Jump to content



Photo

Use Linada App to play video from your WMP to Xbox One


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 dbdmora

dbdmora

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-April 12

Posted 22 December 2013 - 20:51

Since Xbox One does not provide native support to connect to your WMP media center (hopefully they add this in a future update). You can use the Linada app from wp8 store to connect to your media center and stream it directly to your Xbox One.  I am even able to play .mkv files without any issues.  You can queue up video files to play, so no interruption of video play.  There is no need to add another "server software" on your pc.  It works fine with WMP media streaming option turned on. 

 

I am trying out different IOS apps that work similar since my wife had an iPhone/ipad for her to use when I am not around.

 

Hope this helps for anyone that wants to play video files from their PC to Xbox One

 

http://www.windowsph...9f-2d3c06f158e9

 




#2 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 23 December 2013 - 00:33

Wow, that's cool, thanks for sharing that.

On the subject of media access options,

Currently, I'm using MediaBrowser 3:

http://www.mediabrowser3.com/


I have their server app installed and then access my content via their web based client in IE on the X1.

Hopefully MS starts allowing 3rd party apps onto the X1 and then we wont have to worry about these work arounds that don't quite work as seamlessly as we would like.

#3 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 23 December 2013 - 12:53

couldn't you just use PlayTo from WMP (Win 7/8) or the video/music apps (Win8) ?

#4 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Work) Windows 10 (Home)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 830

Posted 23 December 2013 - 14:20

The problem I have with PlayTo is that you have to push the content from your PC.  I have my PC upstairs and my Xbox downstairs.  I want to be able to browse the movies I have in my library from my Xbox and then start playing it.  It looks like MediaBrowser does this.  I'll have to try it when I get home.  Linada looks like I have to start it from another source.



#5 vetDirtyLarry

DirtyLarry

    ®®\vers.12.vis.13.u.03.al\DL

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: dirty jersey
  • OS: Win 8 | OS X 10.8.5 | Android 4.2.3
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 23 December 2013 - 14:30

The problem I have with PlayTo is that you have to push the content from your PC.  I have my PC upstairs and my Xbox downstairs.  I want to be able to browse the movies I have in my library from my Xbox and then start playing it.  It looks like MediaBrowser does this.  I'll have to try it when I get home.  Linada looks like I have to start it from another source.

Do you happen to own any Android devices? If so, there is a great little app called BubbleUPnP that fixes this issue, as I had the same issue myself.

Lets me browse my PC upstairs (various ways, I still use Universal Media Server), and initiate the PlayTo command to my XBox One all from my phone. It is great. No need to be at the PC.
That app also comes with it's own server client for other uses, like watching media on your PC on any Android device.

Ahhh, see under your Avatar you have Windows Phone, maybe they have the app on that OS though, it is a pretty well supported app. Or maybe by some off chance you own an Android tablet, as that app really does work great.
 

And if not, perhaps that can help other people out who do have Android.



#6 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Work) Windows 10 (Home)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 830

Posted 23 December 2013 - 14:38

Do you happen to own any Android devices? If so, there is a great little app called BubbleUPnP that fixes this issue, as I had the same issue myself.

Lets me browse my PC upstairs (various ways, I still use Universal Media Server), and initiate the PlayTo command to my XBox One all from my phone. It is great. No need to be at the PC.
That app also comes with it's own server client for other uses, like watching media on your PC on any Android device.

Ahhh, see under your Avatar you have Windows Phone, maybe they have the app on that OS though, it is a pretty well supported app. Or maybe by some off chance you own an Android tablet, as that app really does work great.
 

And if not, perhaps that can help other people out who do have Android.

I actually do have a Nexus 7 but I was hoping for something I could browse on my TV.  I'm using an AppleTV right now for that, which I think I'll keep using until a native solution comes to the X1.  



#7 zerolimit

zerolimit

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-December 02
  • Location: La Puente, Cali

Posted 24 December 2013 - 06:02

would be nice to browse your movies on the XBOX ONE!!!!



#8 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Work) Windows 10 (Home)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 830

Posted 25 December 2013 - 04:29

Wow, that's cool, thanks for sharing that.

On the subject of media access options,

Currently, I'm using MediaBrowser 3:

http://www.mediabrowser3.com/


I have their server app installed and then access my content via their web based client in IE on the X1.

Hopefully MS starts allowing 3rd party apps onto the X1 and then we wont have to worry about these work arounds that don't quite work as seamlessly as we would like.

OK, so I installed Media Browser and set it up.  When I try to access it from the X1 (by using http://IP Adress:8086/mediabrowser) it tells me that the Xbox doesn't support it and doesn't open anything.  Any idea what I'm doing wrong?



#9 zerolimit

zerolimit

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-December 02
  • Location: La Puente, Cali

Posted 26 December 2013 - 05:13

any other way?



#10 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 27 December 2013 - 16:32

OK, so I installed Media Browser and set it up.  When I try to access it from the X1 (by using http://IP Adress:8086/mediabrowser) it tells me that the Xbox doesn't support it and doesn't open anything.  Any idea what I'm doing wrong?



The proper address to use is:

http: //'ip or server pc name':8096/mediabrowser/dashboard/index.html


See if that works for you.

#11 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Work) Windows 10 (Home)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 830

Posted 27 December 2013 - 16:41

The proper address to use is:

http: //'ip or server pc name':8096/mediabrowser/dashboard/index.html


See if that works for you.

I've tried that.  And the 8086 port on my original port was a typo.  I was using 8096.   The loading bar across the bottom loads but I still get the same error message.

 

I'm hoping I can get an answer from this guy: http://mediabrowser3...one/#entry52231



#12 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 27 December 2013 - 16:59

I've tried that.  And the 8086 port on my original port was a typo.  I was using 8096.   The loading bar across the bottom loads but I still get the same error message.
 
I'm hoping I can get an answer from this guy: http://mediabrowser3...one/#entry52231



Yeah, I saw your post in that thread. There is another thread particularly about the X1 that might have useful tips as well.

I'm really not sure why your seeing that though. My guess would be that its on the server side and not the X1. I didn't do anything special on the X1 side to make it work. As a test, can you access the server via IE on another pc? That could at least help narrow it down.

#13 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Work) Windows 10 (Home)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 830

Posted 27 December 2013 - 18:16

Yeah, I saw your post in that thread. There is another thread particularly about the X1 that might have useful tips as well.

I'm really not sure why your seeing that though. My guess would be that its on the server side and not the X1. I didn't do anything special on the X1 side to make it work. As a test, can you access the server via IE on another pc? That could at least help narrow it down.

Well, I did access it from my laptop but I was using Chrome.  I'll try it from my Surface on the Metro side.

 

And how did you know that was me? ;)



#14 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 27 December 2013 - 19:34

Well, I did access it from my laptop but I was using Chrome.  I'll try it from my Surface on the Metro side.
 
And how did you know that was me? ;)


You made it quite easy by using the same username :laugh:

Definitely try it on IE on another pc first and lets see what happens.

If it worked in Chrome, then it'll probably work in IE, but its worth a try.

There have been some playback issues that the developers have to work on for IE support, but at least for me, those issues have been ironed out.

#15 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Work) Windows 10 (Home)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 830

Posted 27 December 2013 - 23:01