7 posts in this topic

After first-week observations and fan feedback, Forza Motorsport 5 developer Turn 10 has announced changes to the economy in Forza 5 are incoming.

However, while the studio finalises these changes the team has implemented several programs in the meantime to tide fans over.

 

From this Friday we?ll receive a 50 per cent discount (credits or tokens) on any and every car in the game. The discount will be available between 12:01am PT Friday, November 29 (Friday, November 29 7:01pm AEDT/Friday, November 29 8:01am GMT) and 11:59pm PT Sunday, December 1 (Monday, December 2 6:59pm AEDT/ Monday, December 2 7:59am GMT) and is available to all players.

 

If you?re a Forza Motorsport 5 VIP member, you?ll be gifted the 2013 Lotus E21 F1 car. If you?ve already purchased the E21 you?ll be gifted the 1962 Ferrari 250 GTO. The E21 and the ?62 Ferrari cost 6,000,000 credits each in-game and are the two most expensive cars in Forza 5. We?re warned that this could take up to the 24 hours or more to occur.

 

More...

 

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is great news.

Turn 10 listens to its fans. I hope anyone that was having an issue will be pleased with Turn 10's attention.

More developers need to take note.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its not an Xbox thing, its game industry thing. Just look at GT6. That story may only be talking about some X1 launch titles, but no one can claim this is some MS/Xbox deal. Its all over the place.

The point of this thread is that Turn 10 are stepping up and trying to fix things after we the gamers said something.

I really don't think issues with a couple games should deter anyone from a console, especially one that just launched.

I will say this about that article, I didn't even think twice about the micro transactions in Ryse. Honestly, when I played that game, I had no idea that was even in the game. If your just working through the game and leveling up your character, you don't even run into the options for buying booster packs, etc. I did notice them when trying out the gladiator mode, but I never gave them a second though. That was still fun to play in coop.

I definitely think that we should keep on any developers that try to do this stuff though. As long as more of them act like Turn 10, maybe we can keep this from showing up more.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You have to remember games this generation cost 2-10 times as much to develop due to higher costs for art assets, sounds, animations, writing, voice over, research, accurate scanning and recreation., licensing of animation engines for accurate dynamic movement and so on.

Games today have Hollywood blockbuster movie budgets. To avoid increasing the cost of the games, a simple solution is to add micro transactions to get more money from rich kids with ADHD who think the point of a game is to finish as fast as possible and get all the good weapons right away. Meanwhile the rest of us can adjust enjoy the games.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Very happy feedback has forced them to do this.

 

The system they have gone with will kill the game otherwise.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.