Jump to content



Photo

WHY am I getting so many popups!?!?!?!?!?

images

58 replies to this topic

#46 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 13,163 posts
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 29 March 2014 - 20:42

Holy toolbars Batman! :o

 

I cringe when I see this too. Takes a good amount of time to clean up.




#47 Xerino

Xerino

    The Mouth

  • 2,789 posts
  • Joined: 09-January 04
  • Location: California
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 29 March 2014 - 23:00

I think Spybot S&D would have a stroke and crash just attempting to list all that crap lol



#48 +Vykranth

Vykranth

    Chantez, compagnons, dans la nuit la Liberté nous écoute

  • 3,247 posts
  • Joined: 02-September 04
  • Location: Nancy, France
  • OS: Windows 7 x64

Posted 30 March 2014 - 09:49

People are so illiterate, I am surprise that not one has hijacked their computer :D

 
People are illiterate because they have not been taught that there are crooks, scammers ready to steal them.
Warwagon should be praised that he is repairing computers and teaching users.


Search engine results these days pretty much bait the muggles.


Sadly true.
I put adobe flash in Google.
First link: Télécharger Flash Player® - flash-playing.com‎, adobe-flashplayer.flash-playing.com/‎
Second link: Adobe - Installer Adobe Flash Player, get.adobe.com/fr/flashplayer/‎

How non savvy people can figure the good one?

#49 riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • 7,815 posts
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 30 March 2014 - 09:59

I usually backup all their data in safe mode, format and restore from a clean, up to date, Windows image. Fastest way possible to deal with this.



#50 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 28,804 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 21 May 2015 - 17:15

Had a customer call me today because she was trying to submit something to a government website,  but they only accept IE9 and Firefox. They don't accept IE 10, IE 11 or Chrome.

 

So she called me because she need to install Firefox. She was going to go looking for it but got scared and called me.

 

So i'm thinking "OH GOD, you go looking for it and you are going to end up with a bunch of crap on your system."

 

Well turns out she already did go looking for it and acquired

 

Chromium

Unchecky (Yep! Adware installs it)

Extended update

Drivercure

Weatherbug.

 

and still didn't have Firefox.



#51 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,132 posts
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 21 May 2015 - 17:28

Had a customer call me today because she was trying to submit something to a government website,  but they only accept IE9 and Firefox. They don't accept IE 10, IE 11 or Chrome.

 

So she called me because she need to install Firefox. She was going to go looking for it but got scared and called me.

 

So i'm thinking "OH GOD, you go looking for it and you are going to end up with a bunch of crap on your system."

 

Well turns out she already did go looking for it and acquired

 

Chromium

Unchecky (Yep! Adware installs it)

Extended update

Drivercure

Weatherbug.

 

and still didn't have Firefox.

Revoke Admin Access and you will have an easy life;



#52 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 28,804 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 21 May 2015 - 17:29

Revoke Admin Access and you will have an easy life;

 

Actually if I did that to all 2,250 customers I would just be getting phone raped 24 /7 .

 

If they knew the admin password they would blindly enter it when asked. If they didn't know it they would phone rape me.



#53 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 28,804 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 21 May 2015 - 17:34

i hope that's a pasted together pic, or someone did all that on purpose!

 

It is and it isn't.

 

It is in the fact that I couldn't get it all in one screenshot so I had to take a screenshot and scroll down and take another. I tool about 3 or 4 screenshots to get the entire list.

 

But yes, that was 1 persons computer.



#54 x-scratch

x-scratch

    Whaaaaaaaat

  • 3,064 posts
  • Joined: 19-November 03
  • Location: California, USA
  • OS: Fedora 21
  • Phone: Iphone 5S

Posted 21 May 2015 - 17:38

what the hell is up will all those toolbars?



#55 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,132 posts
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 21 May 2015 - 17:44

Actually if I did that to all 2,250 customers I would just be getting phone raped 24 /7 .

 

If they knew the admin password they would blindly enter it when asked. If they didn't know it they would phone rape me.

That sucks, the best approach is to get the bosses on your side at the start by explaining this is the #1 thing you can do to improve the security of their data and greatly reduce the risk of data loss it keeps the staff from whinging about it.

 

I feel your pain.



#56 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 28,804 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 21 May 2015 - 17:45

That sucks, the best approach is to get the bosses on your side at the start by explaining this is the #1 thing you can do to improve the security of their data and greatly reduce the risk of data loss it keeps the staff from whinging about it.

 

85% of them are home users.



#57 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,992 posts
  • Joined: 21-January 13
  • Location: USA
  • OS: W8.1 u1
  • Phone: Nokia 521

Posted 21 May 2015 - 17:49

Had a customer call me today because she was trying to submit something to a government website,  but they only accept IE9 and Firefox. They don't accept IE 10, IE 11 or Chrome.

 

So she called me because she need to install Firefox. She was going to go looking for it but got scared and called me.

 

So i'm thinking "OH GOD, you go looking for it and you are going to end up with a bunch of crap on your system."

 

Well turns out she already did go looking for it and acquired

 

Chromium

Unchecky (Yep! Adware installs it)

Extended update

Drivercure

Weatherbug.

 

and still didn't have Firefox.

This is one of the best arguments for App stores.



#58 +DConnell

DConnell

    Madman with a blue box

  • 2,748 posts
  • Joined: 16-July 04
  • Location: Honey Brook PA
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Lumia 1520 running Windows Phone 8.1

Posted 21 May 2015 - 18:07

This is one of the best arguments for App stores.

 

Agreed. While there should always be a way to install from outside the store, if it were discouraged for regular users and the store better populated with legit versions of software, it would make our lives a lot easier.

 

The trick will be getting the programs in the store, and educating users to check there before going on the web.



#59 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 28,804 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 22 May 2015 - 14:21

Had a customer call me this morning telling me she got a new computer and needed help installing Solitaire. She said she went "Looking for it" and I instantly knew she loaded her computer up with adware.

 

Once I logged on she had about 6 difference things of adware. She said "I'm also getting a lot of popups"