Jump to content



Photo

Will this SSD work with my Mobo?

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 29 November 2013 - 09:23

http://www.bol.com/n...00000011499960/

 

I see it comes with an adapter, and I have €7.50 discount (until Dec 2) which makes it a good time to switch.

 

I have a ASUS PK5-E Wi-Fi motherboard (I know it's old) but no need to upgrade yet as I don't use it for gaming.

 

I basically want it just to use for the OS. What else would I need, does it come with a cable etc?



Best Answer MindTrickz , 29 November 2013 - 09:33

http://www.bol.com/n...00000011499960/

 

I see it comes with an adapter, and I have €7.50 discount (until Dec 2) which makes it a good time to switch.

 

I have a ASUS PK5-E Wi-Fi motherboard (I know it's old) but no need to upgrade yet as I don't use it for gaming.

 

I basically want it just to use for the OS. What else would I need, does it come with a cable etc?

 

 

You're looking at a SATA 6 SDD (the 6 stands for the maximum transfer speed of the device. 6 Gbit/s - 600 MB/s), and your motherboard only supports SATA 3 (3 Gbit/s - 300 MB/s). SATA 6 is backwards compatiable, so you should be able to use that SDD on your motherboard, but it will bottleneck the performance and speed of the SDD.

 

Here is a benchmark of the SSD you're looking at. As you can see, it has a avarage write speed of 452 MB/s, and you motherboad has a SATA board only supporting up to 300 MB/s.

 

5593_53_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.pn

Go to the full post



#2 MindTrickz

MindTrickz

    That's no way to treat a lady!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 03
  • Location: Europe:

Posted 29 November 2013 - 09:33   Best Answer

http://www.bol.com/n...00000011499960/

 

I see it comes with an adapter, and I have €7.50 discount (until Dec 2) which makes it a good time to switch.

 

I have a ASUS PK5-E Wi-Fi motherboard (I know it's old) but no need to upgrade yet as I don't use it for gaming.

 

I basically want it just to use for the OS. What else would I need, does it come with a cable etc?

 

 

You're looking at a SATA 6 SDD (the 6 stands for the maximum transfer speed of the device. 6 Gbit/s - 600 MB/s), and your motherboard only supports SATA 3 (3 Gbit/s - 300 MB/s). SATA 6 is backwards compatiable, so you should be able to use that SDD on your motherboard, but it will bottleneck the performance and speed of the SDD.

 

Here is a benchmark of the SSD you're looking at. As you can see, it has a avarage write speed of 452 MB/s, and you motherboad has a SATA board only supporting up to 300 MB/s.

 

5593_53_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.pn



#3 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 29 November 2013 - 09:36

Yeah I'm not bothered with that.. I'll still be able to use it when I eventually upgrade the PC :) I''m just wondering if when I get it I can install it as is, or if I need to buy a cable or something :p The adapter allows it to be installed in a bay I presume?



#4 He's Dead Jim

He's Dead Jim

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 10

Posted 29 November 2013 - 09:43

Yeah I'm not bothered with that.. I'll still be able to use it when I eventually upgrade the PC :) I''m just wondering if when I get it I can install it as is, or if I need to buy a cable or something :p The adapter allows it to be installed in a bay I presume?

Hard to tell from the web page above, but the amazon listed version shows this;

 

http://www.amazon.co...#productDetails

Box Contains

2.5-inch (7mm) SSD
9.5mm adapter

 



#5 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 29 November 2013 - 09:43

It'll work just like any other SATA harddrive.

 

Just plug it in. I doubt it will come with a cable, but you should have one from your existing harddrive, and if not, I'm sure someone nearby will have (a hundred) spare.

 

You need Windows 7 as a minimum and 8 is preferred.



#6 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 29 November 2013 - 09:46

You're looking at a SATA 6 SDD (the 6 stands for the maximum transfer speed of the device. 6 Gbit/s - 600 MB/s), and your motherboard only supports SATA 3 (3 Gbit/s - 300 MB/s). SATA 6 is backwards compatiable, so you should be able to use that SDD on your motherboard, but it will bottleneck the performance and speed of the SDD.

 

Here is a benchmark of the SSD you're looking at. As you can see, it has a avarage write speed of 452 MB/s, and you motherboad has a SATA board only supporting up to 300 MB/s.

 

5593_53_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.pn

 

Just because the SDD supports the Sata 6 standard, doesn't mean it's actually capable of that performance.  as you say it supports "up to" 452MBps (3000/8=375, so if the SATA 3 is 3GB then it's 375MB)so while he loses a theoretic 80MB of performance, it's still far faster than a mechanical disk, most of the perofrmance benefit has nothign to do with that speed, but rather the seek time anyway.

 

so yes it will benefit a lot. 



#7 MindTrickz

MindTrickz

    That's no way to treat a lady!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 03
  • Location: Europe:

Posted 29 November 2013 - 09:50

Yeah I'm not bothered with that.. I'll still be able to use it when I eventually upgrade the PC :) I''m just wondering if when I get it I can install it as is, or if I need to buy a cable or something :p The adapter allows it to be installed in a bay I presume?

 

No, you should be able to use your regular SATA cables on the SDD. This homepage tested the cables and concluded:

 

 

"In conclusion, our testing has agreed 100% with SATA-IO's statement that SATA 3Gb/s cables will work perfectly fine with SATA 6Gb/s drives.  This wasn't much of a surprise to us, but it is always nice to have hard data backing up a claim."

 

Regarding the install bay. If your case does not have SDD mounts, you might have to buy a SSD bay.



#8 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 29 November 2013 - 09:57

Just because the SDD supports the Sata 6 standard, doesn't mean it's actually capable of that performance.  as you say it supports "up to" 452MBps (3000/8=375, so if the SATA 3 is 3GB then it's 375MB)so while he loses a theoretic 80MB of performance, it's still far faster than a mechanical disk, most of the perofrmance benefit has nothign to do with that speed, but rather the seek time anyway.

 

so yes it will benefit a lot. 

 

and a lot of SATA6 controllers on early mobos are pretty ###### anyway. I still run my SSDs on SATA3 because my SATA6 ports aren't very good.



#9 MindTrickz

MindTrickz

    That's no way to treat a lady!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 03
  • Location: Europe:

Posted 29 November 2013 - 10:00

Just because the SDD supports the Sata 6 standard, doesn't mean it's actually capable of that performance.  as you say it supports "up to" 452MBps (3000/8=375, so if the SATA 3 is 3GB then it's 375MB)so while he loses a theoretic 80MB of performance, it's still far faster than a mechanical disk, most of the perofrmance benefit has nothign to do with that speed, but rather the seek time anyway.

 

so yes it will benefit a lot. 

 

I don't think that is correct. SATA 3 has a maximum uncoded transfer rate is 2.4 Gbit/s (300 MB/s). That is the maximum. So he would losing 152 MB/s in write speed.

 

SATA 3 (6Gb/s) speeds are from 301MB/s to 600MB/s.
SATA 2 (3Gb/s) speeds are from 151MB/s to 300MB/s.
SATA 1 (1.5Gb/s) speeds are from 1MB/s to 150MB/s.

 

And you are correct in that it will be faster than the mechanical HDD. I was only laying out all the details for him before he made the purchase. But as he said, he will buy the SSD now and use it until he upgrades his PC.



#10 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 29 November 2013 - 10:17

Cheers, it answered my question, I found it cheaper elsewhere too as the discount didn't apply to external vendors http://mycom.nl/comp...ston-v300-120gb they don't sell ssd bays ??? :s but there's a computer shop down the road from me so I'll have a look there tomorrow.



#11 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 29 November 2013 - 10:42

Tape it in..

 

A lot of builders (myself included) tape the drive in to deal with the stupid size and leaving extra space for more drives.



#12 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 29 November 2013 - 10:42

Cheers, it answered my question, I found it cheaper elsewhere too as the discount didn't apply to external vendors http://mycom.nl/comp...ston-v300-120gb they don't sell ssd bays ??? confused.gif but there's a computer shop down the road from me so I'll have a look there tomorrow.

 

if you mean mounting brackets, you should not be spending more than $5 for it. And the brand doesn't need to match. Just get the cheapest one.



#13 DaveGreen93

DaveGreen93

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-March 12
  • Location: Forest of Dean, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 29 November 2013 - 10:50

Cheers, it answered my question, I found it cheaper elsewhere too as the discount didn't apply to external vendors http://mycom.nl/comp...ston-v300-120gb they don't sell ssd bays ??? :s but there's a computer shop down the road from me so I'll have a look there tomorrow.

 

Yeah I didn't bother with a tray at all in my build, instead I just placed the SSD sideways in the cable compartment section of the case, there's no moving parts so sound isn't going to be an issue where you place it.



#14 yowanvista

yowanvista

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-February 10
  • Location: Mauritius
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit
  • Phone: i9001-CM12-5.0.1 - Kernel 3.4.105

Posted 29 November 2013 - 10:52

You could also get a SATA3 PCIe expansion card if the speed loss matters to you.

#15 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 29 November 2013 - 10:59

Cheers for all the responses. It will be much quicker than the SATA drive anyway :)