Jump to content



Photo

NAS or DAS with Windows 8.1, surface 2 & phone...?

win8.1

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 TrickyDickie

TrickyDickie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-December 10
  • Location: Somerset, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 23 December 2013 - 01:04

I want something, but I am not sure it is possible because I can't find anything on the web about how to set this up as I want.

 

What I want is to set up either a NAS or DAS, move all of my media to it (just over one terabyte of it), and be able to use it from the PC (Windows 8.1), my Surface 2 and possibly my phone (Windows Phone 8).

 

I have my own router and wireless, and would like to be able to use the wireless for the phone & Surface to play stuff without having to have the PC turned on as well.

 

Could someone please tell me what I am looking at to achieve this (if it can be done!)...?

 

I am asking here because as I said, I can find bits and pieces, but cannot make much sense of it (I built my PC, by the way, so I'm not a complete noob!)

 

Thanks

 

Richard




#2 +D. FiB3R

D. FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 800

Posted 23 December 2013 - 01:05

I'm gonna regret this... What's a DAS?

 

Edit: Googled it. :blush:



#3 +D. FiB3R

D. FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 800

Posted 23 December 2013 - 01:17

NAS all the way. HP micro servers are a great buy, and will give you lots of room for expansion.



#4 RottGutt

RottGutt

    I'm a geek. Deal with it.

  • Joined: 21-November 01
  • Location: Colorado
  • OS: Windows 8.1, OS X 10.9.1, iOS 7, DSM 4.3

Posted 23 December 2013 - 01:22

Definitely go with a NAS. Synology is the only company I can recommend.



#5 OP TrickyDickie

TrickyDickie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-December 10
  • Location: Somerset, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 23 December 2013 - 01:44

Will I be able to access stuff while the pc is off if I go with NAS?
And to the phone / Surface (wirelessly)?

#6 richardsim7

richardsim7

    Satriani Fanatic

  • Joined: 26-January 05
  • Location: Hove (Actually) - UK

Posted 23 December 2013 - 01:50

Yup. A NAS is great to have. I'd recommend an HP MicroServer running UnRAID :)



#7 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 23 December 2013 - 02:08

If you have a Nokia WP device, install Plex on your MicroServer and phone. Best way to get it across.

 

I built my own server, there's no downside to the MicroServers. Doubly so given they are mainly ESXi supported.

 

Yarp.



#8 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 23 December 2013 - 02:09

Hello,

Many NAS can also have DAS but a DAS isnt a NAS; A USB flash drive connected to a NAS's USB port.

#9 OP TrickyDickie

TrickyDickie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-December 10
  • Location: Somerset, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 23 December 2013 - 12:52

Yup. A NAS is great to have. I'd recommend an HP MicroServer running UnRAID :)

 

I've been looking at this and think I'll go with a HP ProLiant G7 N54L MicroServer.

What hard drives are you using? I was thinking of going with WD red or black (I can't remember which off hand - the 'server-grade' things).



#10 enroh

enroh

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-October 03
  • Location: Winnipeg, MB

Posted 23 December 2013 - 13:01

I'd suggest a NAS and pick one that has the features you need. I have a 4-bay QNAP and does great serving everything. Synology are tremendous as well. I cannot comment on the HP as I have never used one.

 

Forgot to mention - get the Reds if you aren't using enterprise-grade NAS drives.


Edited by enroh, 23 December 2013 - 13:02.


#11 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 23 December 2013 - 13:06

Hello,

I've been looking at this and think I'll go with a HP ProLiant G7 N54L MicroServer.
What hard drives are you using? I was thinking of going with WD red or black (I can't remember which off hand - the 'server-grade' things).

WD Red are the recommended line for NAS.

I would go with the HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8.

Check a review here: http://www.neowin.ne...icroserver-gen8

#12 OP TrickyDickie

TrickyDickie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-December 10
  • Location: Somerset, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 23 December 2013 - 13:24

Hello,
WD Red are the recommended line for NAS.

I would go with the HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8.

Check a review here: http://www.neowin.ne...icroserver-gen8

 

That's a tad too pricey for me lol

 

Is the previous generation still any good (the G7 N54L)...?



#13 +D. FiB3R

D. FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 800

Posted 23 December 2013 - 13:34

Yep, the 54 is still an awesome little machine. They were being sold with. £100 cashback for quite a while, but that ship has sailed. Really wish I had bought 2 now :/

#14 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 23 December 2013 - 13:45

Hello,

That's a tad too pricey for me lol
 
Is the previous generation still any good (the G7 N54L)...?

dl5n.png

Notice that you will pay 179 upfront. The cashback comes later (and maybe even forces you to only use it on their store)

And yes, the previous generation is also good :) Im just saying that since a new gen came out, you might want to go with that.

The only difference I see here is that one includes (pre gen) a 250 GB HDD. But you would remove it anyways to put your new HDDs right (Im thinking you are going to put 4 HDDs)

#15 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: NYC & Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 23 December 2013 - 14:25

I have a N40L and works great for my needs.

I put a small SSD in the optical drive bay (prolly gonna swap that out for a 4 x 2.5" caddy (Y)) and have 4 drives in the 3.5" bays. I have 3 x 2TB and 1 x 3TB. Gonna replace all the 2TBs with 3TB ones and be done but i think that'll be enough for now.

I should prolly post them but always forget about that :p



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!