Jump to content



Photo

PlayStation Now

official playstation now ps now emulation streaming ps1 ps2 ps3 ps4 ps vita

  • Please log in to reply
203 replies to this topic

#31 Sandor

Sandor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 07 January 2014 - 20:46

Can't wait for this. If the quality is there, I'm more than willing to pay a subscription fee to get access to what amounts to a huge backwards compatibility feature.

Remove backwards compatibility

Wait a while

Have people offer to pay you subs to re-instate it

Profit.




#32 Sandor

Sandor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 07 January 2014 - 20:47

things like this are why uncapped internet connections should be mandatory.

 

Assuming you have an uncapped one then?



#33 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 07 January 2014 - 20:52

Remove backwards compatibility
Wait a while
Have people offer to pay you subs to re-instate it
Profit.


That is true, I can't deny the irony.

Part of me tries to remind me of that fact.

#34 Showan

Showan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 12
  • Location: Amurrika
  • OS: W7, W8
  • Phone: Lumia 521

Posted 07 January 2014 - 22:11

This has me excited and cautious at the same time.

 

Data caps (i only get 250GB a month)

Bandwith for some in the world (i at least get 25mbps+ up and down).  Just doesn't seem like it'll be a good experience if you have anything under 12mbps IMHO.

 

How much space will the Cache partition take up (or does it automatically purge when done?)



#35 Brendeth

Brendeth

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 10-March 10
  • Location: Qld, Australia

Posted 07 January 2014 - 22:33

Well I still can't run HD in Youtube or Netflix, so while I'd totally welcome this service it just doesn't seem feasible for me, plus input lag.... I don't think I'd ever be able to handle that.



#36 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 07 January 2014 - 22:49

This has me excited and cautious at the same time.
 
Data caps (i only get 250GB a month)
Bandwith for some in the world (i at least get 25mbps+ up and down).  Just doesn't seem like it'll be a good experience if you have anything under 12mbps IMHO.
 
How much space will the Cache partition take up (or does it automatically purge when done?)


I'm currently using a 10 down/5 up connection, so I do worry that I might get left out of a service like this.

I just want to try it out. It would be so nice to see this stuff just work.

#37 Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 07 January 2014 - 23:09

Sounds good, but it will probably run like ass for me (3.5mb broadband). Only thing I really care about is playing games on the DS4 and with the faster OS. I'll happily keep playing my PS3, I just wish the DS4 was compatible wirelessly.

 

The bigger thing here is being able to use it on the Vita, with the screen being small you'll get away with streaming "pixelation" and things will still look better than any native Vita title.



#38 OP Andrew

Andrew

    Once More 'Round the Sun

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 14-September 03

Posted 07 January 2014 - 23:18

Sounds good, but it will probably run like ass for me (3.5mb broadband). Only thing I really care about is playing games on the DS4 and with the faster OS. I'll happily keep playing my PS3, I just wish the DS4 was compatible wirelessly.

 

The bigger thing here is being able to use it on the Vita, with the screen being small you'll get away with streaming "pixelation" and things will still look better than any native Vita title.

 

I'm wondering if PS Now will include Vita games and the West won't recieve the Vita TV..

 

Hope I'm wrong though. I already have a Vita backlog from PS+ to make use of.



#39 Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 07 January 2014 - 23:25

I'm wondering if PS Now will include Vita games and the West won't recieve the Vita TV..

 

Hope I'm wrong though. I already have a Vita backlog from PS+ to make use of.

 

Nah I'm sure they'll do Vita TV for those without internet, or like me with crap internet. Everything is needed to keep the Vita afloat :p

 

Just noticed all of this seems to have came from Kaz's keynote, watching it now - http://www.ustream.tv/sony

 

I dumped that CES stream yesterday after 10 minutes, it was unbearable. At least this one has a mildly interesting and creative start.



#40 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 07 January 2014 - 23:26

I'm wondering if PS Now will include Vita games and the West won't recieve the Vita TV..
 
Hope I'm wrong though. I already have a Vita backlog from PS+ to make use of.



That's a scary thought. I'm really interested in the Vita TV for that.

Although, they did say that this service would work on tablets and other devices, so what about a pc app that could access the service?

It sounds insane, but could they go as far as offer people the option to pay a fee to be able to play ps3,ps2,and ps1 via their pc or tablet?

#41 vcfan

vcfan

    Doing the Humpty Dance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 07 January 2014 - 23:50

I was excited about the rumor that Microsoft was going to do this as well, because if it worked well, then that would be such an awesome feature. I had faith that they could pull it off,because of azure and their cloud infrastructure, but alas they ditched the idea because it just wouldn't work that well.

Back in September, at a Microsoft company meeting, cloud-based games streaming was demonstrated using a copy of Halo 4, which was seen running on a PC and a Windows Phone with attached Xbox 360 controller. Albert Penello, lead planner on Xbox One, Xbox 360 and Kinect, said the technology is simultaneously "really cool and really problematic" to pull off.

"It's really cool and really problematic, all at the same time, insofar as it's really super cool if you happen to have the world's most awesome internet connection," Penello told Polygon. "It works way better than you'd expect it to. So managing quality of service, the tolerance people will have for it being crappy. Can you imagine, in this day and age, with the bad information around, and we can't control the quality of that experience and make sure it's good, or have to tell people they can't do it?"

Penello went on to say this specific demonstration was "a grand experiment" but it's all a matter of improving the Xbox Live network before going forward with any kind of feature launch. Penello also didn't rule out the possibility of streaming Xbox One games. "I know we did a lot of work behind it, and we said this is one of the things where the network just has to get better before we can do it. When that happens, you're going to have a really interesting conversation around that, can I actually run Xbox One games that way as well."



#42 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 07 January 2014 - 23:52

Right now the only game i know making use of the cloud is Forza 5 and i've not read any review proclaming it made the gameplay or the ai any better than Forza 4 or the gfx any better than Ryse or Killzone.

 

Graphically Forza 4 and 5 aren't too different, but the AIs in Forza 5 are based on that whole "drivatar" thing and they are wayyyy different from Forza 4 for me. Way less robotic. When I started, I was up against lower level drivatars who were pretty obnoxious rammers, but as I played on and my skill went up, I got some very good competition... aggressive but fair.



#43 hdca18

hdca18

    holla

  • Joined: 13-October 07
  • Location: Newfoundland, Canada
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 07 January 2014 - 23:53

Can't wait for this. If the quality is there, I'm more than willing to pay a subscription fee to get access to what amounts to a huge backwards compatibility feature.

YES!



#44 Melfster

Melfster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-August 05

Posted 07 January 2014 - 23:59

In order to really test this you have implement real word test.   You can't really have very controlled environment to see how good this will be.  



#45 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 08 January 2014 - 00:43

I just can't see this working well, for all the talk about bandwidth that's only half the problem, the other (bigger) issue is latency, unless the servers are very close to you you'll have issues.

OnLive had the same problem, and they ignored it basically (When asked about it, they'd change the subject) It's not something you can overcome.

Edit: The only real way to "solve" it is to have the servers very close to the end user, which is expensive so I'd expect a monthly subscription then, etc.