Jump to content



Photo

Drive models in RAID


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 06 January 2014 - 19:15

I have a Synology 1511+ NAS with the DX510 add-on. The 1511+ has 5 x TB Seagate Barracuda drives and the addon has 5 WD Red NAS drives. One of the WD Red's was DoA when I got the 5 just FYI. Anyways, my setup is configured as "Synology hybrid raid with 1 drive tolerance". I should have set it up as 2 drive tolerance but I'm glad at least the 1 drive tolerance was there because one of the Seagate drives went bad. I bought another WB Red to replace the Seagate. Is there a problem with that? All the drives are 3TB drives, just the main unit will 1 have 1 WD 3 TB drive and 4 Seagate 3TB drives. I assume the make/model doesn't matter as long as the capacity is the same, right?


#2 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Banned

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12

Posted 06 January 2014 - 19:23

I don't think there will be a problem. RAID drives don't have to be identical, though if they aren't the same capacity they will be limited to whatever the smallest drive is.



#3 froggyliver

froggyliver

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-September 11
  • Location: Montana

Posted 06 January 2014 - 19:24

Typically RAID requirement is at least minimum the size of the other drives and same drive connector. Brand doesn't matter. But with a NAS there are other possible things to look at too such as drives made for a NAS and also what Synology said they are compatible with. But if you are using a WD Red then just grab another same size.



#4 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 06 January 2014 - 19:32

Moved to Hardware Hangouts



#5 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 06 January 2014 - 23:00

Yeah I didn't really know what I was doing when I set it up with Seagate Barracuda drives. I need to figure out a way to replace my remaining 4 Seagate drives with WD Red NAS drives.