Graphics card for 120fps setup

Im building a new PC and I want to get into gaming at 120fps+ with that LightBoost hack. I've been using the same monitor since 2009 and its time for an upgrade.

Right now I'm thinking of using 2 GTX 770 2GB cards in SLI. Is this over/under kill for High settings @ 120 fps? I'll be starting out with just a single monitor setup but might go up to three, space-permitting.

CPU is an AMD FX-8350 with 16GB of RAM.

For high resolution high quality gaming at a smooth 120FPS nothing will be overkill. Make sure to go G-sync then, will probably help more than being able to reach 120FPS.

With two GTX 770's you still won't get 120FPS in most games at high settings.

You still didn't specify resolution. If you are talking 1080p then i guess, 1440p? 2160p? Which is it though?

You can 100% do it in VGA though, i know that much for sure :p

With a G-Sync monitor you can have lower framerates (down to around 30fps) and it'll still look butter smooth. Honestly, I'd just invest in G-Sync rather than more GPU(s).

why 120 FPS? is your eye only 60 FPS anyway?

It does help, but 60FPS on a good monitor will be almost as good.

Stuff like LightBoost gets rid of motion blur almost completely. It's similar to Black Frame Insertion on TV's. It looks really nice but requires smooth framerates to have any effect. And Lightboost only works with 120Hz monitors as far as I know.

Still, a proper G-Sync monitor will probably help more.

Does high FPS even matter these days?  Game developers use elapsed time and not static values for updates.  Plus, don't most games actually limit you to 60fps, even if their fps display shows higher?

I have one GTX 680 and I use 2560x1440 resolution.  It is decent (50+), but not 120fps.

Games don't go over your monitor's refresh rate since there's no point. It's usually 60Hz so games don't go over 60FPS. If you create a custom resolution with a higher refresh rate you'll get a higher FPS 'cap' too.