Jump to content



Photo

Roccat Talk/Keyboard/Mouse Help


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 GoOrange

GoOrange

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-March 07

Posted 23 December 2013 - 20:02

Small problem with my Roccat Kone Pure mouse, Roccat Isku keyboard and the Roccat Talk driver on my Windows 7 64 system.

 

(Roccat talk allows the Easy Shift keys on one device to activate similar functions on the other device, it normally stays in the system tray and also appears on the processes tab of Windows Task Manager).

 

When I boot my computer with the mouse and keyboard plugged in, Roccat Talk boots up and then gets shut off, disappearing from the system tray and process tab. Running the program again causes it to pop up momentarily then go away.

 

When I boot the computer with the mouse and keyboard unplugged, wait for Windows to finish starting up and then plug in both devices, everything works fine and the Roccat Talk program stays in the system tray and works fine.

 

What's going on here? What is causing the Roccat Talk program to crash when the computer is booted with the mouse and keyboard plugged in?

 

(Other misc facts. Behavior is the same with antivirus disabled. Works normally on another computer running Win 7 32 with same antivirus so it doesn't appear to be a problem with the mouse and keyboard. Did talk with Roccat tech support but they are stumped.)

 

Thanks for any insights.

 

 




#2 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 23 December 2013 - 22:13

A few questions:

  • What happens if you have the devices plugged in during boot then remove them after failures, then and try starting the Roccat Talk program again?
  • What happens if you have the devices plugged in during boot then remove them after failure, then plug them back in, then starting the Roccat Talk program again?
  • What happens on the 32-bit machine if you shutdown the Roccat Talk program and then try to restart it after boot? Does it just immediately shut back down?

Note: I don't know the cause of the issue, I'm just trying to see if failures persist in certain scenarios and if there is an issue starting the Roccat talk program manully AFTER boot in all cases.



#3 OP GoOrange

GoOrange

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-March 07

Posted 24 December 2013 - 00:26


A few questions:

  • What happens if you have the devices plugged in during boot then remove them after failures, then and try starting the Roccat Talk program again?

A: The Roccat Talk program remains in the system tray, blinking red and blue (normally solid blue when working), without cross-talk functionality. So running but not working.

 

 

  • What happens if you have the devices plugged in during boot then remove them after failure, then plug them back in, then starting the Roccat Talk program again?

A: After starting with the devices plugged in, removing them and plugging them back in and then starting Roccat Talk causes the Talk program to appear briefly then get shut back down.

 

 

  • What happens on the 32-bit machine if you shutdown the Roccat Talk program and then try to restart it after boot? Does it just immediately shut back down?

A: Roccat Talk will start up again and behave normally on the 32 bit machine if it is turned off and then back on again.

 

Additional Info, on the problematic 64 bit machine, running Roccat Talk in administrator mode causes the program to remain in the system tray, blinking red and blue and not functioning.



#4 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 24 December 2013 - 07:40

Hmm, alright, try checking your bios for an option called "legacy USB" and switch the setting and see if that has any affect.



#5 OP GoOrange

GoOrange

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-March 07

Posted 24 December 2013 - 15:15

Hmm, alright, try checking your bios for an option called "legacy USB" and switch the setting and see if that has any affect.

 

Legacy USB was enabled. I disabled it and things behaved the same (plugged in at boot = Talk not working, not plugged in = working).



#6 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 24 December 2013 - 18:43

Well, shoot, I was hoping that would be a workaround. I've imagine, you've already tried troubleshooting the driver using different versions, reinstalling them, etc.?

 

I found this, sounds similar to your issue:

http://www.pdxlan.ne...703d952b39b216f



#7 OP GoOrange

GoOrange

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-March 07

Posted 24 December 2013 - 19:26

Well, shoot, I was hoping that would be a workaround. I've imagine, you've already tried troubleshooting the driver using different versions, reinstalling them, etc.?

 

I found this, sounds similar to your issue:

http://www.pdxlan.ne...703d952b39b216f

 

I have tried legacy drivers as well to no avail. I currently have the most recent drivers for all the devices.

 

The issue linked sounds a little different. He's having trouble with the (mouse)  Kone Pure Monitor application, which works for me. It looks like the mouse and keyboard have two applications each to them, a monitor app and a configuration app. The monitor application runs in the background and shows up on the task manager but not in the system tray. The thing that is crashing for me is the Talk application which allows the easy shift buttons on each device to communicate with each other.

 

I wonder if there is something in the order in which these programs start up at boot time which could be affecting the performance of the Talk program.



#8 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 24 December 2013 - 19:34

I have tried legacy drivers as well to no avail. I currently have the most recent drivers for all the devices.

 

The issue linked sounds a little different. He's having trouble with the (mouse)  Kone Pure Monitor application, which works for me. It looks like the mouse and keyboard have two applications each to them, a monitor app and a configuration app. The monitor application runs in the background and shows up on the task manager but not in the system tray. The thing that is crashing for me is the Talk application which allows the easy shift buttons on each device to communicate with each other.

 

I wonder if there is something in the order in which these programs start up at boot time which could be affecting the performance of the Talk program.

 

Is possible: try disabling them from starting at boot and then manually starting them one by one yourself.



#9 OP GoOrange

GoOrange

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-March 07

Posted 27 December 2013 - 12:44

I tried turning the monitor programs off and then starting Roccat Talk which didn't help. Also re-tried starting talk with the monitor programs on with no luck.

 

This is just bizarre.



#10 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 27 December 2013 - 18:20

I tried turning the monitor programs off and then starting Roccat Talk which didn't help. Also re-tried starting talk with the monitor programs on with no luck.

 

This is just bizarre.

 

The only thing I got left is reinstalling or trying sfc /scannow to verify files.



#11 ragn0r

ragn0r

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-June 14

Posted 03 June 2014 - 20:49

I have the Roccat Ryos // MK Pro and the Roccat Kone Xtd Mouse.

I found similiar behavior after I marked the *.exe programs (Ryos Driver Ryos Kone) to run as administrator under the compatability tab. After unchecking the problem went away.

I had checked the compatability based on the guide for installing the light show that would cause the keyboard to operate the lights per a music *.mps file.



#12 ragn0r

ragn0r

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-June 14

Posted 03 June 2014 - 20:55

oops! ment to say *.mp3 file

I am not very adept at visionary sceneros so would like some suggestions on different profiles ( 1 → 5) with hot keys. Profile 1 for windows, profile 2 → 5 for different games.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!