Jump to content



Photo

Issues with WordPress?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 illage3

illage3

    Apprentice Game Designer

  • Joined: 07-June 13
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Posted 09 December 2013 - 13:21

We keep having issues with images on WordPress.  When we upload images it keeps appearing like this.

and the images don't show up on the blog when reading.  

 

I've deleted all plugins, and the issue is that the way the site has been set up for us I don't have FTP access, the closest thing we have is a remote server login but it doesn't seem to have our WordPress installed there.

 

The site that's having trouble is blog.sharpfutures.org.uk

 

I really need help here.

Attached Images

  • Screenshot - 12092013 - 01:17:28 PM.png



#2 Tom

Tom

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 09
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 09 December 2013 - 13:36

Does it happen to all images or just certain file types? Try uploading gif/jpg/png separately and noting the results.

 

Also check:

#1. Go to Settings>Media and check to see if 'Organize my uploads into month- and year-based folders' is checked.

#2. Check the permissions on the folder are writable.  



#3 +Lingwo

Lingwo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 22-April 03
  • Location: UK

Posted 09 December 2013 - 13:39

If you can view the page source or inspect that element. See where the image is being uploaded to.

If you moved domains. It might be referencing the wrong place.

 

If it isn't referencing "blog.sharpfutures.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/..." chances are it is being uploaded to the wrong place.



#4 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 09 December 2013 - 13:51

We keep having issues with images on WordPress.  When we upload images it keeps appearing like this.

and the images don't show up on the blog when reading.  

 

I've deleted all plugins, and the issue is that the way the site has been set up for us I don't have FTP access, the closest thing we have is a remote server login but it doesn't seem to have our WordPress installed there.

 

The site that's having trouble is blog.sharpfutures.org.uk

 

I really need help here.

 

It appears that all of the ones inserted by Wordpress (they have dimensions after the file name) are showing up fine. How are the missing ones being added to the page? Searching for the specific file throws up a internal server error (500).



#5 OP illage3

illage3

    Apprentice Game Designer

  • Joined: 07-June 13
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Posted 09 December 2013 - 13:52

It appears that all of the ones inserted by Wordpress (they have dimensions after the file name) are showing up fine. How are the missing ones being added to the page? Searching for the specific file throws up a internal server error (500).

I don't know, we can insert visible images just fine but when we set featured images they don't seem to work.



#6 +Kyle K.

Kyle K.

    aka Kyle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 12-February 06

Posted 09 December 2013 - 14:07

Since the error being thrown for those images is a 500 and not a 404, I would imagine it's a corrupted .htaccess file.

 

You said you don't have access to ftp? Can you install plugins via the web interface? 



#7 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 09 December 2013 - 14:11

Was this a recent change? You appear to not have access to any of the source files, but the Wordpress generated thumbnails show up fine. See: 

http://blog.sharpfut...img-300x225.jpg

 

shows up, but the header image

 

http://blog.sharpfut.../2ndbro-img.jpg

 

Won't. 



#8 MikeChipshop

MikeChipshop

    Miniman

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-October 06
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Win 8, Win 7, Vista, OSX, iOS, Android, WP8 and various Linux distro's
  • Phone: HTC 8X / Nexus 5

Posted 09 December 2013 - 14:18

  • Check permissions on the uploads folder. Make sure you can read/write
  • Up the memory limit for PHP
  • Up the upload limit for PHP
  • Up the time out limit for PHP
  • Check you have space on your server to actually upload the files
  • Reset your HTACCESS file (delete it then visit the permalinks options page)

As with anything when messing with a site, do a backup first.

 

Try to get your server error logs, they'll give you a better starting place.



#9 OP illage3

illage3

    Apprentice Game Designer

  • Joined: 07-June 13
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Posted 09 December 2013 - 14:28

I keep trying to reset the htacess file but for some reason it doesn't work.



#10 OP illage3

illage3

    Apprentice Game Designer

  • Joined: 07-June 13
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Posted 09 December 2013 - 14:35

ITS FIXED! 

 

Changed read/write permissions on the server, thanks for the help guys :)



#11 OP illage3

illage3

    Apprentice Game Designer

  • Joined: 07-June 13
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Posted 09 December 2013 - 14:46

Actually never mind, it still giving me the same issues :( well it stops error 500 but now it comes up with this. http://blog.sharpfut...img-150x150.jpg



#12 MikeChipshop

MikeChipshop

    Miniman

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-October 06
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Win 8, Win 7, Vista, OSX, iOS, Android, WP8 and various Linux distro's
  • Phone: HTC 8X / Nexus 5

Posted 09 December 2013 - 15:08

Did you try any of the other points i gave you? Sounds to me like it's running out of time while crunching the various sizes.



#13 OP illage3

illage3

    Apprentice Game Designer

  • Joined: 07-June 13
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note 2

Posted 09 December 2013 - 15:11

Did you try any of the other points i gave you? Sounds to me like it's running out of time while crunching the various sizes.

How do I do the other points? 



#14 MikeChipshop

MikeChipshop

    Miniman

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-October 06
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Win 8, Win 7, Vista, OSX, iOS, Android, WP8 and various Linux distro's
  • Phone: HTC 8X / Nexus 5

Posted 09 December 2013 - 15:17

How do I do the other points? 

 

For the PHP changes, i'd contact your host as they don't sound like they'd let you personally change these.

Also ask them for your error logs as there will be a much better error message contained there, my guess is a PHP time out.

 

On a side note, don't upload images to WordPress via FTP, it won't create the proper associations.



#15 PhilTheThrill

PhilTheThrill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 10 December 2013 - 18:38

Usually it's the other way round...images containing dimensions are often caught by adblock software on your browser.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!