Jump to content



Photo

Air Flow Layout - 350D


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 21 December 2013 - 05:56

So I am doing an upgrade.

 

The system is going to be

 

ASUS Maximus VI GENE

Intel Core i7 4770K

32GB DDR3 1333Mhz

EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti 3GB Superclock

Corsair Obsidian Series 350D

Corsair AX760i PSU

 

Now my question is, what is the best fan layout for cooling/performance? If I read the specs correctly, there can be 2x 140mm in the top, 2x 140mm in the front, 1x 140mm back..

 

The motherboard has support for 3 case fans, so what's the best layout for the best cooling? I mean location, but also, which do intact, which outtake.




#2 Lizardslap

Lizardslap

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-September 12

Posted 21 December 2013 - 06:14

front intake back exhaust I would not use top fan slots unless you dont set things ontop of your computer ever

 

 

also I dont see a cpu cooler picked out



#3 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 21 December 2013 - 06:18

No CPU cooler because I do not plan to overclock, plus I do have a coolermaster hyper 212 if I want too.

 

Alright, if I do the top, intact or outtake?

 

If I do a H100i for the CPU, intact front, exhaust back still?



#4 Lizardslap

Lizardslap

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-September 12

Posted 21 December 2013 - 16:12

Im sure somone else can give you there opinion on it but I would do intakes  even though I know hot air rises its not to big of a deal

 

 

if you use that H100i I would put that on the top if you can

 

I use a hyper 212 plus on my I5 4670k and its at 4.4ghz could go more but its aready way faster than I need  and my temps max out at full load for what I use it for at 75c



#5 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 21 December 2013 - 16:38

In most setups I've seen, even factory setups the top fan has usually been an exhaust fan, and it makes sense to have it blowing the heat out that way 

 

So front, input, back and top, output 



#6 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 21 December 2013 - 16:43

No CPU cooler because I do not plan to overclock, plus I do have a coolermaster hyper 212 if I want too.
 
Alright, if I do the top, intact or outtake?
 
If I do a H100i for the CPU, intact front, exhaust back still?


Your layout doesn't matter to much as long as the air can flow decently. I would put two exhaust in the top. That's the most efficient use you can get of them. Also always make sure to have more air coming into the case than going out. Then you create and over pressure and you keep dust out.

#7 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 21 December 2013 - 16:44

In most setups I've seen, even factory setups the top fan has usually been an exhaust fan, and it makes sense to have it blowing the heat out that way 
 
So front, input, back and top, output


To many fans blowing air out, creates under pressure in the case making it suck dust in.

#8 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 21 December 2013 - 18:13

To many fans blowing air out, creates under pressure in the case making it suck dust in.

 

Was actually thinking about that, the input fan would have to be pretty big compared to the output fans



#9 +Xinok

Xinok

    Resident Reresident

  • Joined: 28-May 04
  • Location: Shikaka
  • OS: Windows 7 x64
  • Phone: Galaxy S3 (Wicked)

Posted 21 December 2013 - 18:37

Front + Back = Intake

Top = Exhaust

 

It's better to have the top vent as an exhaust because, well, heat rises. If the top vent were an intake, then you would only be recirculating some of the exhausted heat. Same concept, the front intake is usually at a lower height so it pulls in cooler air. As for making the rear vent as an intake, this means it will blow cool air directly onto the CPU heat sink. Then having two intakes vs one exhaust means positive air pressure in the case. Install a couple of dust filters on the intake fans and this should help minimize dust in your case.



#10 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 21 December 2013 - 19:05

the H100i says to make them intake.

 

 

So, I should still switch it have it exhaust? Have the other two intakes?

 

Or put the h100i in the front?



#11 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 21 December 2013 - 20:17

OK,

 

So the H100i will not fit in the front, so it has to go in the top.

 

So, even though they say to make it intake, it's fine if it's exhaust?



#12 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 21 December 2013 - 20:44

Yes, it's fine to have it as exhaust. All the big fans in your case moves so much air you're not going to have any hot air in the case anyway.

#13 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 21 December 2013 - 22:29

So I am stuck.

 

I am setting up the H100i within my 350D with the Maximus VI GENE, but can't figure out fans.

 

The two fans with the H100i have fan connectors, plus the h100i has a fan connector and SATA power....plus some Y cable....

 

I have no idea where all this goes, I know the H100i works with the GENE, but the GENE does not have that many fan options...

 

HELP?



#14 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 22 December 2013 - 00:17

Alright, I figured it out lol

 

But now when I booted into Windows, the new videocard has it's fans at 100% (though CPUMontior shows 0RPM).

 

I am assuming it's the change of MOBO that WIndows 8.1 hates, and I wanted to do a clean install anyway, so I am doing that.

 

 

Will let you know if it's fine after a fresh install.



#15 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 22 December 2013 - 01:15

Yup, after fresh install, it's normal.

I probably could have cleaned my drivers and fixed it, but I wanted to do a fresh install anyway.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!