Jump to content



Photo

at&t data cap and Internet usage in Windows 8.1

data caps

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 bikeman25

bikeman25

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-April 05
  • Location: US-Michigan
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64 with Media Center
  • Phone: Windows 8 Phone--Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 05 December 2013 - 20:07

Hi All

 

Currently using Windows 8.1 with Avast 9.0.2009 Beta (had some issues with released version) anyways found out over caps on at&T dsl.    Does using Avast put me at risk of going over again?

 

Currently

 

stopped downloading on demand video, streaming xbox music, cut Secondlife hours as much as can, removed Modern apps I didn't use much, installed Ad block plus for IE 11, any other tips or suggestions?  Would I save bandwidth using Windows Defender and Malwarebytes?

 

 




#2 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 74
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 05 December 2013 - 20:21

At a loss to how you feel a antivirus application would put you over your download limit? You mean its updates to list dat file put you over your limit?

#3 OP bikeman25

bikeman25

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-April 05
  • Location: US-Michigan
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64 with Media Center
  • Phone: Windows 8 Phone--Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 05 December 2013 - 20:25

I don't know if it's updates or defintions put us over or not, but trying to reduce all I can to stay under 150gbs, so don't end up charged extra in 2 months if go over again.    Just I guess a little worried and getting things all situated now that at&t dsl caps officially started here.

 

 

Same Antivirus application on all Household systems, total of 4


Edited by bikeman25, 05 December 2013 - 20:26.


#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 74
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 05 December 2013 - 20:46

Well not updating dat files pretty much makes antivirus pointless. I believe by default they look for an update every 4 hours, but it should be an incremental update and really small to be honest.

Now you can manually update here http://www.avast.com/download-update, looks like about 40MB for the manual update.. Which again -- your normal updates should be incremental so much much smaller.

You could turn off internet update and download manually ever now and then during the month I guess, or could have one update and use it to update your other machines. I don't use that product, so not sure of details of moving updated dat files from one machine to another.

But I find it highly unlikely that updating your dat files is cause of your over cap..

"stopped downloading on demand video"

That would be your biggest hitter if you ask me.. Lets say you had all 4 machine downloading that full 40MB a day for their dat updates.. Which again - they should be incremental and a small FRACTION of that size.. But lets say it was the full 40MB, your taking 4*30 your at 4.8GB in a month.. What 3% of your total?

Do you have anyway of tracking access at your router? For example

usage.png

If you can not monitor at your router, put something on each device and see what your heavy hitters are, etc. Something like http://www.netlimiter.com/ and FREE monitor version that can show you what applications are download, what your totals are, etc.

#5 OP bikeman25

bikeman25

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-April 05
  • Location: US-Michigan
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64 with Media Center
  • Phone: Windows 8 Phone--Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 05 December 2013 - 22:03

Yeah No tracking info at router at all...will get netlimiter to get details on what is using so much, and see how it does...Router is a at&t provided gateway device, Netgear 7550N, but no bandwidth meter inside it





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!