Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8.1 Sleep Mode not working


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 bikeman25

bikeman25

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-April 05
  • Location: US-Michigan
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64 with Media Center
  • Phone: Windows 8 Phone--Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 04 January 2014 - 17:03

Hi All

 

Auto Sleep Mode not working for some reason on my Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit System,  System software is WIndows 8.1 Pro 64bit, Avast Antivirus 9.0.2011,  (willing to switch to Windows Defender if need to),  Just want sleep mode to work properly for the time I set it for---Tried 1 hour failed, tried 30 minutes mode, failed so far.  

 

 

Any advice welcomed.

 

 

P.S. I prefer using sleep mode since I get right back on it soon as I wake up in the morning...Currently set for 30 minutes, if that isn't good for the hard drive, I can set for longer time, or configure it different, just as long as it works properly

 

 




#2 Grunsprek

Grunsprek

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-March 10

Posted 04 January 2014 - 17:15

(edited)

 

Run cmd by Winkey+R, or right-click bottom-left corner in Win 8 Desktop and type in powercfg /? to see some troubleshooting options.

 

Maybe powercfg /requests to see what driver or application is requesting power.

 

check this thread (kind of long): http://social.techne...reventing-sleep

 

Running powercfg /energy, you can get a report of devices not entering suspend state. For example the report on mine says about my VIA motherboard audio: "The device or driver has made a request to prevent the system from automatically entering sleep."

 

When you run powercfg /energy report, copy the html report from c:\windows\sytem32 to your desktop because it won't open from there.



#3 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 520

Posted 04 January 2014 - 17:28

Like Grunsprek said, open a Command Prompt as an Administrator and type 'powercfg -requests' and tell us or post a screen shot of what it says. Should give an idea of what's preventing sleep and help figure out how to fix it.



#4 OP bikeman25

bikeman25

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-April 05
  • Location: US-Michigan
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64 with Media Center
  • Phone: Windows 8 Phone--Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 04 January 2014 - 17:31

Here is the Energy Report if it lets me reply this time

 

 

Well nothing is pasting lol for some reason

 

may end up having to run sfc /scannow again from boot

 

 

USB Suspend: Device not entering selective Suspend is what it said

 

just had to run sfc scan now recently to fix a green video screen on video playback due to some corrupt files, prior to that sleep mode was working fine..just recently switched to Avast Antivirus from Windows Defender,  (Also did a refresh install recently to fix a few issues)

 

 

couldn't even reply til I disabled Avast's online security plugin

 

Perhaps I should do a clean install once I get my faster internet going, and upgrade to 8.1 the proper way thru the Windows Store from 8.0, last upgrade used an ISO got from RL friend, and installed it that way.



#5 BaikenGuro

BaikenGuro

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-January 05
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 04 January 2014 - 17:49

Go to your Control Panel (the normal one, not the one in Metro) and search for HomeGroup. Leave the homegroup, make sure the 'sleep after...' option is set in Power options and see if that changes anything.



#6 OP bikeman25

bikeman25

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-April 05
  • Location: US-Michigan
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64 with Media Center
  • Phone: Windows 8 Phone--Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 04 January 2014 - 17:52

Currently is No Homegroup on the network, tested 30 minute sleep setting before, didn't change anything...still looking into what the cause fully could be, and going from there at this point. 

 

Tired of trouble shooting PC problems already...Either i'll leave avast in, and see if PC will sleep after I do offline (boot) sfc /scannow, and see if it works better after that, or wait til my cable internet is installed, and do a completely clean install of 8.0, and then upgrade to 8.1 thru the Store properly--(time consuming) but not sure what else to do at this point.  

 

Could be avast interfering I suppose, but I don't know for sure...Sleep mode was working properly a few weeks ago, but had to do refresh install since all video playback screen was all green



#7 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 04 January 2014 - 18:24

Here is the Energy Report if it lets me reply this time

Well nothing is pasting lol for some reason


There is a little switch icon in the reply editor at the top left corner of the toolbar. Toggle that and you should be able to paste content in plain text mode.

#8 wibble64

wibble64

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-April 10

Posted 04 January 2014 - 18:28

try disabling ipv6 for the network connection , was the only thing that fixed the sleep problem for me.



#9 OP bikeman25

bikeman25

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-April 05
  • Location: US-Michigan
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64 with Media Center
  • Phone: Windows 8 Phone--Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 04 January 2014 - 18:31

tried that, didn't still paste at all....replies seem to be working better now though, just still can't paste anything, why I don't know

 

There is a little switch icon in the reply editor at the top left corner of the toolbar. Toggle that and you should be able to paste content in plain text mode.



#10 jakem1

jakem1

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 06

Posted 04 January 2014 - 18:47

This might sound a bit silly but are you sure you're copying successfully.  You could always paste into Notepad before posting to confirm that the clipboard is populated :)



#11 Nas

Nas

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 12-November 04

Posted 04 January 2014 - 18:49

From my experience, Sleep Mode was often interfered by various services which mimic or supervise inputs.  In this case, Avast (with all bells and whistles activated) is a possible culprit.  The best resort is by process of elimination:

 

My suggestion: disconnect from Internet, uninstall Avast, reboot... then go into Desktop view and walk away from the computer.

 

(Yeah, this is a lengthly process but it's necessary to be 100% certain.)



#12 wibble64

wibble64

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-April 10

Posted 04 January 2014 - 22:25

there's a long thread on eightforums :-  http://www.eightforu...es-sleep-3.html

 

looks like disabling ipv6 works for quiet a few people,  some quirks were introduced into windows 8.1 by adding more networking i.e skydrive  from what ive read.



#13 Wapoz

Wapoz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 13

Posted 04 January 2014 - 23:19

Both my windows 8.1 PC's seem to randomly wake themselves up at random times after going to sleep.



#14 OP bikeman25

bikeman25

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-April 05
  • Location: US-Michigan
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro X64 with Media Center
  • Phone: Windows 8 Phone--Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 05 January 2014 - 15:26

Well with Avast Removed, and IPv6 Disabled, Sleep Mode works fine now--and seems to have stayed asleep thus far.     Antivirus Protection Now Windows Defender built into 8.1, IE 11 Enhanced Mode on, I guess I should be safe enough at this point...



#15 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 05 January 2014 - 15:54

I have this same issue with my laptop and desktop both running 8.1. My laptop will stay asleep for hours then randomly wake up. My Desktop will only stay asleep for a few mins before waking. If disabling ipv6 is a workaround, what good is that? what if you actually want to use ipv6?





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!