Jump to content



Photo

SimCity offline mode is FINALLY coming


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 +Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 13 January 2014 - 14:00

Yes, Offline is coming as a free download with Update 10 to all SimCity players. When we launch it, all of your previously downloaded content will be available to you anytime, anywhere, without the need for an internet connection. We are in the late phases of wrapping up its development and while we want to get it into your hands as soon as possible, our priority is to make sure that it’s as polished as possible before we release it. So, until then… testing, testing and more testing. As one of the final steps, we’re putting Offline into the hands of some of our most hardcore players, the DevTesters. This group of volunteers is going to put Offline through its paces before we release it.

 

 

Bringing the game Offline means big things for our wonderful community of Modders. They can now make modifications to the game and its components without compromising the integrity of the Online game. Modding is a big part of our studio’s legacy and we’re excited to see what you guys create. Check out this thread to learn about Oppie85’s Central Train Station, which you can put into your game right now, and if you’re interested in making your own content take a look at the Modding Policy. To get you started, we will be rolling out a series of tutorials from the studio that surfaces how we’ve created some of the content that you’ve seen so far in hopes of inspiring your creativity.

 

 

Source: http://www.simcity.c...fline-is-coming

 

Bu bu but... it's not possible! Another crappy DRM move bites the dust.

 

Arthus Gies cries...

 

wZjm4Bm.jpg

 

 Rock Paper Shotgun article titled Maxis Insider Tells RPS: SimCity Servers Not Necessary:

JIleTDT.jpg




#2 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 7/8.1, BSD Unix, Arch Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 13 January 2014 - 14:06

Nice, maybe I'll finally buy the thing then.

#3 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 13 January 2014 - 14:14

Nice, maybe I'll finally buy the thing then.

Ditto :)

#4 Legendary

Legendary

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-July 04
  • Location: Manchester
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokai Lumia 930

Posted 13 January 2014 - 14:37

Still waiting for city-sized cities, and for the price to come down



#5 Shadrack

Shadrack

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-December 01

Posted 13 January 2014 - 14:39

Lol. Nice tweets.

#6 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 13 January 2014 - 14:44

About damned time. Might finally reconsider playing this game, I purchased it on release day, however I've not clocked more than 48 hours... I do like the online features, however if it means sacrificing my city size for a few added features, then nope! I'd take the larger maps any day.



#7 sbauer

sbauer

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 05-September 03
  • Location: Baltimore, MD
  • OS: Windows 7 / OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 13 January 2014 - 14:47

Nice, maybe I'll finally buy the thing then.

Sadly, I already have it. Maybe I'll actually start it up again.



#8 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 13 January 2014 - 14:47

Still waiting for city-sized cities, and for the price to come down

I'm the same. While I am glad they are finally going to be offering offline mode, I still won't buy it because of the size of the "cities." But who knows, as Maxis said by allowing offline mode it will open the game up to modders, who perhaps will be able to increase the size themselves. Or maybe Maxis will eventually realise this themselves and fix it.

#9 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 13 January 2014 - 14:50

"If you are not a computer engineer and insist something can't be done in the world of computer science then you literally don't know what you are talking about." - LaP (a real computer engineer programming and managing project as a living)

#10 mattmatik

mattmatik

    formerly soLoredd

  • Joined: 25-November 03
  • Location: California

Posted 13 January 2014 - 14:55

We'll see. I bought the damn game at release and slogged through the connection issues and finally gave up on the game. If they do, in fact, get it to work offline I'll give it a shot again but I do not like the multiple city management stuff. I want one big ass city that can do anything/everything I want it to.



#11 The Dingus Diddler

The Dingus Diddler

    Sir Derpy McHerperton III

  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1020

Posted 13 January 2014 - 15:03

I just got a free code for SimCity today, shame they didn't announce this earlier or I'd have actually bought the game :p!



#12 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 13 January 2014 - 15:15

Still waiting for city-sized cities, and for the price to come down

 

 

Well it's like $33 on Amazon.



#13 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 13 January 2014 - 15:30

As for the tweets, at least he made his twitter profile tell it like it is  :rofl: :

 

Arthur Gies Verified account
@aegies
Reviews Editor/Inept White Dudehttp://polygon.com  — OPERTAING ON A FEMENSIT AGEDNA — Southpaw/Inverted/Claw.
Bay Area, CA · pragmagic.tumblr.com

--

https://twitter.com/aegies

 



#14 AJerman

AJerman

    Boomer Sooner!

  • Joined: 24-July 02
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 13 January 2014 - 16:07

Sweet, good news. I'll probably have to pick this up now. I've been looking forward to it until they spoiled the fun with the DRM crap.



#15 vetFourjays

Fourjays

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 09-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK

Posted 13 January 2014 - 16:32

Thought it couldn't be done? :laugh:

Unfortunately, the tiny city sizes completely destroy this game by making it very hard to create anything that feels worth the effort. I get they were trying to promote region play with the small sizes, but it doesn't work. Every city ends up needing its own power, water, etc because the transfers don't work properly and/or have hidden limits. Then by the time you've fitted the utility and specialty buildings in a city there is limited space for anything else (and the need for the arcology suddenly makes perfect sense). The game almost rubs your face in the stupid small sizes with notices about following the road guidelines to maximize space.

Anyone interested in this as a city builder - spend your money on Sim City 4, Tropico or CitiesXL instead.