 22:13

http://community.bt....ght/true#M57502

 

http://community.bt....p/927990#M57766

 

 

similar problems that seem to suggest the new bt home hubs are not dlna (or home file sharing) compliant



#11 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Times a Ticking

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 26 November 2013 - 23:49

Looks like you may need to temporarily fit a four port wireless hub prior to this device until they respond to customer feedback by updating the firmware



#12 OP +mulligan2k

mulligan2k

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-February 04

Posted 27 November 2013 - 00:19

Looks like you may need to temporarily fit a four port wireless hub prior to this device until they respond to customer feedback by updating the firmware

 

thinking along the same lines, im waiting on a customer services reply about supplying me with the white openreach box that allows the home hub 3 ive still got to connect to bt infinity - the new home hub 5 is built in. sadly i moved house and bt said to leave the box at the old property. worse case theres some on ebay for about £15



#13 manroweb

manroweb

    Lover of all things tech

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-April 02
  • Location: Swindon UK

Posted 27 November 2013 - 08:10

yep, comes up as home hub 5.0A

 

(notice they've dropped the 'media gateway' which also comes up on my old home hub 3.0)

 

 

laptop and pc can both ping themselves and router, however neither can ping each other - gets a 'destination host unreachable'

 

Can they ping each other on your old router?

I still think you have wireless isolation turned on.



#14 OP +mulligan2k

mulligan2k

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-February 04

Posted 27 November 2013 - 11:53

Can they ping each other on your old router?

I still think you have wireless isolation turned on.

 

they ping each other fine on the old home hub 3 router

 

i agree some kind of 'wireless isolation setting' must be enabled somewhere, but i cant see an option to turn it off on the router page

 

suspect its a new security feature since BT are pushing customers to add their home wifi to BT's wifi network



#15 manroweb

manroweb

    Lover of all things tech

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-April 02
  • Location: Swindon UK

Posted 27 November 2013 - 13:30

Do you have "always assign the same ip" set on your wireless devices? If so try unchecking it, and reboot router.

 

On previous generations of BT Home Hub's this caused issues with ping/file sharing.