Jump to content

4 posts in this topic

Posted

How long does Windows store credentials on a machine when accessing a share on another machine?

 

Example: I shared a folder on PC A (password protected) and accessed it on PC B. When I entered my username and password for PC A I made sure not to check Remember my credentials. However, when I go back to PC B later I am able to access the share on PC A without being prompted to enter my info again. I verified that no credentials for PC A were saved in User Accounts.

 

How do I clear or reset this so that PC B can not access the shared folder without once again being prompted for credentials?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Untick the option to save password?  Access will work though for as long as the user on PC B remains logged in afaik.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Don't suppose you're using the same username/password on both machines by chance? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Untick the option to save password?  Access will work though for as long as the user on PC B remains logged in afaik.

 

Option was unticked, but you're right after logging out and back in on PC B I was again promted for credentials.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.