Jump to content



Photo

reformatting is painful


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 31 December 2013 - 07:16

so I always hate reformatting windows or upgrading because it takes me a few days to install my apps and configure my settings. 

 

I was hoping to setup a VM with a dedicated hard drive and do all that work while still enjoying my system. When I am good and ready, I would dual boot and make sure everything is straight before scrapping the old system. 

 

 

Is this possible with virtualbox? Seems too good to be true but my readings suggest that it's actually easy.

 

PS. I own Acronis backup and recovery. Doesn't that let me backup the VM and recover it onto the clean install of windows when I am ready? 




#2 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 31 December 2013 - 08:09

I'm just wondering, why not set up your system, set up the essential programs, then take a snapshot of the setup? That way when a format is needed in future you can just apply the snapshot image, which will install the OS and configure the applications to be identical to how you did it but without you needing to manually configure anything.

It wouldn't help with an upgrade, but then again I don't think what you're suggesting would help when upgrading either, just when formatting.

#3 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 31 December 2013 - 08:32

How often do you reformat your system? Properly maintained a Windows installation will last for several years. 

 

If you are re-installing every few months you're doing something wrong.



#4 georgevella

georgevella

    Software Developer

  • Joined: 15-May 02

Posted 31 December 2013 - 09:14

 

 

Is this possible with virtualbox? Seems too good to be true but my readings suggest that it's actually easy.

You will be sacrificing performance.  Why do you need to format every so often? Experiencing slowdowns or performance degradation? Easier clean up? I've had my laptop for two years and I've never formatted my HD, not even when upgrading between Win 7/Win8/Win81 - there was never the need to go through that hassle.



#5 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 31 December 2013 - 09:55

How often do you reformat your system? Properly maintained a Windows installation will last for several years. 

 

If you are re-installing every few months you're doing something wrong.

 

well with Microsoft switching all .1 updates to Upgrade Installs, I'm now forced to completely re-install every time they release an update, which I suspect will be every year or more frequently. I tried the Store upgrade but it promptly caused a BSOD after successfully installing, so there's that.



#6 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 31 December 2013 - 10:12

When a new version of windows is released I install in hyperv > install all programs and updates (except eu browser choice) > export the start screen layout after grouping all tiles and using gpedit.msc to set the start screen layout from this file > sysprep and then backup using weds or some other solution

The result is an image of windows that can be deployed on any hardware and boots with all my programs and start screen layout out of the box.

#7 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 31 December 2013 - 14:31

I actually like reformatting but that's simply because i don't have tons of crap on my system. I basically use it for the browser which is why i've been looking into a tablet. I'll then setup this machine with office and few key programs and fire it up when i need those options but for everything else i just need simple stuff.

Gonna do it tomorrow to start fresh for the new year :p

#8 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 31 December 2013 - 16:24

When a new version of windows is released I install in hyperv > install all programs and updates (except eu browser choice) > export the start screen layout after grouping all tiles and using gpedit.msc to set the start screen layout from this file > sysprep and then backup using weds or some other solution

The result is an image of windows that can be deployed on any hardware and boots with all my programs and start screen layout out of the box.

 

^And the virtual disks can be added to the boat loader and booted directly in Windows 7 or later.



#9 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1u1

Posted 31 December 2013 - 16:29

I usually  (in the past at least) did a full system format once a year or so. I have an area setup on my nas that contains install files for applications and whatnot to improve the process. and for a while there i just kept an imagex file of my computer after i had configured it. so at that point i just have to do updates.

 

since i got my new laptop (had to give up the desktop as i have no where to put it) i have not formatted the computer, nor so i see a reason to yet (running Windows 8.1)



#10 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 31 December 2013 - 17:13

I usually reinstall when a new version of windows is released. When windows 8.1 came out I loathed the thought of reinstalling. So I just did the upgrade from the store. I had to fix a few small issues, but now everything is running great.

 

I still have drive images and 500GB 2.5 inch hard drives each one being an image of each computer I use. So if a computers drive dies I can pop that drive out and pop in the 500gb 2.5 inch clone for that computer and boot from it and get back to work minus a few updates.



#11 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1, BSD Unix
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 31 December 2013 - 17:18

+100 for snapshots.  Once and done, only time I ever reformat is with a new OS.  This current install I'm on is around 3 years old or so, haven't had a need to reformat, still as perky as day one.  Only time I touch the snapshot is if a drive dies or is replaced typically.. I don't let my system get cluttered, if there's something I'm not sure I'll want to keep or is only temporary it goes into the sandbox or a VM first.. if I like it it gets installed for real, if not, buhbye and done, no fuss no mess.



#12 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 01 January 2014 - 02:06

My current install is 3 years old so I am totally up for a reformat. I just want the process to be smoother and I want access to all my settings and apps from minute 1.... 

 

Upgrading to 8.1 from 7 so the imagex solutions aren't ideal. I actually do daily snapshots with acronis, that's how it's lasted 3 years. 

 

I have decided to make a VM out of my current system and install the new one fresh. Then I will be able to get on the VM of my current system and continue daily operations while I slowly configure the new one. 



#13 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 04 January 2014 - 08:22

that's gonna come with some hefty performance penalties.

 

how much do you have to configure? it only takes me 2 days on and off to reinstall everything and reconfigure all the settings to mostly right. then i just make minor adjustments when things come up that i forgot during the initial config.



#14 ashpowell

ashpowell

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-November 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 January 2014 - 08:44

How do you do a snapshot?



#15 +dsbig

dsbig

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-April 09

Posted 04 January 2014 - 14:01

I hate reinstalling. as I would lose a couple days of being able to watching my shows, neowin and work or  what ever else.

 

I dont like system restore as it can make problems worse sometimes. I had it happen couple time to me.

 

I use acronis home to make system images. and I dual boot windows 8.1 and windows 7

 

although I did make a mistake last year. I was making monthly backups from 2012 to 2013 and decided to clean up and remove older backups.

 

later I found out. there was some uncorrectable software problems and my recent backups had the same problem. so I had to reinstall from scratch. 

 

and it takes long time to install all of the adobe products and office and then update everything.........

 

rule to the wise. dont delete older backups unless your sure there no problems with the current system.