Jump to content



Photo

Renting routers?


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#16 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 19 December 2013 - 00:18

I think he wants to constantly play with the "high end" consumer routers all of the time which may have added features that the low end routers don't have, or have better network capabilities/throughput.  I haven't seen a $30 router support a gigabit internet/wan connection for example.

this is more where I am at.... I am not claiming this to be rational or necessary in any way. Playing with new routers and electronics is how I get my kick. 




#17 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 19 December 2013 - 00:27

Nobody rents routers because nobody needs to replace them every year or so, if you want to play with the bleeding edge every year you'll have to pay for it.

 

Past a certain point you won't get anything new, I could replace my WNDR3800 with a brand new router and I wouldn't gain a single thing due to the software being the same.



#18 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 19 December 2013 - 04:22

I could replace my WNDR3800 with a brand new router and I wouldn't gain a single thing due to the software being the same.

No -- there are many models newer than yours that would get you quite a bit. For starters yours is N600, the 4000 is N750, the 4500 is N900, the 6300 is 1750ac the R7000 is 1900, etc.

That is not nothing ;) Also the 3800 is EOL, so prob time you got a new one just for support/updates to firmware which what last was jan of 2013? http://www.netgear.c...OLBulletin.aspx

#19 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 19 December 2013 - 06:25

My connection is ~4Mbps (A 486 could handle my routing), and I don't use any of the NAS functionality so it's not like an included hard drive would help. That and I run OpenWRT, so official firmware updates don't matter to me. A new router might offer AC wifi, but I don't have any AC devices and I prefer wired anyway.

 

If/when my internet connection gets upgraded to proper speeds (Government is trying their hardest to ensure that doesn't happen), then maybe I'll consider a new router, because at the moment maxing out my bandwidth only results in about 10% CPU usage (Having it generate the graph takes more CPU)



#20 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 19 December 2013 - 19:21

Since when is your internet connection the only thing you do with wifi? Now I agree if you don't do anything like streaming or moving files around your local network and your current wifi is greater than your internet bandwidth then sure there is little reason to upgrade.

If your on a 4Mbps connection internet connection and don't do anything local, why did you fork over money for a dual band N? Freaking B router would handle 4Mbits per second ;)

So why did you upgrade your router before your 3800, which if you bought it when was new was prob pushing $200, now you can get them for under $100 ;)

But we are on the same page - nobody is going to rent a router, not in a way that the user would see any benefit to doing it, it would clearly cost them more than just buying new when they wanted it. And either putting the old one on a shelf, using it as AP in other part of the house.. Maybe add wifi to the shed out back ;) Or selling it to recoup some of the cost of the new one.

#21 BillyJack

BillyJack

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-December 05
  • Location: Florida, United States

Posted 19 December 2013 - 19:31

Yea, reason I want to rent is I want the shiny $200 router. and in 1 year I will want the next $200 router. If I rent, maybe I can get it for <$100 per year. Sure I won't own the equipment but I get to upgrade as often as I want.

 

I imagine this is a horrible business case, wish someone made it work though. 

Typically cable or phone companies that allow you to rent routers have cheap lower end models. Even if they did have what you want they more likely would charge about $10 a month which is $240 in two years. You are better off buying one and reselling or recycling it.



#22 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 20 December 2013 - 09:59

Since when is your internet connection the only thing you do with wifi? Now I agree if you don't do anything like streaming or moving files around your local network and your current wifi is greater than your internet bandwidth then sure there is little reason to upgrade.

If your on a 4Mbps connection internet connection and don't do anything local, why did you fork over money for a dual band N? Freaking B router would handle 4Mbits per second ;)

So why did you upgrade your router before your 3800, which if you bought it when was new was prob pushing $200, now you can get them for under $100 ;)

But we are on the same page - nobody is going to rent a router, not in a way that the user would see any benefit to doing it, it would clearly cost them more than just buying new when they wanted it. And either putting the old one on a shelf, using it as AP in other part of the house.. Maybe add wifi to the shed out back ;) Or selling it to recoup some of the cost of the new one.


It was actually because I reflashed my WRT54GL without reading that the newer build wouldn't work properly (It had like 30KB flash free, couldn't save any of its settings), and the 3800 was the hardware recommended at the time (Used as the reference for the cerowrt project, etc.)

I also wanted to get off the 2.4Ghz band onto 5Ghz, and I wanted fast WiFi <> LAN data (As well as an inbuilt gigabit switch). And having the extra flash space available lets me put more apps onto it (I can now run a DHCPv6 server, WRT54GL couldn't, etc.)

#23 riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 20 December 2013 - 18:42

Hello, 

Don't buy consumer trash, Spend the same money on some enterprise grade cisco gear on ebay. you'll get infinitely more bang for your buck.

On the software side, more than 50% of the things you do on some "enterprise grade cisco gear on ebay" can be done with a pfsense box and cost you a lot less. And out of the 50%, consumer's wont problably use 10%!

Now hardware realiable? Thats another issue. But do you really want noise/heat/etc building up in your room/living room/etc?

#24 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 20 December 2013 - 18:48

^ True the secure gateway is best or both if you can afford it.