Jump to content



Photo

looking for a NAS


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#46 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 01 December 2013 - 16:31

And what flavor of MS SQL do you want to run? It sure is not Cheap unless your talking express version which is free, free will run on pretty much any windows OS. If your talking "standard" or developer versions those also run on just windows - does not have to be server version.


#47 OP ultimate99

ultimate99

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 02
  • Location: ON, Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 01 December 2013 - 16:32

If you want to run MS SQL, you could do that with MS SQL Express I believe, and that will run on XP and up I believe, but there are limitations, the full blown MS SQL and Windows Server is going to cost you +$1000 just in software.

I only need MS SQL Express.



#48 OP ultimate99

ultimate99

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 02
  • Location: ON, Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 01 December 2013 - 16:37

And what flavor of MS SQL do you want to run? It sure is not Cheap unless your talking express version which is free, free will run on pretty much any windows OS. If your talking "standard" or developer versions those also run on just windows - does not have to be server version.

MS SQL Server. So I can install Windows 7 Pro on the server and use it as a regular pc environment?



#49 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 01 December 2013 - 17:01

Sure you can. Why not? SQL Express runs on windows 7.

#50 OP ultimate99

ultimate99

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 02
  • Location: ON, Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 01 December 2013 - 17:17

So from the discussion I now understand that the microserver would be more flexible than a synology, in terms of which OS I choose to install, how I want it to function, whether running sql express, backup or a media server. I would also need an extra pci card if I want to access it remotely.

 

I think the complexity of the server + its advantages outweighs the simplicity of synology...



#51 OP ultimate99

ultimate99

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 02
  • Location: ON, Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 02 December 2013 - 22:26

Hi again, what could be a good pair of 8gb ram for the HP microserver? Or should I wait and see how things will perform with 2gb?



#52 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 02 December 2013 - 22:29

Extra pci card to access remotely?  What?  You mean the MicroServer Remote Access Card?

You do not need that.. Unless you want it, but in a home it makes little sense, enterprise or company - ok for out of band access.

Comes down to what OS you put on it, etc.

edit: as to ram - what are you going to do with it.. 2GB might be enough, if your going to run virtual machines on it with a hypervisor like esxi or microsoft then yeah your prob going to want more ;)

#53 +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 06 December 2013 - 00:41

I agree on Synology. I have A 1511+ with an expansion module for 30TB of data. The web based interface is first rate too.

#54 OP ultimate99

ultimate99

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 02
  • Location: ON, Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 09 December 2013 - 15:25

Hi again,

 

I have access to Windows Server 2012 R2 and 2008 R2, but which one to install?

 

My main goal is data storage and play with MS SQL Server (i have access to SQL Server 2014 and 2012, as well).



#55 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 09 December 2013 - 15:27

i dont see a reason not to go w/ 2012 R2...