Jump to content



Photo

Click here to see if your router is listening on port 32764


  • Please log in to reply
90 replies to this topic

Poll: Was your router listening on port 32764?

Was your router listening on port 32764?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 11 January 2014 - 18:33

Click here to see if your router is listening on port

 

Click the link below then click the "Probe THIS port button"

http://GRC.com/portprobe=32764

 

http://www.neowin.ne...documented-port

 

A few days ago, a known hacker named Eloi Vanderbeken posted up a note on GitHub. He wrote about his discovery that his Linksys WAG200G wireless DSL gateway was listening on the undocumented TCP port 32764. He later found that the port was open on a number of other routers from Linksys, Netgear, Cisco and others. While some of these products have the port open just on their local network, several of them are exposed when connected to the Internet.

 

So why do so many of these routers have this previously unknown port? It's not currently known, but the GHacks.net website offers up several ways to find out if a home or work router has this undocumented port active.

If the port is found, the site has a number of recommendations to close this vulnerability. They include adding a rule to the router's firewall to block the 32764 port or downloading an open source firmware for the hardware

. Of course, the easiest thing to do is simply replace the router with one that is not listening in on the port.

 

 




#2 McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 11 January 2014 - 18:37

Status: closed

 

I take it thats a "no"?



#3 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.1.2)

Posted 11 January 2014 - 18:39

Mine says status: stealth.  



#4 Kriz

Kriz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-September 02
  • Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 11 January 2014 - 18:59

Stealth :shiftyninja:



#5 He's Dead Jim

He's Dead Jim

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 10

Posted 11 January 2014 - 20:29

. Stealth



#6 trek

trek

    7 / X

  • Joined: 11-August 02
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posted 11 January 2014 - 20:38

Stealth. Cisco ASA 5510.

#7 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 11 January 2014 - 20:40

This doesn't reliability tell you if you have a backdoor in general though. The design could be such that some routers report stealth unless a magic packet is sent to the specific port... that'd be certainly the way I'd implement it myself if I were hiding a backdoor.



#8 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 11 January 2014 - 20:42

Stealth for me.



#9 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 11 January 2014 - 20:42

Stealth? Forgive my ignorance, but is that a good thing?

The status of the router at my mum's place is closed. I'll check on my router tomorrow when I get back.

#10 Unksi

Unksi

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: Finland

Posted 11 January 2014 - 20:43

Stealth? Forgive my ignorance, but is that a good thing?

The status of the router at my mum's place is closed. I'll check on my router tomorrow when I get back.

 

In this case, I'd say stealth (drops the packet without any response) is the best, closed is good as well (it gives back an response, though the port is still closed).



#11 KingCracker

KingCracker

    I am your huckleberry.

  • Joined: 23-February 12
  • Location: Knoxville,TN

Posted 11 January 2014 - 20:44

Stealth for me too. 



#12 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 11 January 2014 - 20:44

Stealth? Forgive my ignorance, but is that a good thing?

The status of the router at my mum's place is closed. I'll check on my router tomorrow when I get back.

 

Stealth

 

A "Stealth" port is one that completely ignores and simply "drops" any incoming packets without telling the sender whether the port is "Open" or "Closed" for business. When all of your system's ports are stealth (and assuming that your personal firewall security system doesn't make the mistake of "counter-probing" the prober), your system will be completely opaque and invisible to the random scans which continually sweep through the Internet.

 

Even if this machine had previously been scanned and logged by a would-be intruder, a methodical return to this IP address will lead any attacker to believe that your machine is turned off, disconnected, or no longer exists. You couldn't ask for anything better. Your personal firewall or NAT router protected system is acting like a black hole for TCP/IP packets. That's very cool.

 

If your system did NOT show up as Stealth, but you would like it to, you will need to use one of the many free or inexpensive personal firewalls that are now widely available. Of the many firewalls on that list, we recommend (in alphabetical order) firewalls from Agnitum, Kerio, Norton, Sygate, Tiny, and ZoneLabs. I describe the operation of personal firewalls on this page.

 

Closed

 

"Closed" is the best you can hope for without a stealth firewall or NAT router in place. At least the port is not "Open" for business and accepting connections from the probes which are continually sweeping the Internet searching for exploitable systems.

 

Anyone scanning past your IP address will detect your PC, but "closed" ports will quickly refuse connection attempts. Since it's much faster for a scanner to re-scan a machine that's known to exist, the presence of your machine might be logged for further scrutiny at a later time — for example, when a new operating system vulnerability is discovered and before the potential for exploitation has been repaired.

 

For this reason it is important for you to stay current with updates from your operating system vendor since new potential vulnerabilities are discovered frequently.

AS NOTED ABOVE: If your system did NOT show up as Stealth, but you would like it to, you will need to use one of the many free or inexpensive personal firewalls that are now widely available. Of the many firewalls on that list, we recommend (in alphabetical order) firewalls from Agnitum, Kerio, Norton, Sygate, Tiny, and ZoneLabs. I describe the operation of personal firewalls on this page.

 



#13 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 11 January 2014 - 20:46

<Explanation>

 

<Detailed explanation>

Ahh right. Networking isn't my forte so I was confused for a moment. Cheers guys. (Y)

#14 Buttus

Buttus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-September 05

Posted 11 January 2014 - 20:58

now, i'm not up on all of this, but would this report about the setting of the firewall on my computer?  or the router itself?



#15 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 11 January 2014 - 21:00

now, i'm not up on all of this, but would this report about the setting of the firewall on my computer?  or the router itself?

 

If you are behind a router, then router

If you are connected directly to the internet with an internet IP instead of a none routable on then it's testing your computers firewall.