Jump to content



Photo

Chrome Backup


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 21 December 2013 - 18:31

I am about to do a fresh install and want to make sure I can sign back in, and have everything the same for Chrome.

 

If I go to my Dashboard, it's showing that I have 40 Extension (Google Dashboard, the website for all your data).

 

If I go to my extensions and count, there are 46 extension.

 

In the past I have had issues, where extensions were missing on fresh install etc....

 

 

What's going on? How do I make sure all is synced?




#2 +Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    Neowinian Antique

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 21 December 2013 - 18:36

All I ever do is sign into chrome after a clean install and all my bookmarks and extensions automagically load up for me, and I've never had any trouble with it. You just have to make sure you check the boxes for what you want synced to google. (Extensions, favorites, etc.)

#3 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 21 December 2013 - 18:37

I have Everything, synced. Yet, they show the wrong amount of extensions.



#4 Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 21 December 2013 - 19:04

I have Everything, synced. Yet, they show the wrong amount of extensions.

 

Userscripts and third party stuff which is added by software usually does not get synced. So it might be due to this issue.



#5 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 21 December 2013 - 19:06

Those would not be under Extensions. I can count my extension, not scripts under one extension.

 

It's wrong. I will just have to record what I use, see what happens when I install it.



#6 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows, *Nix

Posted 21 December 2013 - 19:06

Could always just make a copy of Chrome's AppData directory too (if it's feasible), everything should be ready for you on the new install.



#7 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 21 December 2013 - 19:08

Good idea, might do that :)

 

Could always just make a copy of Chrome's AppData directory too (if it's feasible), everything should be ready for you on the new machine.



#8 Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 21 December 2013 - 19:09

Those would not be under Extensions. I can count my extension, not scripts under one extension.

 

It's wrong. I will just have to record what I use, see what happens when I install it.

 

If I install Development build of Adblock Plus from not Chrome Web Store, it does not get synced. So I have to always install it.

 

I am bleeding edge Chromium tester.



#9 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 21 December 2013 - 19:10

I am pretty sure all my extensions are from the Chrome Store, but I guess I will find out when I do the install.

 

Unless I actually feel like backing up app-data.

If I install Development build of Adblock Plus from not Chrome Web Store, it does not get synced. So I have to always install it.

 

I am bleeding edge Chromium tester.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!