Jump to content



Photo

iPad Air low memory crash?


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 +TruckWEB

TruckWEB

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-December 01
  • Location: Quebec, Canada

Posted 06 January 2014 - 00:43

I've been reading about problems that seems to affect the iPad Air (and probably the mini retina) with iOS 7.  Some say that iTune crash when open in landscape mode or if it does open, it crash if you try to watch a movie preview.  Many say that Safari is very unstable and can crash (close) easily.

 

Many are saying that all those problems are because the iPad only has 1Gb of ram and it may not be enough with the switch to 64bit CPU/OS.

 

Did anyone of you experience problems with the iPad Air??




#2 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 06 January 2014 - 01:09

Don't be fooled into thinking that 64-bit means double the memory usage. The reported increase I'm seeing from AnandTech is 20-30% (though, unless I see more sources, I'm skeptical if that is typical). I wouldn't be surprised if Safari is actually buggy on the air and just eating memory though since from what I've read the crashes coincide with low memory error logs.



#3 Co_Co

Co_Co

    g status

  • Joined: 26-July 04
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 06 January 2014 - 01:36

its probably ios7 and eventually when 7.x is released they will fix it. maybe. iunno apple has been kinda disappointing to me on the software side as of late 



#4 Marshall

Marshall

    ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 22-June 03
  • Location: USA

Posted 06 January 2014 - 05:43

Moved Here



#5 #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 06 January 2014 - 15:37

I find that safari is very buggy and will crash alot.  I use chrome more and more now.



#6 OP +TruckWEB

TruckWEB

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-December 01
  • Location: Quebec, Canada

Posted 09 January 2014 - 01:06

People with iPad Air or iPad mini Retina, iPhone 5S :

 

Using Safari or Chrome (both use the same Webkit), go visit those site.  Scroll down (fast), up, pinch zoom....

 

1) http://9to5mac.com/2...ieve-th e-hype/

 

2) http://recode.net/20...an-apple-store/

** FAST Scroll down, try to read and leave a comment.

 

3) http://www.machineryhouse.com.au/

** Go to Spare Parts

** Go to miscellaneous
** Pinch zoom pan.

 

Tell me what happens to your iDevice while visiting those site.  

 

Go check under Settings / General / About / Diagnostics & Usage and under Diagnostic & Usage Data, tell me if you see LowMemory errors.

 

I think the new iDevice, with the 64Bit CPU and iOS 7 is maybe stretching the 1Gb of memory to it's max...  Or there is a real BIG problem with Webkit under iOS 7.



#7 Jared-

Jared-

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-October 07
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: meh whatever works at the time (OS X 10.9.4)

Posted 09 January 2014 - 01:09

Again with this 1GB and 64bit CPU memory debate.

 

It's a software issue.



#8 OP +TruckWEB

TruckWEB

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-December 01
  • Location: Quebec, Canada

Posted 09 January 2014 - 01:16

Again with this 1GB and 64bit CPU memory debate.

 

It's a software issue.

 

Apple is not listening because it's still not fixed in 7.1B3



#9 nukenorman

nukenorman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-July 02

Posted 09 January 2014 - 01:49

for such an expensive product like that apple really should of put 2 gigs of ram in their like Android tablets at that price point.I feel like the 1 gig ram for such a nice product is the weak link.



#10 Forjo

Forjo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-January 13
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows Phone 8.1
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 09 January 2014 - 02:12

I call BS.  Everyone knows Apple products just work.  :p

 

Just out of curiosity, I tried those sites Truckee listed.... on my Surface RT. No issues at all, but wow, that last one (the misc section) is incredibly long!  My arm got tired scrolling.

 

I was able to get to the end, and flip instantly from the top to the end by pressing Home and End (or maybe Shift Home and End), but wow, I've never seen a web page that long.

 

-Forjo



#11 +macoman

macoman

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 25-December 13

Posted 09 January 2014 - 02:20

I don't understand why apple can't add 2GB minimum of memory on these devices. My Lumia 1520 does not have 64bit and come with 2GB of memory. Apple think that 1GB is enough... Lol

#12 ObiWanToby

ObiWanToby

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-April 04
  • Location: Columbus, OH

Posted 09 January 2014 - 02:32

Added memory comes with power usage and cost. Apple tradtionally has done well with their controlled platfrom, even with low memory.

 

My iPad error has a lot of crashes, especially in Safari. This is definitely something new. I am pretty disappointed. I'll be using the browser then it just disappears.



#13 nukenorman

nukenorman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-July 02

Posted 09 January 2014 - 02:48

I dont think putting 2 gigs of ram or even 1.5 gigs of ram would up the cost. My out dated Samsung Tab 2 released in 2012 has 1 gig of ram and cost me 180. Most new tablets have 2 gigs of ram for under 300.



#14 ObiWanToby

ObiWanToby

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-April 04
  • Location: Columbus, OH

Posted 09 January 2014 - 02:53

I dont think putting 2 gigs of ram or even 1.5 gigs of ram would up the cost. My out dated Samsung Tab 2 released in 2012 has 1 gig of ram and cost me 180. Most new tablets have 2 gigs of ram for under 300.

 

It will add cost for Apple. They are incredibly successful.

 

They probably sold maybe 130 million iPads in 2013. That is 130 million bucks if each chip cost 1 dollar, which probably isn't true. Apple, like Intel, is a very high margin company.

 

Having said that the devices work reasonably well for only 1GB ram. Their multi tasking isn't anywhere near android or windows though.



#15 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 09 January 2014 - 03:12

Added memory comes with power usage and cost. Apple tradtionally has done well with their controlled platfrom, even with low memory.

 

My iPad error has a lot of crashes, especially in Safari. This is definitely something new. I am pretty disappointed. I'll be using the browser then it just disappears.

 

Additional memory would have a minimal increase on power usage because Apple would simply replace the current memory package with a new one (read as: you would not see double the power consumption, you'd probably see less than half a watt differences between a 1GB vs 2GB package). Unfortunately, I can't pull actual wattage for the particular device because the company that makes it is keeping the datasheet private.