Jump to content



Photo

Skype For Linux (Debian)

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 24 December 2013 - 18:39

I now loaded up Debian 7 again, and I can't remember how to get Skype on.

 

I remembered the MultiArch bit, but I can't get past this, using .deb from Skype website. Using gdebi to install. It's giving me:

Error: Dependency is not satisfiable: libasound2 (>= 1.0.16)

I have libasound2 verin 1.0.25. I remember there was a way to pass this, but I can't remember or find the info.

 



Best Answer +snaphat (Myles Landwehr) , 24 December 2013 - 20:33

Just for clarification, you did the steps like this, right? We are seeing your error on the net elsewhere and people are suggesting just doing this altogether:

 

dpkg --add-architecture i386

apt-get update

apt-get -f install

 

 

If, you have done that and there is still an issue, then you'll really need to check the dependencies manually to make sure they are actually installed and in a spot where the package manager can find them.

Go to the full post



#2 Kreuger

Kreuger

    Neowin's Local Grouch

  • Joined: 29-December 03
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 24 December 2013 - 18:58

Have a look here.



#3 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 24 December 2013 - 19:09

scratch that, I'm an idiot...

 

Edit: OK, I tried the --forget-depends bit, but it still gives me the same error.



#4 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 24 December 2013 - 19:31

Does Debian have a lib32asound2 package or such that'd fix the dependency issue?



#5 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 24 December 2013 - 19:50

It did have one, yes, but that changed nothing.



#6 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 24 December 2013 - 19:57

https://wiki.debian.org/skype



#7 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 24 December 2013 - 19:59

Odd, but I would have thought it would have installed that by default anyway given you are using multiarch (and the i386 package I'd believe). Perhaps, the shared library is symlinked incorrectly (i.e. check that and make sure the xxxx.SO.y.y.y is linked to xxxx.SO and in location where it can be found)?



#8 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 24 December 2013 - 20:06

david@debian-desktop:~$ sudo dpkg -i skype-install.deb
Selecting previously unselected package skype.
(Reading database ... 106610 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking skype (from skype-install.deb) ...
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of skype:
 skype depends on libasound2 (>= 1.0.16).
 skype depends on libc6 (>= 2.3.6-6~).
 skype depends on libc6 (>= 2.7).
 skype depends on libgcc1 (>= 1:4.1.1).
 skype depends on libqt4-dbus (>= 4:4.5.3).
 skype depends on libqt4-network (>= 4:4.8.0).
 skype depends on libqt4-xml (>= 4:4.5.3).
 skype depends on libqtcore4 (>= 4:4.7.0~beta1).
 skype depends on libqtgui4 (>= 4:4.8.0).
 skype depends on libqtwebkit4 (>= 2.1.0~2011week13).
 skype depends on libstdc++6 (>= 4.6).
 skype depends on libx11-6.
 skype depends on libxext6.
 skype depends on libxss1.
 skype depends on libxv1.
 skype depends on libssl1.0.0.

dpkg: error processing skype (--install):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Processing triggers for desktop-file-utils ...
Processing triggers for hicolor-icon-theme ...
Errors were encountered while processing:
 skype



#9 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 24 December 2013 - 20:07

david@debian-desktop:~$ sudo dpkg -i skype-install.deb
Selecting previously unselected package skype.
(Reading database ... 106610 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking skype (from skype-install.deb) ...
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of skype:
 skype depends on libasound2 (>= 1.0.16).
 skype depends on libc6 (>= 2.3.6-6~).
 skype depends on libc6 (>= 2.7).
 skype depends on libgcc1 (>= 1:4.1.1).
 skype depends on libqt4-dbus (>= 4:4.5.3).
 skype depends on libqt4-network (>= 4:4.8.0).
 skype depends on libqt4-xml (>= 4:4.5.3).
 skype depends on libqtcore4 (>= 4:4.7.0~beta1).
 skype depends on libqtgui4 (>= 4:4.8.0).
 skype depends on libqtwebkit4 (>= 2.1.0~2011week13).
 skype depends on libstdc++6 (>= 4.6).
 skype depends on libx11-6.
 skype depends on libxext6.
 skype depends on libxss1.
 skype depends on libxv1.
 skype depends on libssl1.0.0.

dpkg: error processing skype (--install):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Processing triggers for desktop-file-utils ...
Processing triggers for hicolor-icon-theme ...
Errors were encountered while processing:
 skype

Followed by:

 

If you then proceed with

# apt-get -f install

quite a few i386 packages will be installed.



#10 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 24 December 2013 - 20:11

Followed by:

 

I did that, it still fails. Says the same thing as above.



#11 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 24 December 2013 - 20:33   Best Answer

Just for clarification, you did the steps like this, right? We are seeing your error on the net elsewhere and people are suggesting just doing this altogether:

 

dpkg --add-architecture i386

apt-get update

apt-get -f install

 

 

If, you have done that and there is still an issue, then you'll really need to check the dependencies manually to make sure they are actually installed and in a spot where the package manager can find them.



#12 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 24 December 2013 - 20:44

Just for clarification, you did the steps like this, right? We are seeing your error on the net elsewhere and people are suggesting just doing this altogether:

 

 

If, you have done that and there is still an issue, then you'll really need to check the dependencies manually to make sure they are actually installed and in a spot where the package manager can find them.

 

Thanks, that worked. I SWEAR I did that before, but now it all works... TY :D



#13 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 24 December 2013 - 20:53

Thanks, that worked. I SWEAR I did that before, but now it all works... TY :D

 

No problem, it happens, perhaps you did the steps out of order of forgot the update part and it was messing things up.  :)



#14 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 24 December 2013 - 22:04

No problem, it happens, perhaps you did the steps out of order of forgot the update part and it was messing things up.  :)

 

Probably, yeah... I'll be doing that maybe a few times a year till it gets in my head.



#15 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 24 December 2013 - 22:11

Probably, yeah... I'll be doing that maybe a few times a year till it gets in my head.

 

You'll be doing it forever because following guides on the Internet is actually difficult... some are just written so poorly :laugh: