Jump to content



Photo

can I replace Laptop HDD with SSD?

ssd hdd replace hp

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 02 December 2013 - 02:10

I knew this is noob question

 

I found this samsung SSD and think it is all right .

 

Can I replace my HDD in this HP Laptop with this SSD?

 

What are you ideas for the HDD?




#2 ClassicTrekker

ClassicTrekker

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-April 12

Posted 02 December 2013 - 02:14

The main thing is, will the SSD drive fit in the same bay as your laptop's HDD?



#3 +Anarkii

Anarkii

    Member N° 1,455

  • Joined: 02-October 01
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.2 Pro (8.1 Update 1)
  • Phone: iPhone 5, iOS 7.0.6 JB

Posted 02 December 2013 - 02:17

Generally speaking yes you can, and its a very simple process. Just firstly check that the drive bay is 2.5 inches and if it is, your good to go. Simply plug in the SSD and your ready to go.

Looking at the specs of the laptop, you should have no worries updating it with a SSD.



#4 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Home & Work)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 02 December 2013 - 02:18

The specs of the hard drive connection aren't on that page but I've had an HP laptop and it had a SATA 2.5" hard drive.  I would open it up and double check.  Laptops are pretty easy to access the hard drive.  The SSD should fit right in.



#5 OP medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 02 December 2013 - 02:26

 

 

(S)ATA/ATAPI Drives        

Hitachi HTS547575A9E384         [General Information]   Drive Controller: Serial ATA 3Gb/s @ 3Gb/s   Drive Model: Hitachi HTS547575A9E384   Drive Revision: JE4OA50A   Drive Serial Number: J2190054D3ASKD   World Wide Name: 5000CCA63FCF9D02   Drive Capacity: 715,404 MBytes (750 GB)   Drive Capacity [MB]: 715404   Media Rotation Rate: 5400 RPM   Nominal Form Factor: 2.5"       [Drive Geometry]   Number of Cylinders: 16383   Number of Heads: 16   Sectors Per Track: 63   Number Of ECC Bytes: 4   Number of Sectors: 16514064   Total 32-bit LBA Sectors: 268435455   Total 48-bit LBA Sectors: 1465149168   Cache Buffer Size: 8192 KBytes   Controller Type: Dual Ported, Multiple Sector Buffer, Read Cache       [Transfer Modes]   Sectors Per Interrupt: Total: 16, Active: 16   Max. PIO Transfer Mode: 4   Multiword DMA Mode: Total: 2, Active: -   Singleword DMA Mode: Total: -, Active: -   Ultra-DMA Mode: Total: 5 (ATA-100), Active: 5 (ATA-100)   Max. Multiword DMA Transfer Rate: 16.7 MBytes/s   Max. PIO with IORDY Transfer Rate: 16.7 MBytes/s   Max. PIO w/o IORDY Transfer Rate: 16.7 MBytes/s   Transfer Width: Unknown   Native Command Queuing: Supported, Max. Depth: 32   TRIM Command: Not Supported       [Device flags]   Fixed Drive: Present   Removable Drive: Not Present   Magnetic Storage: Present   LBA Mode: Supported   DMA Mode: Supported   IORDY: Supported   IORDY Disableable: Supported       [Features]   Write Cache: Present, Active   S.M.A.R.T. Feature: Present, Active   Security Feature: Present, Inactive   Removable Media Feature: Not Present, Disabled   Power Management: Present, Active   Advanced Power Management: Present, Active   Packet Interface: Not Present, Disabled   Look-Ahead Buffer: Present, Active   Host Protected Area: Not Present, Disabled   Power-Up In Standby: Not Suppported, Inactive   Automatic Acoustic Management: Not Suppported, Inactive   48-bit LBA: Supported, Active   Host-Initiated Link Power Management: Not Supported   Device-Initiated Link Power Management: Supported, Enabled   In-Order Data Delivery: Not Supported   Hardware Feature Control: Not Supported   Software Settings Preservation: Supported, Enabled   NCQ Autosense: Not Supported   Link Power State Device Sleep: Not Supported   Hybrid Information Feature: Not Supported   All Write Cache Non-Volatile: Not Supported   Extended Number of User Addressable Sectors: Not Supported   Device Encrypts All User Data: Not Supported   CFast Specification: Not Supported   NCQ Priority Information: Not Supported   Host Automatic Partial to Slumber Transitions: Not Supported   Device Automatic Partial to Slumber Transitions: Not Supported   NCQ Streaming: Not Supported   NCQ Queue Management Command: Not Supported   DEVSLP to Reduced Power State: Not Supported   Extended Power Conditions Feature: Not Supported   Sense Data Reporting Feature: Not Supported   Free-Fall Control Feature: Not Supported       [Self-Monitoring, Analysis and Reporting Technology (S.M.A.R.T.)]   [01] Raw Read Error Rate: 100/62, Worst: 96   [02] Throughput Performance: 100/40, Worst: 100   [03] Spin Up Time: 176/33, Worst: 100 (Data = 1)   [04] Start/Stop Count: 99/Always OK, Worst: 99 (Data = 1797)   [05] Reallocated Sector Count: 100/5, Worst: 100   [07] Seek Error Rate: 100/67, Worst: 100   [08] Seek Time Performance: 100/40, Worst: 100   [09] Power-On Hours/Cycle Count: 90/Always OK, Worst: 90 (Data = 4626)   [0A] Spin Retry Count: 100/60, Worst: 100   [0C] Power Cycle Count: 99/Always OK, Worst: 99 (Data = 1711)   [B7] SATA Interface Downshift / Runtime Bad Block: 100/Always OK, Worst: 100   [B8] End to End Error Detection Count: 100/97, Worst: 100   [BB] Reported Uncorrectable Errors: 100/Always OK, Worst: 100 (Data = 18874368)   [BC] Command Timeout Count: 100/Always OK, Worst: 99 (Data = 4784137)   [BE] Airflow Temperature / Exceed Count: 69/45, Worst: 48 (Data = 31.0 °C)   [BF] G-Sense Error Rate: 81/Always OK, Worst: 81 (Data = 5114)   [C0] Power-Off Retract Count: 100/Always OK, Worst: 100 (Data = 2621480)   [C1] Load/Unload Cycle Count: 98/Always OK, Worst: 98 (Data = 23647)   [C4] Reallocation Event Count: 100/Always OK, Worst: 100   [C5] Current Pending Sector Count: 100/Always OK, Worst: 100   [C6] Off-Line Uncorrectable Sector Count: 100/Always OK, Worst: 100   [C7] UltraDMA/SATA CRC Error Rate: 100/Always OK, Worst: 100   [DF] Load/Unload Retry Count: 100/Always OK, Worst: 100

 

Quote  from HWinfo64 4.26

 

SO, what now?

And the other question;What about the removed HDD? My guess: is an external (container) to hold it and another 3.5 inch HDD



#6 Jollibee

Jollibee

    Neowinian Fastfood

  • Joined: 06-September 13
  • Location: 11.3333° N, 123.0167° E
  • OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x86, Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920, Nokia X2-01

Posted 02 December 2013 - 02:26

I suggest that you should take a look at Western Digital's newly released SSD+HDD "WD Black²" product. Yes, you can have both SSD and HDD in one disk!

Take a quick look here: http://www.wd.com/en...ts.aspx?id=1190

 

Here's how it looks like:

wd-black-2.png

The base specs starts at 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD.

 

And for those asking if it's similar to Seagate's Hybrid implementation: no, it's not. The SSD and HDD in this WD Black² act independently as if it were two standalone drives.



#7 Raa

Raa

    Resident something-or-rather

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 02 December 2013 - 02:36

Just make sure your BIOS supports AHCI mode and it's enabled. (It should be)



#8 OP medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 02 December 2013 - 02:40

I suggest that you should take a look at Western Digital's newly released SSD+HDD "WD Black²" product. Yes, you can have both SSD and HDD in one disk!

Take a quick look here: http://www.wd.com/en...ts.aspx?id=1190

 

Here's how it looks like:

wd-black-2.png

The base specs starts at 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD.

 

And for those asking if it's similar to Seagate's Hybrid implementation: no, it's not. The SSD and HDD in this WD Black² act independently as if it were two standalone drives.

antastic , but the price is so high for me.

I would take that samsung drive only because it is down from 129-89$.

 

Bad thing is that it is not available anymore.I will try to search a canadian online store.



#9 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 02 December 2013 - 02:40

I suggest that you should take a look at Western Digital's newly released SSD+HDD "WD Black²" product. Yes, you can have both SSD and HDD in one disk!

Take a quick look here: http://www.wd.com/en...ts.aspx?id=1190

 

Here's how it looks like:

wd-black-2.png

The base specs starts at 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD.

 

And for those asking if it's similar to Seagate's Hybrid implementation: no, it's not. The SSD and HDD in this WD Black² act independently as if it were two standalone drives.

 

Because the nature of a laptop, being moved around, bumped around and such, I would recommend 100% solid state, and no spinning drive!



#10 Jollibee

Jollibee

    Neowinian Fastfood

  • Joined: 06-September 13
  • Location: 11.3333° N, 123.0167° E
  • OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x86, Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920, Nokia X2-01

Posted 02 December 2013 - 03:43

antastic , but the price is so high for me.

I would take that samsung drive only because it is down from 129-89$.

 

Bad thing is that it is not available anymore.I will try to search a canadian online store.

The only real drawback with this solution is the price. I guess that's what paying for a premium is all about.

 

Because the nature of a laptop, being moved around, bumped around and such, I would recommend 100% solid state, and no spinning drive!

That may be true...but why sacrifice such huge storage for an SSD when you can have them both?



#11 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 02 December 2013 - 03:47

Because the nature of a laptop, being moved around, bumped around and such, I would recommend 100% solid state, and no spinning drive!

 

What? Laptops have been getting around with spinning drives for a long time now.  :laugh:



#12 Jollibee

Jollibee

    Neowinian Fastfood

  • Joined: 06-September 13
  • Location: 11.3333° N, 123.0167° E
  • OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x86, Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920, Nokia X2-01

Posted 02 December 2013 - 03:49

What? Laptops have been getting around with spinning drives for a long time now.  :laugh:

...and that's what G-Sensors inside mobile HDDs are for!



#13 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 02 December 2013 - 04:01

I suggest that you should take a look at Western Digital's newly released SSD+HDD "WD Black²" product. Yes, you can have both SSD and HDD in one disk!

Take a quick look here: http://www.wd.com/en...ts.aspx?id=1190

 

Here's how it looks like:

wd-black-2.png

The base specs starts at 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD.

 

And for those asking if it's similar to Seagate's Hybrid implementation: no, it's not. The SSD and HDD in this WD Black² act independently as if it were two standalone drives.

Honestly, what is the benefit of this drive? It seems like a solution in search of a problem.

 

The worst part is this using a single SATA wire. So you'll suffer performance since only one drive can be on the wire at any given time.

 

If you need a dual drive solution then a mSATA SSD + standard laptop HDD would achieve the same results without the performance loss or added complexity.



#14 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 02 December 2013 - 04:07

What? Laptops have been getting around with spinning drives for a long time now.  :laugh:

 

More power to you. It might just be coincidence that I see more bad sectors on laptops than desktops. Me personally all I run in laptops are SSD's.



#15 Jollibee

Jollibee

    Neowinian Fastfood

  • Joined: 06-September 13
  • Location: 11.3333° N, 123.0167° E
  • OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x86, Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920, Nokia X2-01

Posted 02 December 2013 - 04:14

Honestly, what is the benefit of this drive? It seems like a solution in search of a problem.

 

The worst part is this using a single SATA wire. So you'll suffer performance since only one drive can be on the wire at any given time.

 

If you need a dual drive solution then a mSATA SSD + standard laptop HDD would achieve the same results without the performance loss or added complexity.

Just a note, not all laptops out there have an mSATA slot and not everyone is willing to give up their storage for some speed bump.

This solution is much better than Seagate's Hybrid SSHD implementation.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!