Jump to content



Photo

Does my motherboard support DDR2 RAM?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 2ral

2ral

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-November 04

Posted 11 January 2014 - 11:29

hi ppl

I have this Biostar motherboard with Pentium 4 cpu on it. Would you check closely its specs and tell me concretely whether it supports DDR2 RAM?

I know its for ddr1 but its awkward package says sth about supportin ddr2. I also heard some motherboards may support ddr2 event if its made for ddr.

http://www.biostar.c...p?S_ID=234#spec


#2 Reverse Engineer

Reverse Engineer

    sausage supper

  • Joined: 15-October 06
  • Location: glasgow
  • OS: win7

Posted 11 January 2014 - 11:36

try running the crucial system scanner.  it'll tell you all you need to know and a little more.

 

http://www.crucial.c.../systemscanner/



#3 OP 2ral

2ral

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-November 04

Posted 11 January 2014 - 11:38

I used that scanner, still unclear. it does say about ddr1 but still i wanna fully understand if it supports ddr2 or not, according to detailed specs of the board.

#4 D. S.

D. S.

    Hate is the new Love

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-June 04
  • Location: Portugal
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nokia 113

Posted 11 January 2014 - 11:55

hi ppl

I have this Biostar motherboard with Pentium 4 cpu on it. Would you check closely its specs and tell me concretely whether it supports DDR2 RAM?

I know its for ddr1 but its awkward package says sth about supportin ddr2. I also heard some motherboards may support ddr2 event if its made for ddr.

http://www.biostar.c...p?S_ID=234#spec

 

According to the chipset and motherboard specs, it does not seem to support DDR2. Even if it did, it would probably downclock it so much as to make it useless.



#5 68k

68k

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 20-January 10
  • Location: Australia

Posted 11 January 2014 - 12:03

Here is a picture of your motherboard from the link you specified:

 

b20070515_18.jpg

 

I don't see any DDR 2 slots on it. I don't think I've come across any P4 motherboards with DDR 2 slots (they do exist, but models supporting both DDR and DDR 2 RAM don't).

 

500px-Desktop_DDR_Memory_Comparison.svg.



#6 OP 2ral

2ral

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-November 04

Posted 11 January 2014 - 14:59

thanks guys for thoughts. i better off get ddr to boost my old pc i want keep

#7 Reverse Engineer

Reverse Engineer

    sausage supper

  • Joined: 15-October 06
  • Location: glasgow
  • OS: win7

Posted 11 January 2014 - 17:25

I used that scanner, still unclear. it does say about ddr1 but still i wanna fully understand if it supports ddr2 or not, according to detailed specs of the board.

it's not really unclear.  it simply specifies the types of memory your motherboard is compatible with, not what it wont work with.



#8 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 11 January 2014 - 17:28

Not sure why this has even gone on this long, the first link the OP posted clearly states
 

 

 

Support Dual Channel DDR 200/266/333/400 MHz

 

Not DDR2.... it's VERY clear.. since DDR and DDR2 are 2 totally different types of memory and are physically different.



#9 T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 13 January 2014 - 06:08

I think OP wanted it to support DDR2 so as to not feel as bad about wasting time on a dinosaur.



#10 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update 1 / Chrome OS 37
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 13 January 2014 - 09:37

I think OP wanted it to support DDR2 so as to not feel as bad about wasting time on a dinosaur.

 

More likely DDR2 was cheaper.  The more obsolete RAM gets, the more expensive it becomes.



#11 OP 2ral

2ral

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-November 04

Posted 13 January 2014 - 19:36

guys

so should I buy this RAM, in my case?

 

hesitating between High or Low desnity...

 

DDR400 PC3200 PC2700 DDR333 Memory 184PIN HIGH DENSITY

 

http://www.ebay.com/...=item416dbcdde4

 

or go with low density just in case

 

http://www.ebay.com/...=item3f27b24435



#12 T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 14 January 2014 - 04:04

It doesnt matter - (high or low density)

You are dealing with something so old and outdated, worrying over those kind of details is like having a 1979 Ford Pinto and being worried if you have the right kind of carnauba wax - it doesnt matter



#13 OP 2ral

2ral

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-November 04

Posted 14 January 2014 - 14:42

high density is not compatible with most motherboards...

so i ordered two pieces of the second option, samsung