Jump to content



Photo

No internet after installing Spotflux


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 27 December 2013 - 00:34

Not sure if this is better suited here or the software forum??

 

I need a VPN so that i can listen to American radio. I need one that is free with no cap.

Spotflux used to work for me. I then formatted the HDD & when i got my Virtual Machine up & running (thankfully didn't do this on the host) i installed Spotflux. In fact that's the only reason i made the VM.

But now the internet doesn't work. I can't load a damn thing.

Am i supposed to mess with the settings at all? Any other VPN out there that's free with no cap?




#2 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 27 December 2013 - 00:39

Someone said to do this (after uninstalling spotflux):

 

netsh winsock reset catalog
netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
ipconfig /registerdns

 

-http://forum.webuser...d.php?p=1027912



#3 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 27 December 2013 - 13:04

You don't need a vpn to listen to american radio

http://www.usliveradio.com/

You would need a VPN to circumvent a station streaming policy of their audio to limited regions of the world based upon IP. Or maybe your countries policy on where you can on the internet - either one is circumvention ;)

#4 OP Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 27 December 2013 - 23:41

You don't need a vpn to listen to american radio

http://www.usliveradio.com/

You would need a VPN to circumvent a station streaming policy of their audio to limited regions of the world based upon IP. Or maybe your countries policy on where you can on the internet - either one is circumvention ;)

 

 

Which boils down to what i was saying ... to listen to the radio station i want to listen to, i need a VPN.

 

However you want to dress it up, that's what i'm needing. The technicalities aren't really important.

 

Snaphat - i have no idea what you just said.

 

I know Spotflux used to work before i formatted my HDD. No idea why it no longer works.



#5 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 27 December 2013 - 23:42

Which boils down to what i was saying ... to listen to the radio station i want to listen to, i need a VPN.

 

However you want to dress it up, that's what i'm needing. The technicalities aren't really important.

 

Snaphat - i have no idea what you just said.

 

I know Spotflux used to work before i formatted my HDD. No idea why it no longer works.

 

Uninstall spotflux and run the commands I listed in command line to fix the Internet.

 

EDIT: what I imagine BudMan is getting at is that this forum isn't the place for helping people bypass licensing restrictions on streaming audio; which is generally why you haven't seen anyone jumping to help you do that. The best you are going to get is what I or BudMan gave you me thinks.



#6 OP Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 05 January 2014 - 16:48

Are you allowed to point me in the direction of where i may be able to get help then?

 

Or is that not allowed either?



#7 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 05 January 2014 - 21:41

Are you allowed to point me in the direction of where i may be able to get help then?

 

Or is that not allowed either?

 

I wouldn't actually know where to get help (I don't used the particular software). But in general, I'd imagine you'd want to contact support.