Jump to content



Photo

Xbox One Netflix or WiFi Problem

xbox one netflix support

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 02 January 2014 - 03:28

Not sure if it is the Netflix app, which needs work, or WiFi on the X1.  But video will buffer a lot and then eventually error out and I have to go back to the menu and play again.  Netflix on my laptop and tablet is working fine playing Netflix and streaming to my Chromecast works fine as well. 

 

Ideas?

 

thanks




#2 +Martog

Martog

    Snow Leopard Extraodinaire

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 14-August 01

Posted 02 January 2014 - 04:19

Is there anyway you can hardware the X1 to see if it's the WiFi or the app? Could always delete the app and re-download it as well.



#3 vcfan

vcfan

    Straight Ballin'

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 02 January 2014 - 04:51

sometimes that happens to me with the xbox 360 and ps3 when using apps like Netflix,or NHL gamecenter live, but when run through the browser on PC, it works perfectly fine. in fact, ive completely abandoned the NHL apps on both consoles, as I get ridiculous buffering with a 250mbps connection. there is over head with these apps, as stuff has to go through xbox live, instead of being a direct tunnel to Netflix. either the server you're connecting to is ######ed, or there is congestion.

#4 GotBored

GotBored

    Brain Trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 24-June 13
  • OS: Windows
  • Phone: Nokia 3110

Posted 02 January 2014 - 10:02

Connect it to the internet via a network cable, it might fix your issue and it will be a lot better for online gaming also.



#5 vetDirtyLarry

DirtyLarry

    ®®\vers.12.vis.13.u.03.al\DL

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: dirty jersey
  • OS: Win 8 | OS X 10.8.5 | Android 4.2.3
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 02 January 2014 - 14:07

I had major issues with Twitch on the XBox One keeping its connection, and I am hard wired. I also seem to sign in and out and Live all of the time without prompting it too. I am starting to wonder if the One has connectivity issues overall at an OS level.



#6 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Work) Windows 10 (Home)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 830

Posted 02 January 2014 - 14:30

I always praised AppleTVs Netflix app because it always spooled up quickly and maintained an HD stream vs the 360, which would take a while to start playing and then always start playing in SD and switch into HD later.  Now with the X1 I get similar behavior to the AppleTV, no problems at all.  Once soon after I got it it wouldn't connect to Xbox Live for some reason. I rebooted the console and that seemed to fix it.

 

Also, I've always been on WiFi.  Can't get a wired connection to the area I would need it.



#7 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 02 January 2014 - 17:56

I had major issues with Twitch on the XBox One keeping its connection, and I am hard wired. I also seem to sign in and out and Live all of the time without prompting it too. I am starting to wonder if the One has connectivity issues overall at an OS level.



Who is your internet provider?

#8 OP +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 02 January 2014 - 22:59

Cant try  cable connection ATM.  Dont have that sized cable and will be moving soon.  Going to try my 360 as well to see how that works.  Oddly enough, Netflix is working fine on the X1 ATM.



#9 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 02 January 2014 - 23:18

do you have comcast? could be a related to this issue http://www.neowin.ne...view=getnewpost



#10 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 02 January 2014 - 23:35

I have no problem with Netflix on XB1. But I have minor problem with Xbox Video on XB1 which freezing from time to time.



#11 incendy

incendy

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-October 05

Posted 03 January 2014 - 00:03

I have no problem with Netflix on XB1. But I have minor problem with Xbox Video on XB1 which freezing from time to time.

Same here, Netflix works great but Xbox Video has major issues. Very frustrating because almost all my movies are on Xbox Video. If I watch them on my computer they stream fine, Xbox 360 streams fine, but Xbox One the streaming is horrible. It will downgrade my quality constantly and at times kick me back to the video details page with an error. I don't get it.



#12 vetDirtyLarry

DirtyLarry

    ®®\vers.12.vis.13.u.03.al\DL

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: dirty jersey
  • OS: Win 8 | OS X 10.8.5 | Android 4.2.3
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 04 January 2014 - 04:37

Who is your internet provider?

Verizon FIOS, but I am pretty confident it has nothing to do with them, as every other component in my house, including my XBox 360, has zero issues. Only the One, which is why I feel it is something with the OS itself.



#13 GotBored

GotBored

    Brain Trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 24-June 13
  • OS: Windows
  • Phone: Nokia 3110

Posted 04 January 2014 - 04:43

Verizon FIOS, but I am pretty confident it has nothing to do with them, as every other component in my house, including my XBox 360, has zero issues. Only the One, which is why I feel it is something with the OS itself.


Sounds like a connectivity issue with the X1 itself, seems fairly wide spread but most likely just a software issue. Bring the issue up with Microsoft support and hopefully the more people who send in bug reports the faster it gets fixed.

#14 OP +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 04 January 2014 - 04:45

do you have comcast? could be a related to this issue http://www.neowin.ne...view=getnewpost

 

Was reading that earlier.  So I will have to look in to that some more.  I got home today and my internet speed was less that 1mbs.  Odd but reset it rout/modem and all is well.  So Comcast may be having issues.  Have not called support yet because I hate talking to those idiots.



#15 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 04 January 2014 - 06:51

Verizon FIOS, but I am pretty confident it has nothing to do with them, as every other component in my house, including my XBox 360, has zero issues. Only the One, which is why I feel it is something with the OS itself.



The issues related to Comcast are only showing on the X1, not the 360, so its not impossible that a similar issue might be affecting you. Its something about how Comcast handled IPv6 connections and the X1 not liking that method.

But regardless, since its only Comcast that has been officially affected, I would suggest calling MS support and letting them know of your issue.